Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap but conveniently located across Duke Hospita

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel has to be renovated Decoration , furniture, etc is old
The rooms are big and spacious The location if you are visiting Duke University or the Hospital is perfecto. The hotel is very simple, nothing pretentious. Don't expect anything fancy Breakfast does not really exist. Free parking Good wifi Nice lady at the front desk
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Close to Duke Medical Center

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Convenient to Medical Center. Staff was very helpful. This worked out perfectly for stay while a friend had surgery.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Katie, Hotel Management
Hi Roger! Thanks for the review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The rooms and bathrooms were clean. The staff was very nice and helpful. The bed was comfortable.
Cons: It was dated in some ways but new flooring and sofa sleepers.
Location: Right next to Duke with free shuttle during the week within a three mile radius. Bus free to downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Katie, Hotel Management
Thanks for the feedback- we enjoy hearing from our customers on what we do well and what we can improve on! The hotel is located near the free Bull City Connector which many guests enjoy as an easy way to explore the downtown area. We also like that you noticed the new hall floors and sofa sleepers! We continuously strive to make improvements to make our customers' stay great while keeping our rates reasonable. Thanks again for the feedback!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good luck sleeping

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Close to Duke
Cons: Too noisy and low quoity
Location: Perfect for Duke Parents
I have stayed here twice. First time was barely acceptable. Thought I would give it another chance since so close to Duke you can walk to west campus and it was the lowest price. Never again. Rooms are what you would expect for price but realize hey are at the bottom of what is out there. The hallway floors were redone since my last stay but they are a laminate floor surface which echoes all noise from hallway ad that to no thresholds on doors and all hallway noise carries into your room. Good luck sleeping!! There was constant noise in hallway. Worst part was that when I came down at 10:25 to grab continental breakfast there was nothing there. When I questioned front desk lady she said they ended at 10:30. We both looked at clock above her head which told both of us it wasn't 10:30 and no response!!! Only they stopped serving at 10:30. No way they had it all cleaned up before 10:30. And no apology from here or offer to go get some. No problem Your breakfast was weak anyway and I would never stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Katie, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that your second stay was not enjoyable and do sincerely apologize. There was a short period of time between the floors being installed and the thresholds being finished on the guest room doors. I do see how this would cause a noise issue in our rooms and apologize this was not better handled during your stay. I am also sorry that you were not offered any of the light pastries with your coffee. This is clearly a customer service failure that we will address. Despite our failures, we do appreciate hearing from you about your stay in hopes that we can make improvements for future guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

As expected from a hotel under renoavtion

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Close to Duke University. Shuttle van was prompt & friendly. Room was clean, the free breakfast was OK, decent wifi - and the price was right.
Cons: The mattress was too soft for my taste. The furniture was dated and the HD TV was too small.
Location: Very convenient to Duke Medical Center and Duke University
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Easley, SC

Convenient hotel across from Duke Clinic.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff was very helpful, friendly and courteous. Really appreciated the shuttle service to Duke.
Cons: Could have a microwave in the morning downstairs to warm up pastries.
Location: Duke Clinic, Duke University, shopping, dining, & a museum. Hotel provided great directions to these places in a handout they gave us upon check in.
The hotel was very clean. Everyone was as nice as they could be. Would definitely stay there again . Parking is very convenient.
4 out of 5
by Maria from Durham, NC

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel stay was last munute. The room was great, spacious, clean. The evening clet was an older lady who was cranky & border line rude. Other than that everything else was petfect!
3 out of 5
by Clinton from Duke

It is ok

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Would have love a better breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels