Ratings based on 559 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacrememto

This is not a hotel it's bolshit

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Very bad experience it's not a place that you should stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We were so sorry that our property was not to your liking. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Kind Regards, Customer Care Team, Comfort Inn Rancho Cordova
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Bruno, CA

Easy access to American River bike trail.

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Cons: bathroom fan can be little quiet.
It was perfect location for visited my friends and going for a bike ride on American River trail up to Folsom. The build it self wasn't nice looking, but the room was good side, bed was comfortable and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We were delighted that or property satisfied your needs so well. Thank you for sharing your comments. We would love to be your host again, in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Customer Care Team, Comfort Inn Rancho Cordova
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needed cheap hotel for one night

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Inexpensive, clean, free good breakfast, parking right by room, coffee in room. Comfortable. Great hotel!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We were thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We would love to welcome you back again and again! Thank you for your business and your review. We really appreciate both. Kind Regards, Customer Care Team, Comfort Inn Rancho Cordova
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff and amenities are lacking

Posted Nov 11, 2017
The hotel has potential. But the staff and amenities are lacking. My room was facing I-80 and so had busy traffic noise all night. The toilet didn’t have s seal on the inside of the water storage unit unless I pulled off the ceramic lid and stopped the constant flow of water by hand. The phone sounded like someone was using an electric drill in the background. I called the front desk to ask for a 6:30 wake up call and could barely hear them through the noise. Then the guy asked which room I was in. Clearly no automated calls. So the next morning, when the phone rang at 6:40 for my wake up call, I was glad I had arranged a backup plan. The good news: the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was good, but there were two homeless guys sitting in the room eating breakfast too. I think we might have been the only 3 patrons on that Thursday night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are obviously very disappointed to hear that you were not thrilled with your stay with us. We apologize for all of the issues that you experienced, it does not sound as if we offered you the great stay and wonderful service that the majority of our guests receive. We are very sorry that you did not experience the very best of what our hotel has to offer, and we hope to redeem ourselves on a future occasion. Kind Regards, Customer Care Team, Comfort Inn Rancho Cordova
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value but not good

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Room was pretty good. Front desk staff very unkempt in keeping with general ambience. My credit card was charged by the hotel as well as by Expedia. Thats why you always need to get a zero balance receipt when you check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We were sorry to hear that our property was not to your liking. If the issue with your credit card is not resolved soon, please contact us and our staff will be able to advise you further. We apologize for any problems that you encountered during your stay with us. This is not the kind of experience that we want our guests to have. We would love the opportunity to impress you with our service, should you choose to stay with us again. Kind Regards, Customer Care Team, Comfort Inn Rancho Cordova
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

A Disappointment

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Nice rooms.
Cons: Maintenance all over especially in the outdoor hallways - replace blown out light bulbs and clean the halls.
Location: The location is OK. Right next to Hwy. 50 so a bit loud.
We stayed at this motel for the first time as the one we usually stay at had gone up over $50 a night in the six months since we last stayed there. The Comport Inn was rated well through Expedia and still not a deal at over a hundred a night, but we thought we would try it. The outside halls are dirty, lights were out overhead all over that make it very dark at night to see to get into your room. The rooms themselves are pretty clean and comfortable and they do have great black out window coverings. All in all this motel was a disappointment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. Although we were happy that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable, we were disappointed that you encountered some other issues during your stay. Our maintenance and housekeeping teams have been notified of your feedback, and improvements are being made with immediate effect. Thank you for sharing your comments. We would love the opportunity to redeem ourselves with you, should you choose to stay with us again. Kind Regards, Customer Care Team, Comfort Inn Rancho Cordova
4 out of 5
by Bryan

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
Other than the check in check out situation was a problem everything else was good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley

Not recommended for business stay.

Posted Oct 18, 2017
First off we happen to choose a time when they were renovating rooms: 1) fan and light on same switch in bathroom and fan is as loud as a 747. 2) no sofa or chair in room. There was an area for it but not there. 3) WiFi was the worst I have ever experienced. On top of that my cell coverage was poor( not hotel issue). I could not conduct online meetings in my room. They did not have higher internet speed option. 4) 3 story wooden building. Very shaky and noisy when people walking and moving about above you. 5) exposed walkways to rooms. Since it is outside many people smoking outside rooms( because they are not allowed to smoke inside). This is worse than if they smoked inside rooms. The smoke travels everywhere and gets into many rooms. For this point I will never stay or recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that the layout of our hotel, and the fact that people smoke outside proved to be so unsuitable for you. As you mentioned, we are renovating at the moment, and we are very much looking forward to this work being completed, and we expect that some of the issues that you experienced will be eliminated at that time. We are sorry that our hotel, at least at this time, was not suitable for your needs, but we appreciate you staying with us. Kind Regards, Customer Care Team, Comfort Inn Rancho Cordova
4 out of 5
by Sean

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
It was clean and most of the staff was very nice...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
Not sure if i will go back or not it was very uncomfortable to walk to a room and see nasty things in the parking lot.