Ratings based on 700 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Close to Duke University.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Close to Hospital
Cons: Carpets to be cleaned better. Lobby plants to be exchanged.
The rooms are OK.but the carpets in entire Hotel needs cleaning. The plants on entrance way are all DEAD? Not a good first impression. Also, we were NOT told and given any discounts since we visited Duke University Hospital. We were told this by the folks at the Duke Hospital. Thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by Sam A, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it provides us with the valuable information needed to correct our shortcomings and improve on the services we offer to our guests. We are glad to inform you that a professional carpet cleaning company is already here and they are cleaning the carpets on entire property. Also we will take care of those plants too. Again, thank you for your valuable inputs. Sincerely,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016
There were cobwebs on all of the light fixtures, the carpet was pretty badly stained, the shower head was shooting water all over the place at its base, and the drain in the shower was clogged and drained extremely slowly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Nice budget hotel. It has what we need for our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was decent. It is very outdated and could use an upgrade. The mattress was comfortable but the pillows were subpar and need to be updated. The bathroom tub drained slow, so maybe that needs to be looked at. Otherwise, I feel like the price was decent and location was just what I needed around Duke University.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Room was dirty. Maid service took dirty towels. Did not leave clean ones. Dark parking lot. Did not feel very safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Nice hotel for the price. Staff was very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Clean

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel for price. No problems. Free breakfast a plus and check out at 12:00 nice so didn't have to scramble early next morning for early check-out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Upgrades needed

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
At check-in, they were still cleaning the room. When I got in there the room smelled like urine and had stains in the carpet. I informed the front desk and a lady came in and brought an air wick and sprayed the carpet. Which at first made it smell like mildew. She advised that it's just the cleaning products and I left the door cracked for a bit. For the price, I thought it would have been better and I was disappointed with the upkeep of the room. I asked to be switched but there wasnt anything else available.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Orbitz
Bed was uncomfortable. There was no alarm clock. There was a tile missing in the bathroom so they replaced it and it was rough on our feet so we had to leave a towel on the floor. It looked like the refrigerator had a leak at some point and there was a line of mold on the floor where it leaked. The breakfast was good but we won't return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice, clean, economical place to stay.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The hotel was conveniently located to Duke University and offered daily shuttles,(mon-fri, every hour) which is convenient for those without transportation. It was clean and the staff was pleasant.
Cons: It could definitely use an update- new carpets and furniture would be nice.
Location: The location was great. There were plenty of places to eat within walking distance and convenience stores were nearby.