Ratings based on 999 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corolla, NC

The hotel is in dire need of repairs!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Price and location! Quick drive to downtown Raleigh.
Cons: Repair the place
Location: In the middle of suburbia, what can I say? We did go to the Super Walmart
The shower curtain had been riped off the shower. The entire hotel look beat up. It's just at that point where it needs a major face lift. The gym looked dangerous.The fitness equipment was old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Although the furniture in the room was very outdated, the room itself was clean. Overall, it was okay for a one night stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Funk in the bunk

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Smelled awful. Very strong chemical smell throughout building and room. Stanky Hot tub not working. Non desirable location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Very friendly greeting by staff. All questions asked to staff were answered promptly and honestly. Hotel every convenient for our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Nice Close to where I needed to go

Posted Mar 30, 2017
I really thought the staff was very pleasant & friendly. Room was nice & comfortable. The free continental breakfast was real good. If & when I have to go back to Raleigh NC, I would stay there again. It was quite. I didn't here any of the other guest. The building was nice & clean. I would definitely recommend the Windgate of Windhym a good place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Asheville.

Adaquate. But I will not stay in another wingate

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Location was what we needed, but the overall hotel experience was low. There were too many people there to party, including next to our room.
Cons: The bathrooms were in bad shape. Clean, but fixtures were rusting, tile was coming apart, and the shower was in bad shape.
Location: Only thing nearby was the highway and a Waffle House.
The hotel was generally adaqate. Had I been traveling alone for business, it would had been fine. I was with my 12 yr old daughter. The hotel seemed to be a place for the local younger crowd to come and party in the rooms. We had a very rowdy group next door partying until past 2am. Luckily my daugher did not hear any of it. I wont stay at another Wingate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Close to downtown with places to eat close by.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Staff was awesome. We want to go back when it's warm to use pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great for the Price

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: The price! And the hot breakfast.
Location: Red Pepper Asia is a great chinese restaurant. And Lynwood Brewery.
This hotel has great value. I'm sure it is not the best in Raleigh, but the best for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old & oudated, but close to North Hills / Dowtown

Posted Feb 4, 2017
This hotel looks nice from the outside, but when you walk in, it completely changes. It looks like it hasn't been updated since 1995. Walking down the hall to our room, my husband and I both felt like we were in a horror movie. The rooms are fine, just old looking. Our room was clean, it just felt dirty because of the age. The bathroom is another story - The lighting in the bathroom makes you look like a zombie, the water pressure in the shower is terrible, and the toilet seat has an opening in the front like a public restroom. The only good things about the hotel were: 1) Breakfast every morning. Not just continental. They have eggs, hash browns, waffles, english muffins, cereal and pastries. 2) 3-5 minutes away from North Hills shopping and downtown Raleigh. We were right in the middle of the action! I would not stay here again, or recommend it to a friend, but overall it could have been worse. I think we will splurge to stay somewhere nicer on our next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was excellent.
Drove my son to town for a late concert. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Frankly, it was nicer than I expected for the price. I don't know Raleigh at all, so kudos to the staff for showing me 'the back way' to the venue that didn't show up on GPS.