Ratings based on 1,081 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Potential but not yet good. The hotel is old, worn

Posted Jan 20, 2016
It was close to Duke so that was great. The actual room wasn't horrible but nasty stain on one bedspread, bathroom wasn't as clean as I need. Check in and out was easy. No breakfast with room which seems outdated. This hotel is massive but run down and only attracting guests who want the location and will live with the very below average experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2016
beautiful lobby, bar, restaurant so it was hard to believe the reviews. other then being close to duke university, and the politeness of one of the waiters in the restaurant the room was disappointing, from no plug for the bathtub, so i had to take a shower, which i prefer a bath. told desk at least 3 times for a 2 night stay, nothing done,,no refrigerator, which we were disappointed, a wet musty smell in room, a room door which locked but barely, was so loose could have pushed door in, also large gap between door and frame , letting in light from hall. a clock which was 1 hour ahead of time, so that tells us it may not have been used or cleaned since the last time change!!! 3 months!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Cons: Fix ice machines ! Better regulate water temp in the showers.
Convenient location....shuttle system works well...food is good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clover, SC

Convenient to Duke Cancer center

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Bed was too soft, we like a fairly firm mattress. Faucet handles in sinks were very difficult to turn on- had to pull really hard to turn on. I have same type at home and they are much easier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Bern, NC

Shuttle to Duke game

Posted Dec 21, 2015
The hotel was great. They have a shuttle that while take you to the Duke games for only $6.00 around trip. No need to pay for parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Terrible nights of sleep

Posted Dec 20, 2015
The biggest problem was the awful bed. Terrible nights of sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pleasant, reliable (have stayed here several times and would stay again), rooms showing some age but clean, reportedly to be refurbished in 2016.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Disappointing

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Would never return and would warn others!
Cons: Lack of cellular service and unsafe water temperature fluctuations.
Location: This was a business trip.
1. No cellular service for the 2 days--phone or iPad. I spoke with the desk and this was "normal". I walked the halls and stood outside to try to contact clients. I got no incoming calls. 2. The water temperature at the sink and shower fluctuated from very hot to very cold with no warning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs cleaning and repair/update

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Carpets and chairs are worn and dirty in room. Hallway carpet is same and had a hole in the middle of the hallway floor. Mattress well past time when it needed changed. Musty smell in room, elevator and hallway. Scheduled for 2 nights but only ended up having to stay one because of a change in schedule, I probably would have changed places if the trip wasn't cut short. Basically it needs a lot of attention, I would not recommend staying here until they do an update. It's Unfortunate as the staff is really nice and the location is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, N. C.

Excellent hotel near UNC Chapel Hill

Posted Nov 4, 2015
The hotel was easy to find using my GPS. When I arrived, I received my keys immediately and I went to the room. Access was easy and as soon as I entered the room, I fell asleep quickly. It was quiet, clean, and serene. I loved the king sized bed and spacious living area. This was the best stay overs I have had in years.