Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: nice room
Cons: tell us about the church and the bell
Location worse Adjacent to the hotel there is a church bell ringing all night non-stop Breakfast is sparse For eggs have to pay extra cost
4 out of 5
by Mark from London

Good value and quaint.

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
Good room and friendly service. The room was reasonably priced and the breakfast was good. I would use the hotel again when in the area. However, a meal in the restaurant is expensive, not so much for food prices but mineral water and wine are overpriced.
5 out of 5
by Family from Kuwait

Ramsen

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent little hotel with friendly and helpful staff - would recommend this to anyone!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Quiet Hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is far from the nearest city, which is about 30 minutes away. However, the place is very peaceful and quiet. Stein am Rhein is nearby. A nice little town along the Rhein river.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deceptive

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels
The staff was pleasant and personable. Our complaint is with how our room was advertised online. We booked ahead of time expecting three things. Free Wifi in our room, free parking, and for our room to look like the room we booked online. In the end parking was free just as advertised but the free Wifi only worked in their lobby not in your room and our room was not anywhere near as advertised. We asked to cancel our reservation because we were not happy. We were told that we would have to pay 100% of the first night and 80% of the second. Just a very poor experience overall.
3 out of 5
by Vas from NZ

Good for a short stay

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels
Good hotel overall, a bit out of the way from anything though. We don't have any complaints, just maybe that the hotel was a bit dated. Overall, good value for money and nice friendly service. FYI - the WiFi connection is only good by the reception, and you don't get a signal in the room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by sean from Speichersdorf

great comfort

Posted Jul 24, 2013 on Hotels
We had a great stay and it was a wonderful overnight stay as part of a European tour.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from North East England

Great hotel for cyclists or those touring.

Posted Jun 25, 2013
Pros: The room, staff and food were all lovely.
Cons: We never did crack how to use the wi fi and would have been charged for more than 30 mins.
Location: Small, family run hotel in a Swiss village close to the German border.
We stopped just one night at the hotel which is in a small village and we found it tricky to find despite the SAT NAV. In fact we crossed back into Germany from Switzerland to the amusement of the border police who asked how long we had spent in Switzerland to receive the reply about half an hour. Once there, it is lovely with a car park in the garden and the chance to eat outside in good weather. Speaking no German, we struggled at first but soon the staff made us laugh by miming to make sure we had all we needed. The owners speak fluent English so there was no real problem. This hotel celebrates cycling and is an excellent base for those cycling around Switzerland. The walls feature cycling pictures and memorabilia. We did worry that being next to the church would be annoying particularly on the Sunday morning, but in fact it was no concern at all. The room was spacious and reached via very creaky stairs as this is a traditional Swiss style hotel. Best of all was the meal served by the family which used fresh local ingredients and was beautifully prepared. The local wine was delicious too.