Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, CO

Friendliest staff

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: It was comfortable and well maintained even though they were obviously remodeling and signs apologized for the ongoing work and any inconvenience.
Cons: We have no suggestions for improvement and observed they were already in the process of remodeling.
Location: We were there for a family wedding but noted they were close to a pedestrian/bike path my wife used for morning runs.
We were always greeted with a smile by the gracious staff and noticed many guests were treated as family and felt the same.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington NC

Nice hotel close to UNC

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Was looking for a hotel with a hot tub. This was the right place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good hotel. Met my neefs

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Slightly convoluted access to hotel but the hotel itself was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

UNC convenient

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Love staying at Couryard for UNC events, shuttle next door for athletic events is so easy, recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Lisa Ganzzermiller, GM, Hotel Management
Dear Lucia, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to seeing you again soon! Safe Travels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location. Close to UNC health services.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
As with all Marriotts we stay at.. none have let us down. Great locations, food availability. After a long day it's really nice to arrive and be able to relax.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Lisa Ganzzermiller, GM, Hotel Management
Dear Pete, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again soon! Safe Travels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Amanda wat fronto desk till 7am was/is amazing

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Amanda has had ALS for 11 years and I met her getting up too early on Tuesday Election Day. All very good
Cons: Noise of ice machine on 2nd floor and the elevator there should be marked better
Location: Good
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Lisa Ganzzermiller, GM, Hotel Management
Dear John Omstead, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I will be sure to share your accolades with Amanda and the entire team. Safe travels and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill

AC was ridiculously loud

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Stayed here with my mother last Saturday night. My mother couldn't sleep because the AC was ridiculously loud and would come on about every 30 minutes with a huge rush of noise. If you get placed in room 224 be aware you won't be sleeping. Unfortunately it very much interfered with our plans for the weekend. My mother ended up leaving the area around 10am because she needed to drive home before the sleep deprivation hit her. Other than that, kind staff, good drinks at the bar, and breakfast for two cost about 25 bucks. For those that want to visit the Chapel Hill area, I recommend the Franklin Hotel or (for more deluxe accommodations) the Carolina Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Great place to stay close to UNC Chapel Hill

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Clean and quiet. Close to everything if you are visiting UNC Chapel Hill. Quick access to highway to get to Durham/Raleigh. 20 minutes from airport if no traffic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Good location

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Good location for UNC basketball game. Great service!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Located close to my destination

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Proximity to destination
Cons: Customer service!!!!!!!!!
Location: Adjacent to University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill south campus and near a commercial area.
Booked 2 king non-smoking rooms for overnight visit with family. Rooms guaranteed for late arrival. Called hotel to re-confirm late arrival guarantee when we arrived in town due to delays because of weather and traffic delays because of accidents on the interstate. When we arrived at hotel ab 9 pm we were given rooms with 2 queen beds. The desk clerk said our reservation was for the 2 queen rooms. When I showed her the reservation confirmation she kept saying "But you booked through Expedia." When I asked her what that had to do with the reservation, she said she didn't have any other king rooms. It was a one night stay and the weather was bad, so we really didn't have any choice. The accommodations were clean and the ambience was comfortable and the rate was a good value, but I am so tired of making a reservation for one type of room and then being given a different accommodation, kind of a "bait and switch" tactic. This has happened to me before at other Marriotts when travelling on business. If the rooms had not been guaranteed for late arrival and if we had not been given assurances that the rooms would be available, we would have checked in earlier instead of having dinner with family first. Very, very annoying.