Ratings based on 894 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach, and very beautiful resort

Posted Jul 12, 2017
We had a great time staying here for the weekend, really beautiful resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review! We hope you will be our guest again soon for another getaway at Terranea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Family Fun Ahead!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Activities galore, gorgeous setting, so many food options on property, customer service
Cons: N/a
Location: Terranea is in Ranchos Palos Verdes. Sandy/swimming beach down the road from property is better for ocean play.
We met friends at the Terranea for a few days of catching up and family fun. We had 6 kids between us ranging in age from 1.5 to 13 years old and this hotel could not be more perfect! A variety of standard hotel rooms to casitas, an amazing piece of property that stretches along the Pacific Ocean with paths down to a rocky beach, multiple pools, (free) shaved ice every day, cornhole, giant sized Jenga and Connect 4, ping pong and foosball tables, and evening movies by the pool to boot. Amazing restaurants on property, chauffeured golf cart rides and s'mores kits for dessert (amongst many dessert options). We have stayed at many hotels and this might just be the most family friendly hotel we have experienced yet. There is something for everyone at The Terranea and while your kids may still throw out the occasional "I'm Bored" be assured that is their issue, not Terranea's!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your review and for choosing Terranea for catching up and family fun. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found something for everyone at our family friendly resort. Please come back and visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Fl

Amazing resort....stunning views!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The views are amazing, the staff was excellent, and our room was beautiful.
Cons: I think the prices for food are a bit steep, especially for large groups like us, so we ended up going outside the resort to eat.
We spent the weekend at Terranea, and will definitelly be back. Everything was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Kathleen! We are delighted to learn that you felt Terranea's views are amazing, associates are excellent and your room was beautiful. Please be our guest again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Hawaii in LA

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Beautiful resort with great views of Catalina. Lots of amenities with many things to do. Great for families but relaxing for adults too. Many good places to eat. Only hated the loud music played by a dj at the 21 and over pool. Spa day pass a good benefit but would have been nice if for two people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Deb. We hope you will be our guest again soon for more beautiful views and delicious food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted May 28, 2017
Nice view and nice property but horrible food ... outdated pool and ants everywhere in rooms and rooms service trays . Not worth the cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our management team to further investigate. We hope you will consider staying with us again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Villas

Posted May 23, 2017
Upgraded to villa upon arrival. Lovely staff and very nice grounds and views. Pool outdated...awful food in restaurants and room service. Ants all over villa!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Zach, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our management team to further investigate. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Resort with beautiful views.

Posted May 17, 2017
Staff was most accommodating. Room was large and comfortable, although coffee maker not furnished until our last night.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Zach, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. Please accept our apologies for the mistake you encountered. We strive to provide exceptional experiences for all of our guests and we do hope you will consider staying with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas nevada

Beautiful resort!!!

Posted May 8, 2017
Great experience!!! Oceanfront...great friendly staff...great dining options...only thing missing was a coffee maker in the room
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your review. We are delighted to read that you had a great experience at Terranea and we look forward to welcoming you back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Just fine

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: The views surrounding it.
Cons: For the amount one pays to stay at this hotel, everything needs to be beyond OK...
Although the setting of the hotel is very nice along the ocean cliffs. There is nothing about this hotel that warrants the costs associated with staying here. Food was pretty good and not even that badly priced, but drinks with any meal were out outrageously priced. The rooms were fine, but the pillows were terrible and the overall comfort was just fine. Nothing great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please know that we are committed to delivering exceptional experiences to every guest and have shared your feedback with our management team to further investigate. We hope you will consider staying with us again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great - except when it's busy.

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Location.
Not my first time here - I've been on several occasions - and, of course, the location etc. is just as fabulous. However, when it's busy - weddings, events etc. - it lacks the charm of its quieter days. Valet parking is akin to rush hour in Delhi, the epic waits at reception result in visible stubble growth and getting served in one of the restaurants, even as a paying guest, is a bit of a lottery. It's becoming a victim of its own success and I'd certainly avoid on weekends.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Glenn. Please know that we are committed to delivering exceptional service to every guest and your service mistakes are not typical. We have shared your feedback with our management team to further investigate. We hope you will consider being our guest again.