Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Not disabled friendly. Should be more clearly stated that there are steep flights of stairs and no lifts. Also no ground-floor bedrooms. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts very nice but expensive. Seemed more geared up for weddings. A very old, dated hotel in need of re-furbishment. Nice well-kept garden with seats. Car parking limited. only 1 disabled space. Spa and swimming pool open to public and children. Swimming pool very small. Didn't try it because of numbers of people in it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from shropshire

trip

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Very little, including the fact that its hard to find, i note that the management have replied to others saying there will be better signposting.
Cons: showers that work / windows that open/signage to find it
Location: Its in a small village, looks nice, with a variety of smaller shops. Nice scenery,
I rate this hotel as poor as we had rooms 4 and 11. I stayed in room 4 and it was hot and clammy/ out of the 3 windows in the room only one opened , the others were stuck / even worse the window in the bathroon would not open thus adding to the heat. finally the shower only had two possibilites, far too hot or stone cold. Yes it did have a bath but i wanted to rinse my hair and then had to use the small sink to do that. I did report this to reception on check out, they were obviously used to this issue, but i got the feeling that despite it going in the "Maintencance book:" it is probably still the same. My brother stayed in Room 11 and he had the same issues, but his shower only did cold and also sprayed out of the side of the shower head. again this room was hot and sticky. So we paid £72 and £58 pounds for basically nothing. I might as well have slept in my car and saved my money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Cons: We understand that it's a Heritage listed place - but why can't a lift, a bar fridge, and an exhaust fan be fitted. And a bell in the bar area!
We stayed here for 2 nights in Room 9 which was classified as a "family room". On arrival the first thing we noticed was the large amount of cobwebs all around the front entrance door to the hotel. The receptionist was helpful, but there were no lifts to our room which was up on the 3rd floor, and with 2 members of our party elderly and infirm, made the 4 flights of stairs very challenging for us. There was also no bar fridge in our room for us to store our cold food and drinks - we are travelling around the UK for 6 weeks with a small esky. These 2 points SHOULD be mentioned on their website. The room was unbearably hot and humid, and the bathroom was unbelievably tiny and like a sauna once we'd had a shower. When we sat in the lounge/bar area for several hours we repeatedly had to summon staff from downstairs to order more drinks. On a positive note, a staff member offered to carry our cases upstairs on arrival, and they stored our coldstuffs in the hotel's kitchen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great country hotel

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Just stayed one night to attend a family birthday party nearby. Great choice and highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by ANN from Maldon

A very secret hotel!

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel extremely difficult to locate, glad we were travelling in the daytime. Hotel a little tired although an effort has been made in the bedrooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Would not stay here again, poor service, tired/dirty bedroom
4 out of 5
by Gary from Swadlincote

Business trip

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
Great location with good facilities very quiet good food
3 out of 5
by Paul

Back in Time

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel requires updating, my room had pine furniture from the 1990's. I think that the rooms were expensive for what they are. The staff and food were excellent as was the swimming pool.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels