Ratings based on 647 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent experience

Posted May 20, 2017
Not knowing anything about Chapel Hill, it was the best choice of a hotel. We will stay there again very soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Great location

Posted May 20, 2017
First night of honeymoon was there 32 years ago. Great return trip!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manywhere

Bugs in the bed Night 1, flying insects on Night 2

Posted May 12, 2017
I have stayed at the Carolina Inn many times over the years. While their attitude has always been one of they are doing you a favor by letting you stay there, the proximity to the campus and Franklin Street - and a tradition of visiting the Carolina Inn since 1981 - kept me there. But after this trip....Bugs in the bed on Night 1; Flying insects Night 2 - they probably sprayed some stuff and left the window open for a few hours to get the odor out (and got some insects in!!)....and, no apology from their manager...so walked across on West Franklin and saw a Hilton Property there...i did extend my stay by one night and that would have been an opportunity to make amends but......That's it; goodbye Carolina Inn...keep your attitude, keep your superiority...note this is probably the 2nd review i have ever written and i must have stayed over 1,000 nights in various hotels....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Lovely hotel in Chapel Hill, NC

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Lovely ambience in public areas, friendly staff, good food in restaurant.
Location: Hotel is on the campus of UNC with lots of restaurants nearby. Close to CRX bus that goes to Raleigh.
Charming hotel within walking distance of the Wilson Library. Delicious food in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stepping back in time

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Decor, ambiance, warm welcome.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Right across from UNC and steps from Franklin Street, lots of things to do there.
The Carolina Inn was absolutely lovely. I am so glad I got to stay here before my son graduated from UNC. Room was not overly large but very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely. Bed linens were luxurious. We had cocktails on the porch and dined at the restaurant. The service and food were wonderful. Hope I get back here sometime soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel next to UNH

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Well located in town and across from the UNC campus. Staff was super helpful and nice. Rooms were beautiful and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great. Also had a wonderful dinner on the patio, next to a fire pit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice classy hotel in the middle of the campus

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: It felt classy. The location is perfect if you are visiting UNC Chapel Hill.
Cons: Staff could be friendlier.
Location: All things at UNC
We were visiting family attending UNC and this was an ideal place to stay. The room was comfortable although the bathroom was pretty tiny. We had breakfast there and it was just what you expect at a nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Great hotel!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
The Carolina Inn is iconic. It is The perfect place to stay right on campus in Chapel Hill. Staff was very friendly. The room was clean and beds super comfortable. We had breakfast at the hotel and it was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Awesome experience. UNC national Champions. Hotel was great and supportive for all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern CA

Great location for visiting UNC

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Great service and southern charm
Location: At the corner of UNC, walkable to other restaurants and small shops.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. There are jars of cookies when you check in. Coffee shop Provisions on-site. Hotel restaurant menu was good, waitress very knowledgeable and courteous. The hotel is beautiful, well decorated and you really feel the southern charm. You are literally walking across the street to UNC.