Ratings based on 378 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Overall Terrible

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: proximity to Duke University. That's it.
Cons: everything!! from hotel staff service, room condition and overall management
worst air conditioning system, uncontrollable system terrible staff, no valet parking, staff not accommodating, just talking by themselves hotel is old and not renovated linen service was not timely done overall, very disappointing for HIlton name. Will not be using Hilton hotel chain
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from western nc

Great hotel close to duke univ. Shuttle service to

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Super. Great staff good food shuttle service to duke campus. Great for duke fans
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
very comfortable!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
convenient and comfortable friendly and professional staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Not really impressed with Hilton.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Location was fine.
The only reason I booked a two night stay was due to the seminar being held in the hotel. I booked two nights on expedia, but when I went to check out a day early, they only had me down for one night. My room looked outdated, and the bed felt like I was sleeping on sacks of potatoes. Needless to say my back was knotted up, which didn't help when I had to sit on typical meeting room chairs. The ones good for stacking, but not sitting in for 8 hours. When I got the bill for the breakfast buffet, a whopping $16 I decided for sure I was done staying here. The hotel staff were wonderful, very nice and accommodating. My last trip I stayed at a Hyatt Regency, I think I will stay with them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Very close to Duke
Room was very comfortable and clean, hotel staff was great.. No issues at all
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by DougP, Hotel Management
Dear Joy, Thank you for your five-star review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, Doug Pender Doug.Pender@Hilton.com
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wonderful place to stay

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent desk staff. Excellent food & service. Friendly, helpful personnel throughout hotel. Very relaxing environment. Always enjoy staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five-star rating and review! We appreciate the time you have taken to share your positive feedback with the hotel and staff. We look forward to your next stay! Kind Regards, Doug
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delaware Ohio

Duke University Visit

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Customer service was outstanding. Staff went out of their way to meet our accommodation and request. Staff pleasant, professional, and courteous.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Good hotel, a few snags.

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed here with my adult daughter for one night during a 3-day drive from Boston to Georgia. The hotel had recently been renovated, and for the most part was comfortable, however there were a few snags: We were traveling with 2 coolers of food given my daughter's very restricted diet. I had been led to believe there was a mini-frig in the room, but once checked in and unpacked, we learned that the frig was not, in fact, a refrigerator - in the renovations they had replaced them with large coolers that looked just like refrigerators! The other snag was that the air conditioning wasn't working in our room, and after having someone from maintenance come check it out, we were told that it was working, it was just on one of those "motion sensor" thermostats, and the room would cool off soon. We went out for the evening, and returned several hours later to a very warm room. It became clear that the a/c was in fact broken, and at 10:30 we were able to move to another room. The staff was very apologetic and helpful at that point, but no offer was made to comp us anything until we checked out the next morning, after having paid cash for a meager continental breakfast, so they couldn't take that "charge" off the bill. Oh well. Otherwise, the beds were comfortable, and the staff was friendly. The location is good if you have transportation to the downtown area, or want to use the hotel shuttle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay. I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered with the AC unit in your originally assigned room. I am glad to hear the staff did everything they could to resolve the problem, but we like to go above and beyond to ensure our guests are satisfied, and I am sorry that we fell short in this instance. I agree that we should have been proactive in offering breakfast or another amenity to help make it right. We do use our guest feedback as a coaching tool with our staff. We rely on guest feedback to improve our services and accommodations. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We hope that if you are in the area again, you will give us a second chance to provide you with the service and accommodations Hilton is known for. Kind Regards, Doug Pender Doug.Pender@Hilton.com