Ratings based on 464 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MONTGOMERY,ALA

5 STARS

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: POOL CLEAN LOCATION
Location: GREAT LOCATION
Lovely hotel with brand new rooms and clean. Hotel staff is excellent and the beds were really nice pillow tops. Very close to duke university. Huge clean salt water pool. I recommend this strongly as the rates are very reasonable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Good value.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The price was excellent, especially since it included a nice buffet breakfast.
Cons: The buildings are old - but it appears they are being reconstructed. The paint work in our bathroom was poorly done with splashes of paint all over.
Location: We stayed there to visit Duke. It is not the best choice hotel for that activity.
The motel was a little difficult for us to find, located behind a Motel 6 and a gas station. It is an older property, but there was renovation and reconstruction work going on while we were there. The lobby, pool, and dining area are all very nice. Our room was clean, comfortable but had a strange smell (maybe from cleaning chemicals to hide the smell of cigarette smoke?) The desk staff were very nice and seem to be working hard to make visitors' stay as comfortable as possible.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and falling apart

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Renovations going on, but place is in shambles . Two shirtless contractors working on the roof edge isn't going to save this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Clean, Staff was very accommodating. Continental breakfast was very varied with a lot of choices.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointed

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: The staff were wonderful.
The first room we got was under construction. The second room had a sink and tub that wouldn't drain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Needs Renovation

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The self-serve breakfast bar had a good selection. One working ice machine was on the second floor but far across the property nearer the office.
Cons: Rm 130 bathroom needs renovation: BR door wouldn't shut; the shower curtain was moldy; the shower diverter was barely adjustable & loose in the wall.
Location: Near shopping, auto parts store, service station and restaurants; near I-85
One night stay in a ground floor room facing the pool. A recent rainfall left the sidewalks muddy with dirt from the flower beds and slippery. There was an exposed rebar tip near the sidewalk. This is a bleak property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Old and Tired

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Med Center and DT Durham
Cons: Property needs to be refurbished.
This property is old and tired! I really don't have anything against old and tired as I feel that way some days. The issue with this room was the damp feeling and the musky odor which was a result of a sleeper sofa placed right beside the ac. The sofa was secured to the floor and could not be moved. The air flow was blocked and the sofa was damp. Neither I nor my wife would put anything on it much less sit or sleep on it. Other than the poor condition. Of the room we found it to be ok. The property is close to Duke Medical and the VA. We would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Not a bad hotel for the price

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
The room was large and comfortable. It wasn't glamorous, but I didn't need glamour. I needed the close proximity to Duke and free Wifi, and this hotel had both. The front desk attendant was cordial and helpful. My only complaint is that the bathroom had not been cleaned thoroughly. It still had hair from a previous guest stuck on the shower walls and a hair band on the floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by gregory from myrtle beach

great place to stay....

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
for the money GREAT! nice staff and clean room. great pool. next time I will bring my own TV. nothing against box tv but it is 2015. breakfast fantastic. I do about 1000 miles a week and I will always stay at this location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lyndsay from NEW YORK

VERY CLOSE TO DUKE

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel obviously has thought about all the details patients, and families of patients going to Duke University Medical Center might need. It is located right near to the university. We were simply visiting friends in the area and enjoying a driving trip though the south in springtime but we appreciated the thoughtful details as well. I It was comforting to stay in such a spotlessly clean place. The breakfast was really good and well stocked. The best part for me were the washer and dryer on my floor and the front desk that had coins, soap and softener so I could leisurely do my own laundry. What a treat for those of us who like long road trips. I did not have to leave the hotel to do laundry. Staff in the hotel and dining room were invariably helpful and friendly. Even though this is a "chain" hotel it was easy to see why this comes up as great place to stay in the area.