Ratings based on 1,031 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I don't usually do ratings but . . .

Posted Jul 27, 2017
When I travel, Wingate Hotels are usually one of my go-to hotels because of the great quality and price. My stay at this particular Wingate proved they are not all created equal. The room was in need of a good thorough cleaning. The carpet was nasty, the curtains were dingy and dusty, the air conditioner was loud. My stay wasn't terrible, but it also wasn't what I'm accustomed to at a Wingate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Jul 13, 2017
We wanted a place with a pool as it was very hot, and the pool was spacious enough for about 7 kids to play comfortably at one point. It was also very clean and had a nice deck area with comfortable lounge chairs and umbrella tables. Not fancy, but very functional. We had a room with two double beds and they were very comfortable mattresses. There was enough space for a small portable crib that we brought, as well as a comfortable overstuffed chair in the corner to relax on. Breakfast was included and amazing--waffle bar (make yourself, they provided the batter), eggs, sausage, bagels, bread, juice, coffee, and more. I was pleasantly surprised. Only complaint was that the air conditioner in the room was kind of loud, but I think could have been resolved with earplugs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Valarie Horne (GM), Hotel Management
Thank you kindly for writing a review to share your experience. Reviews such as yours help potential guest choose there lodging needs with confidence. We're eager to keep each guest with a warm feeling of confidence they chose the best establishment for there lodging needs. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gill

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
We were looking for a place at the last minute, and found this hotel on Expedia. I wasn't sure because of the low price, but it was just fine and didn't have any problems. Will definitely stay again if I'm back in the NC area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Valarie Horne (GM), Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your recent experience while lodging with us. We're delighted to hear that you was pleased with your accommodations. We can't wait to see you on your next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel facility needs work

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Facility was clean but tired - ext doors not working, ice machine out of order, shower curtain rod coming loose, etc. Breakfast buffet was not being kept stocked during breakfast - had to wait for eggs, by the time they came out, sausage and hash browns were empty so had to wait again... Finally just gave up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nothing to brag about

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Couldn't get into our room. We brought our luggage to the 3rd floor and had to go back to the front desk only to learn that our room was on the 2nd floor. There was someone's black sock on the bathroom floor so obviously the room was not cleaned properly. Air conditioner never turned off so that was very annoying.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampton Roads

Usually enjoy staying @Wingate

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Room was not ready when I arrived. Moved to room on 1st floor which is not my preference. I was a little annoyed because I had dinner reservations at 5:30 (Arrived 4:00 so I could check in and change into appropriate dinner attire)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Valarie Horne (GM), Hotel Management
Thank you for expressing your concerns. I sincerely apologize that we had to move you to another room which caused you not to make your dinner reservations on time. It is our goal to ensure each guest is 100% satisfied with there accommodations in which we have failed. Please know that we will make every effort to ensure the rooms are completely ready in a timely manner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Rooms not as nice two years ago,stains on carpet furniture scratch,needs make over Thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Valarie (GM), Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. I sincerely apologize that your accommodations wasn't up to your expectations. Just know that your concerns will be addressed. Again, I do apologize for the unpleasant accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Internet/Wifi

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Staff and Cleaning
Cons: Internet/Wifi
Location: NA
Other than WiFi, rest of the things are good. it is unfortunate that hotel cant provide good internet connectivity, because I am using this hotel for business purposes for last 3 months and I need to stay in office to complete my work because it is terrible connectivity at hotel. I wonder how much will it cost for a hotel to have good customer experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I would have left but

Posted May 25, 2017
The first room I received had flees and someone attempted to hide the smell with a mold bomb ( commonly used to hide strong odor). They gave me another room that was smoke free but the entire floor smelled like alcohol and weed. The next day when I returned to the hotel police guarding a door
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
My recervation was for 4 night that after the first one I cancel the rest and change Hotel. Smelly rooms,.rooms need to be updated.