Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff location and hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Location: Near airport and all.
My flight was early and they let me check in at 8am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by DianeT, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I look forward to sharing your kind words with the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, DianeT Customer Service Manager SIHCC
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Consistently good

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here several times, always excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your review and your business. If your travels bring you to this area in the future we hope that you will give us another opportunity to be your hotel of choice. Sincerely, DianeT Customer Service Manager SIHCC
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for your 4 Star rating. We hope your stay was enjoyable. Your rating and business are both greatly appreciated. And please do visit us again. Sincerely, DianeT Customer Service Manager SIHCC
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roach in the bathroom

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Not so clean and the roach ruined the experience for me. Not the biggest reach I've ever seen but not small either.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by DianeT, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for letting us know you had an issue during your stay. It was very disappointing to hear of your experience. We strive, our best to provide the cleanliness of guestroom and service that you deserve. And unfortunately, we missed the mark on your visit. If you are in the area in the near future we hope that you will give us another chance to make your stay the best it can be. Sincerely, DianeT Customer Service Manager SIHCC
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Didn't get room I booked
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to leave your on-line comment. I am very sorry to hear that you did not get the room type you booked. Due to Hurricane Matthew the hotel was booked to capacity. Even though we tried to honor all reservations we were challenged due to extended stays. Again, we apologize that you did not received the room type you booked but we do hope that you had a good stay. Again, thank you for your comment and for your business. Warm regards, DianeT Customer Service Manager SHICC
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and comfortable

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
It was lovely. Impeccable service, comfortable surroundings and delicious meals. The poolside cabanas have electrical plugs and wifi. What more could you ask?
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: This is such a nice review. I will be sure to share it with the entire team. We thank you very much and look forward to a return visit. Sincerely, DianeT Customer Service Manager SIHCC
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler: Thank you for the five star rating and for your business. Both are greatly appreciated. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you will once again give us the opportunity to be of service. Sincerely, DianeT Customer Service Manager SIHCC
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastern North Carolina

Bad first(and last) experience!

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: I thought the price seemed good until I got there, had issues & paid the price with no discount for a dirty room & few TV channels+ dark parking lot
Cons: Cleaner rooms,more lights in parking lot, TV's that work w enough channels to watch. Called hotel directly to book they told me to book thru Expedia
Location: got in late so didn't do anything close by
When we got there it was dark, and the parking lot to park is rather far from hotel entrance and the parking lot is dark(a couple of street lights but more dark than lit. Then we were given a room on what they called the Starwood Preferred Guest floor, room 713 and when we all hauled our luggage up there and walked in the room was not clean-one of the beds was not completely made, there was a drink glass with liquid in it. We immediately left and went back down to lobby and then they gave us one on same floor about 6 rooms down from the other room which we were leary about being clean, but when we got there, it seemed ok. We wanted to watch Saturday Night Football or some other choices, but only had a few channels working. The others said 'no signal'. We called down and they sent a maintenance person to our room immediately and he fixed it so we thought, but after he left the stations went out again and it wasn't just the cable cord. They did not offer any discount upon checkout when I told them the issues we had. They said since it was paid for through a 3rd party, Expedia.com there was nothing they could do, and I haven't heard back from Expedia. I will not be staying there again and do not recommend it. I tried to book directly with hotel and told her the Expedia price and she told me to book through them not direct, which I found strange. However, since they were not willing to offer even a discount of some sort to appease me, maybe that's why they said use Expedia
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by DianeT, Hotel Management
Dear J: Thank you for providing such a detailed review of your stay. I apologize that we missed the mark on your recent visit to the Sheraton Imperial Hotel. We want you to know that we greatly value your feedback and it has been shared with our Executive team. Because you have provided us the specific areas in which we failed to exceed your expectations we have begun to direct our attention to those areas. Let me assure you that we want to exceed our guest’s expectations. Our commitment is to strive daily to become a better place to stay. We appreciate your business and cannot thank you enough for sharing your time to help us improve. We sincerely regret to learn of the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay and hope to one day welcome you back and exceed your expectations. Sincerely, DianeT Customer Service Manager SIHCC
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your 5 Star rating. Your business and rating is greatly appreciated. We hope you enjoy your stay and look forward to a return visit. Sincerely, DianeT Customer Service Manager SIHCC
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Good location

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Central location, close to airport and easy to get to both Durham/Chapel Hill and Raleigh. The parking is free. The hotel is old and needs refreshing. The rooms are ok but the beds oddly uncomfortable. The amenities are spotty with odd hours for the restaurant and gift shop. Charles Lewis at the desk was especially pleasant and helpful with questions etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by DianeT, Hotel Management
Dear Bryan: Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. It was good to hear that you found our location to the airport convenient. And the parking is free. Again, thank you for your review and for your business. We hope that if your travels bring you back to Durham, North Carolina that you will give us opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, DianeT Customer Service Manager SIHCC