Ratings based on 1,281 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

I picked this hotel because is close to Chapel Hil

Posted Aug 24, 2016
This hotel is unhealthy environment. The pictures never compare with the place. Bad odor, mold, dirty, broken toilet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hanover, NH

Generally satisfied.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Overall we were satisfied with the CH University Inn. Good value. Check-in was efficient. Coffee, cookies, lemonade and gorp at reception were appreciated. Good location. Our room on the side of the building facing away from Fordham Blvd was quiet. Breakfast room was strangely located on the second level, which had no elevator access. Emphasis on Carolina sports was a bit overdone. Would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Would be Great if you roomed in the Lobby

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Check out
Cons: Leave the Lobby and Check in area, the bar and restaurant and Knock down all of the rooms
Location: near shopping, a few miles from the University of NC at Chapel hill
First arrived after a 12 hour drive at 8:30AM and the parking lot had two cars in it (probably the hotel employees). Asked if I can get a room before check in and was told to come back at noon (the hotel was empty and no rooms for someone staying for multiple days a few hours before check-in). The Lobby is where all of the money on this hotel was spent because it certainly was not spent on the rooms. The bathroom faucet dripped constantly, the beds are old and worn out, the towels that were once white are now yellow and the TV had a limited number of channels connected to an old coax cable. There are patches of concrete missing from the ceiling of the lower floor balcony that were just left void and painted over. They were either renovating or installing a pool (which was not yet open) and there was dirt and mud all over the lot. They offer lemonade and a coffee machine in the lobby, breakfast is served in 2 rooms that were converted to seating areas on the second floor and the menu is limited to cereal, yogurt, waffles and some small cakes of some kind and coffee, tea and juices.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

smokey and warm

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
The room was supposed to be non-smoking but it reeked of cigarette smell that we found disgusting. The a/c was weak and even at the lowest setting, it failed to keep the room cool enough. It was stuffy throughout the weekend. and lastly, the water pressure in the shower was very weak. On the positive side: the tv was nice, the beds were comfortable and the front desk staff was friendly and competent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Pisgah view of pool and no wireless

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The bed was fine.
Cons: A hotel in this area should not close the pool in August!
Location: The road was all torn up for construction nearby. The whole place was a mess to get in and out of. There are strip malls across the street both ways.
The pool wasn't open...in August! It looked cool and refreshing, but the hotel had chosen this week to tear up the dirt all around it. I told them the wireless internet (no password required) wasn't working and asked them if they could fix it. The person at the desk said she'd tell their technical person. I stayed for six nights (five of which I would not have stayed except that I had a non-refundable Expedia deal with my flight) and the wireless never worked. The air conditioning didn't get the room very cool, and it was supplemented by a dehumidifier in the room that beeped to say the water container was full around 5 am, no matter how I tried to empty it before bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016
The room was hot and uncomfortable and the facility was under construction.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location,but dated facilities.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
The room felt very dated in appointments. There was a faint smell of smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. The pool was unusable due to construction. The air conditioning didn't seem to control the humidity. Desk staff very friendly and accommodating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Location: a lot of construction but very close to restaurants and stores
The hotel is under construction, the roof of my room was leaking and the room was not as clean as it should be.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location in Chapel Hill!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Nice stay at a good price! Staff was great and room was clean and comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Don't waste your time or money.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
You would expect that a two room suite at a hotel with decent ratings would be a nice, clean, comfortable place to stay. In this case, you would be wrong. Hotel room had broken A/C in the bedroom. When I asked about it expecting to get a new room, I was told they would send a maintenance guy to jiggle the switch because it sticks. Maintenance guy decided it was broken, and the solution was a fan to blow cold air from the other room. The bed itself was worse than an air mattress, and we woke up totally unrested from tossing and turning in a failed attempt to get comfortable. There was zero water pressure in the oddly small bathroom, where you can easily touch the low ceilings, and I'm only 5' 9". At least our expensive room came with a coupon for breakfast in the "club lounge" which was your choice of two cereals with slightly sour room temperature milk, various breads, and some juice.