Ratings based on 522 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not up to par

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The quietness, comfort, friendly staff, and good coffee.
Cons: Make sure the facilities are in good working order.
On the positive side, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was quiet and mostly comfortable, the coffee was delicious, and the breakfast was good. On the negative side, the toilet didn't work well and the shower was cold--really cold! When I first checked in, I asked them to check the toilet because even before I used it, it looked like something was wrong. When I did a test flush, it almost ran over. They were quick about getting someone there with a plunger. Turns out they had had the water off for several hours for maintenance reasons and when they turned on the water faucet, the water was brown. It took awhile for that to clear, but they did give me a free bottle of water so I didn't have to drink the tap water. The toilet worked better but was never as good as it should have been.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Glad we stayed there.

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
The staff are excellent! They are courteous, responsive and hard-working. That is the strongest point. The breakfast could be improved. There are limited high-fiber options (e.g., cold cereal). There was no fresh-cut fruit. The fitness room was good; I enjoyed using it every day. The room was comfortable and spacious. But, the bathroom lacked counter space for my wife to set our her makeup. The only significant criticism involving the lack of enforcement of a no-shoes/no-service policy in the breakfast area. There were people walking around barefoot! There were no signs to warn people not to do that. I know it seems obvious, but that needs to be done these days with some people.
4 out of 5
by Gary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Emmett

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by MELISSA

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
The place was basically decent. They seemed to be having a plumbing problem. We had to move rooms at midnight bc of the toilet and the next room the shower did not drain at all.
5 out of 5
by Shawn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Jason

Bad pillows

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Pillows were very bad. Head sinks through them. Very uncomfortable and difficult to sleep.
5 out of 5
by Larry from Raleigh

Second stay

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Second time at this hotel, my stay this time was ok. Needs a major upgrade!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect Location but Needs Work

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: A popular breakfast/lunch restaurant called Courtney's is right around the corner, and North Hills Mall is only a half mile away.
This hotel is perfectly located for quick access to all points of the Research Triangle and has all the quality amenities we have come to expect at Hampton Inns. The problems all fall under maintenance. One of the two elevators (inspected only 3 weeks ago) strains loudly and runs unevenly. I reserved a room with refrigerator and microwave and got neither; desk staff advised me and two unrelated others that all the working appliances were needed for a soccer team. At my room, the upper door lock and one of the lamp switches were broken off, and an electrical outlet was pulled completely out of the wall. The window HVAC unit was blasting cold air and the walls were patched for painting but not yet painted. However the room was otherwise clean, dark and quiet at night, the wake up calls were correct, the fitness equipment was lean and in good condition, the wifi worked with no problem and at high speed, and the breakfast was prepared and served very professionally. Next time I will try the Courtyard by Marriott next door, though I'd rather stay at a Hampton.