Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Caroina

Weekend Getaway

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The hotel was quiet, great water pressure in the shower, and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was delicious, especially the coffee!
Cons: The smoking area in the rear was very loud due to the air handler unit.
We stayed one night in the Kings Daughter Inn. The room was beautiful, I wouldn't change a thing. It was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and everything was modern with a classic feel. The decor was perfect throughout the Inn. The staff were all happy to help with anything, and very friendly. I only wish we had more time to stay longer on this trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Wonderful bed and breakfast - perfect location!

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Everything! Location- friendly staff and unique style. Friendly B & B.
Cons: nothing everything was great!
Location: Everything was close to Duke! easy access for highway travel to get to the other schools we were there to visit!
Wonderful little bed and breakfast. Very friendly staff and perfect location. We were in town for college visits and loved the staff and charming Southern hospitality! Would highly recommend this B&B to friends! Very clean and wonderful air conditioning. A variety of different style rooms and with different themes. Great breakfast and welcoming service. Frostyne who greeted us when we arrived late at night was a delight and we saw her every day always cheery and professional!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Jolla,Ca

Excellent!

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Super friendly and gracious staff. Not overbearing. Really nice antique decor inside an amazing house. Great breakfast as well. Very good location, near Duke and downtown Durham.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great Place

Posted Jul 11, 2017
We had a wonderful overall experience with the King's Daughter. Nice room, comfortable bed, great breakfasts. We had our kids and young grandkids visit us as the Inn, and the staff was great to everyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Denel , Hotel Management
I am glad you all had a wonderful stay and that everything was comfortable. Hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jupiter, FL

A quaint hotel full of luxury.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Situated across from Duke University & near several good restaurants. The room was beautifully appointed, spacious & the beds were very comfortable. A large sitting room invites you to curl up & read a book. Breakfast offered rare cook to order eggs & homemade biscuits & scones. Our only concern was during our walk to the restaurants we did not feel totally safe. We would definitely visit again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Denel, Hotel Management
Hi Kathryn! So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn! We love to boast about our beds...they are amazing with the locally sourced sheets and pillows galore! And thanks for mentioning our Made to Order Breakfasts. The chef loves to hear good things, especially about the baked goods! And rest assured, Durham is very safe to walk around. the city takes much pride in how eclectic and special the different areas of the city can be! We look forward to your next visit...our beds are waiting! Cheers, Denel Pugh GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Wonderful Stay

Posted May 29, 2017
We were visiting Duke and found this gem. The beds were comfortable. Sheets were amazing. Entire B&B was spotless. Breakfast was delicious and made to order. Their inhouse granola is addictive. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Great location with short walk to CityConnect Bus,downtown, and 9th Street. It was the perfect end to our southeastern college tour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Denel, Hotel Management
Hi Julie!! Thanks for that wonderful review! We want everyone to experience the our form of Southern Hospitality! And the Granola is a family secret...but you can get some to go (which I think you did;). I hope you become a Duke Parent! Cheers, Denel Pugh GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel next to Duke Univ

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: very spacious. I also liked the welcome chocolate and port wine at the bedside. The breakfast was also great, home-made and cooked after orders.
Cons: Nothing to complain for me!
Location: Right next to Duke University. Enjoyable to take a morning or evening walk on the campus.
The room had sun room, which was so cozy and nice to sit and relax. There was wine bottle with glasses (although I did not drink) set in the sun room, very tempting. All the rooms had different atmosphere, just peeking from the hallway and it had the atmosphere like a museum. Seems like it was donated (?) by Duke family and remodeled as hotel, which explains the very nice atmosphere with old and nice furniture here and there in the hotel. The breakfast was very nice in the quality. The welcome chocolate and port wine on the bedside made me feel glad. The staffs were friendly. Excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Denel, Hotel Management
So glad you enjoyed your stay!! Cozy and relaxing are exactly the words we love to hear! A little about the history...this was the only building all three Duke Brothers went together on to help The King's Daughters (God's Daughters) take care of Widows and indigent women in need. Half of the money and the architect was donated by the brothers, the rest was raised by the church ladies. In it's heyday, they cared for 34 women by providing dormitory style rooms, 3 meals a day & all their laundry done. In 2006, the last lady moved on to a nursing home and the Home officially closed. 2009, Deanna & Colin Crossman totally remodeled and loaded it up with Green Technologies, and opened as The King's Daughters Inn! Hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Denel Pugh GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

NIce historic hotel downtown Durham

Posted Apr 20, 2017
If you are looking to stay in a quiet neighborhood, where you can walk to a bar and feel like you are coming home than this is the place. The staff remembers you directly, there was free wine, free soda and snacks all day. And the continental breakfast is custom made in the morning. Awesome place
5 out of 5
by Leila

Excellent

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful, charming, and clean. Staff were courteous and helpful. We will surely visit again!
5 out of 5
by Shane

Perfect!

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
Loved, loved, loved my stay at the King's Daughter Inn. Wonderful service, delicious food, and beautiful rooms. I will definitely be visiting again.