Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Cheap hotel, but makes sense..

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Construction is underway on this hotel to make it new and updated, something much needed. This is my 3rd stay at the hotel and each time it has been progressively worse. The construction was loud and blocked the main entrance. In terms of room quality, the carpets were sticky and room felt humid regardless of the AC on or off, and running full speed. Lastly, when I turned down the sheets to go to bed, there was a large *washed* blood stain/splatter on the white sheets. This just put the nail in the coffin because the past times I was able to suck it up for the location and price, not anymore... I'll be excited to see the renovation and I'll definitely only check it out once it's done! It's been real Brookwood, but I've met my limit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I'm very sorry for the lapses in cleanliness that occurred during your visit; this is not acceptable nor up to our standards. We too are excited for the completion of our renovations of all accommodations and public spaces. We hope that you will return to experience our completed updates as we move to a more upscale brand this fall. We appreciate your patronage and I'm sorry we let you down this visit. Sincerely, Kevin Barbour General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel room bathroom dirty. Everything outdated.

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: The shuttle service was good.
Cons: Room was dirty. They knocked on my door 4 times the AM of Check out.Housekeeping supervisor day of check out was VERY VERY RUDE.
Location: Duke . Nothing really in walking distance.
Food in limited hrs café (I would not call it a restaurant) terrible cold and coffe burnt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, The cleanliness of our guest accommodations is a key priority, so I sincerely regret that you found our accommodations dated and dirty. I would love to speak with you personally about your interaction with any Housekeeping staff members, as I appreciate the opportunity to address these key areas in ongoing training with our staff. Additionally, I’m disappointed that you did not have an good experienced in our restaurant which has become a mainstay favorite for so many of regulars. We thank you for your time in sharing feedback and we will take all your comments under consideration as we update and improve our guest offerings. I hope that you will consider a return visit to experienced improved service as we re-brand to a Cambria hotel. In the next few months we will have entirely new rooms as well as a brand new dining experience and lounge. Sincerely, Kevin Barbour General Manager
5 out of 5
by frank

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for Duke University

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
Great location if you are doing work at Duke University or the Hospital.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gaffney,SC

hotel experience

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: People and service of hotel
Room was very warm and A/C did not work. Bed had plastic liner under sheets and made for very uncomfortable sleeping. No sound proofing between rooms, room next to us had 3 babies that cried most of the night. Asked to move rooms but staff was too busy to help. We came to that area and hotel because if was close to Duke University and we had an early appointment the next morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, I'm sorry that our service and accommodations left you disappointed. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry for the issues with your room during your stay. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Sincerely, Kevin Barbour General Manager
4 out of 5
by Timothy from Fairfax, VA

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Just a nice one night stay to see a Durham Bulls baseball game and visit Duke campus.
4 out of 5
by Ryuhei

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cornelius north carolina

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Orbitz
The staff was very friendly and pleasant , kind, courteous and helpful. They even called our room to make sure everything to make sure the room was to our liking and even went so far as to see if we needed anything . Our room was extremely neat and clean . As some of the other reviews pointed out , it was a little darted. Example - tge microwave was an older model, but that didn't bother me. It worked fine. The bathroom was extremely neat and clean . Thank you. We had breakfast in the hotel which was very good. My daughter even commented on how good the finch toast was. As we were checking out I overheard the lady in front of us talking to the desk attendant . She was so nice and helpful, going above and beyond to suit the woman's needs. Thank you for a pleasant stay .
3 out of 5
by Brian

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Brian, Thank you for staying with us and for your time in reviewing our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again. Sincerely, Kevin Barbour General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Service was not great. Air conditioning barely worked and the room was damp. In addition, my card had two holds placed on it totaling over $90 even though I had paid for the stay in full. When I asked the front desk, they were rude and just said it was a mistake and the holds would drop off in 10 days. Will not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Upon check-in a credit card is required for incidentals; an authorization occurs to be sure funds are available but the card is not charged. I’m sorry that this was not effectively communicated and for any frustration caused. Additionally, I regret any issues you experienced with dampness in the room. Again, on behalf of the staff and management - I offer our apologies. Sincerely, Kevin Barbour General Manager