Ratings based on 303 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud heater at night

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Heater was extremely loud at night and no acces to the patio outside as the door would not open. Big gap on the door as cold air sept in all night
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry for the issues you experienced in your room and the inconvenience it caused. I have shared your concerns with my maintenance team and ensure you that this does not repeat again in the future. We hope this will not deter you from staying with us whenever you are in this area. Bill Winn, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Not much to say positive about this hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Improve attention to guests by staff and room cleanliness.
I did not have as good of an experience at this hotel as I have has at other Hilton properties. I'm a Hilton Honors member and I was given a ground level room. I asked to switch rooms to another floor and they refused since I booked through a third party. Staff was unfriendly and never made eye contact. Always looking down. They never explained the facilities or breakfast. I had to ask them. I had a problem with my room key, when I asked for a new one at the desk, the woman seemed bothered that I asked for another key as she starred at her computer screen. I had the noisiest room that I can remember. The room's ground level window faced the parking lot. All night I heard car locks beeping. Drunks talking. People on their cell phones. People talking while smoking. The bath tub drain was clogged and filled up with water as you showered. The bathroom floor and underside of toilet set wasn't totally clean. The hotel's laundry room was across the hall from my room. My only positive experience was one of the maids was kind enough to let me borrow scissors. I will not stay at this hotel again, when I return to Raleigh.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We want to thank you for staying at our hotel and for the constructive comments provided. On behalf of our entire staff, I apologize that my team was not attentive to your needs and for the inconvenience this caused you. Your concerns have been shared with them, and we will work to ensure this was an isolated event. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to deliver the hospitality we normally provide so that we can make it up to you. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Hi, most staff was friendly however Patricia in restaurant seemed like she didn't like being there and was clearly disturbed to help us, don't know why but was definitely not happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh-Brownstone-University. We are glad you were happy with our service overall but I am sorry that one of our associates impacted your experience in a negative way. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction, and we will take action so we more consistently meet that goal. We hope you will give us another chance in the future to provide a much better experience. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel but Could be better

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Rooms were super clean and comfy, albeit small. No fridge - had to rent one for 10$ a day. Coffee in the lobby was 2$ a cup. These aren't a huge deal but it felt nickel and dimed. Parking is terrible - need way more lighting in the lot for safety reasons if not just plain convenience. Staff was kinda apathetic - I thanked the housekeeper for bringing the coffee restocking supplies that didn't get done that day and she just walked away without replying. Front desk was polite but that was it. So mixed review - definitely not a bad place, and a great location but could be way better with just a little effort and/or some small changes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed most of your stay and appreciate your comments as they help direct us to areas needing improvement. I will share your feedback with my team as we strive to provide our guests with an outstanding hospitality. We hope you will give us another opportunity to deliver an excellent experience you should always expect from us. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Friendly staff

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on CheapTickets
The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make my stay comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review of the DoubleTree by Raleigh-Brownstone-University. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Our team will be pleased to know they had a role in making your stay with us a memorable one. Thanks for allowing us to be of service.  We hope you will visit with us again the next time your travels bring you to Raleigh. General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better than some

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Ok hotel, parking sketchy. Not enough outside lighting. Internet to slow to access google. Other than that. Nice place and clean
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Professional and friendly staff. An enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016
One great feature: complimentary access to the YMCA just next door.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Was not impressed. Arrived from out of town at 2:30 and our room was not ready until almost 4. Just a disappointment - especially when they were then out of cookies!