Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsford, NY, United States of America

Convenient hotel to Duke Campus

Posted Nov 22, 2016
The hotel is under renovation. The lobby was all broken up. The check in was on the 8th floor and the check in staff seemed unhappy. I had a 7th floor room with a large TV. The room had no carpet but with a wooden floor. Some of the rooms face the hospital and I was awakened a couple of nights with helicopters flying into.the hospital. Clearly this room was under construction as there was no toilet paper holder in the bathroom. The hotel is supposed to reopen on December 1st. Why was I not informed before I booked? In the meantime, buyer beware.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Ram, Thank you for your attention to reviewing our hotel. I'm very sorry for your messy arrival experience and I regret the issue with the toilet paper holder in your guest suite. We are nearing the end of our renovations and hope that you will consider a return visit. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Kevin Barbour General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

beautiful new renovation, fantastic location

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Hotel was under construction when we arrived - which made the affordable price make a lot more senses. We loved the new room design, felt modern and very comfortable. When the full renovation is complete, it will be a beautiful hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel currently under construction

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Close to Duke's campus, but nothing else really in walking distance. Some chain restaurants about a 20-minute walk away.
Nice room, helpful staff, shuttle (not on Sundays, though) and so on. I would point out: - The hotel is under construction right now (mid-November). There's no lobby (or restaurant or anything) as a result. - Great location for visiting campus, but not close to anything else. - Since it's near Duke's hospital, sirens were pretty frequent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Meaghan, We are delighted that you took the time to write. Our team works hard to provide a pleasant stay, so we appreciate knowing you felt comfortable while traveling. We thank you for your patronage. Sincerely, Kevin Barbour General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Duke University

Posted Nov 13, 2016
The stay was very nice even during the remodeling can't wait to stay again when the remodeling is done
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

No room!

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Told that the room booked in Expefia was in the building undergoing renovation and no room was available. I had to find another hotel on my own. This occurred even though I had confirmed the reservation directly with the hotel the week before
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Timothy, We sincerely regret your experience; it is never our intent to relocate a guest. I’m sorry we disappointed you. We strive to provide comfort and sincere hospitality to all our guests and we clearly missed our goal. We hope to have the opportunity to host you in the near future. Sincerely, Kevin Barbour General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Unexpedted Renovations

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: We chose this hotel due to its proximity to Duke hospital.
The hotel was under renovation but we were unaware of this. Parking was a nightmare, especially for handicapped parking. It was blocked by construction. The room had a modern decor but was not comfortable. The platform bed proved to be a leg buster. We kept bumping into it. The television was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Donna, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I was disappointed to hear of the frustration you experienced stemming from our construction; please forgive us during this time of renovation. Your patience is appreciated as we update and improve our hotel. As our valued guest, I hope that you will return and see our highly anticipated results. Sincerely, Kevin Barbour General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Renovation looking really good

Posted Oct 30, 2016
I looked for a good hotel and found one. Not expensive, great rooms and very nice staff. I do a lot of work travel and need a good rest at my stops, this was a great stay and I will return here on my next stay. The hotel is almost finished with renovations, when complete, it will be even nicer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Bad experience overall

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: It was close to the Hospital. Very poor hospital otherwise
Cons: You can hear people and television from neighbouring rooms. The walls are as if made of cardboard. The staff isn't welcoming. It's undergoing renovations and there was no warning from Expedia on this.
Location: As above
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear suneel, I regret that you did not have a pleasant stay, please forgive us. I'm sorry that our team did not make your feel welcomed and that noise pollution from neighboring rooms interrupted your comfort. We strive to provide comfort and sincere hospitality, so I'm sorry we fell short. Thank you for your candid feedback which we will use to foster improvements. Sincerely, Kevin Barbour General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Under Renovation!!

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: The check in and check out were easy and the clerk who was working under adverse conditions was excellent. The room itself was clean and spacious.
The hotel is undergoing a major renovation. The restaurant is no longer there. The check in desk is on the 8th floor squeezed into the elevator landing. I don't know about construction noise because we were there on a weekend. However, our room has definitely been redone and was terrific. Very modern, very comfortable, all I could have wanted and more.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

RUN AWAY! It's 100% under construction!

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Directly across the street from a major hospital ER. Unless that's where you need to be, stay somewhere else.
Dark & dangerous, only one floor open in two buildings, check-in is a 4' counter on the 8th fl, no restaurant or included breakfast as advertised; you're CHARGED for a cardboard bowl of microwave oatmeal. Called the front desk, "how do I turn off the spotlights above the open closet, the coffee machine (no tea) 7 all along the headboard of each bed?" Answer: "There should be a switch". Question: "Can someone come show me...?" Answer: (laughter) Honey, I'm the only one here!" Only one elevator works; rest are for construction crew. Beware piles of construction materials & heavy plastic sheeting on ground floor, in halls,in parking lots of both buildings! Awakened early Sunday morning by construction guys shouting & pounding on roof, which sounded like they were on the other side of the wall. Oh, & they're DIRECTLY across the street from the ER of a major Hospital--yup, ambulances, too! The local staff (ha ha--one person) had FOUR opportunities to tell me they were under construction, but never did--yet, on the customer reviews page, the General Manager replies to complaints over & over, "I'm just amazed that NOBODY told ANY of these horrified & disgusted customers that they were under construction!" A sign by the elevator says the hotel will be fully renovated November 2016. If they are open by November 2017, I'll be amazed. Stay closed until you're fully renovated & you won't infuriate customers. Tho' you'll still be across the street from the ER of a major hospital.