Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salisbury, NC

very dirty

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Cons: A good cleaning!
I had reservation for this hotel for UNC graduation weekend. THIS WAS THE DIRTIEST HOTEL I've ever stayed in. There were cobwebs on the ceiling.When getting ready for bed, I pulled the sheets back & they were dirty!!! I went to office to let them know & I was informed that housekeeping was closed. They did later bring me sheets so I could change them myself. As I was changing the sheets, I saw that the pillows & the mattress cover were both stained. I will never use this hotel again. I sent an email, asking for a partial refund,But of course,I never recieved a response.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Outside environment. Close to stores, and, most important, a Starbucks within walking distance.
Cons: Update
Location: Two colleges, UNC and Duke. Historic sites and great restaurants.
Room was dirty and reeked of cigarette smoke. Originally I requested a non smoker room. The phone did not work! After I voiced my dissatisfaction, the staff was pleasant and did the best they could to make my stay more comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Keith from Durham, nc

Bear's Den

Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Hotels
It was inexpensive and not packed full. Great for catching up on some sleep!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs with our reasonable rates and quiet atmosphere! The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, VA

Comfortable and Affordable

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Shopping areas were within walking distance. I felt safe going out and returning at night.
Cons: More television channels would be nice.
Location: I stayed at Ivy Creek in Durham where I was surrounded by shopping centers, churches, Laundromats and good driving pastoral scenery.
Hotel was quiet, staff friendly, accessible and alert.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I’m so pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our friendly customer service. It’s great to hear that you found our hotel to be a good value! Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First room had dog hair and human hair in the bed.

Posted Jan 24, 2016
First room had dog hair and human hair under the covers in the bed . It was a lot of hair. Some animal defecated multiple times at the door side. I was immediately moved to another room. Towels and bath clothes were stained . Room was ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: Staff responsive and prompt to fill requests.
Cons: did not feel comfortable sometimes with various other hotel guests, hanging outside.
Location: near stores, movies, etc.
Hotel was okay. Good location. Room carpet was very dirty.
4 out of 5
by David Jose from Caracas

Comentario hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Instalaciones bastante antiguas pero en buenas condiciones en general bastante funcional para cocinar y ahorrar dinero estancia tranquila
2 out of 5
by Jamiel from Farmville, VA

For the birds

Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
Free continental breakfast consist of pack of grits or oatmeal, cup of coffee, piece of fruit, or muffin. That is not a continental breakfast. Told us at check in that they take all dishes out room to sanitize asked for dishes received 2 Styrofoam coffee cups.
5 out of 5
by David

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
good value for money 1st room offered had dirty refrig/microwave 2nd room was fine TV reception was poor/variety of channels was dismal
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
It was peaceful