Ratings based on 885 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Villas

Posted May 23, 2017
Upgraded to villa upon arrival. Lovely staff and very nice grounds and views. Pool outdated...awful food in restaurants and room service. Ants all over villa!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Resort with beautiful views.

Posted May 17, 2017
Staff was most accommodating. Room was large and comfortable, although coffee maker not furnished until our last night.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Zach, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. Please accept our apologies for the mistake you encountered. We strive to provide exceptional experiences for all of our guests and we do hope you will consider staying with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas nevada

Beautiful resort!!!

Posted May 8, 2017
Great experience!!! Oceanfront...great friendly staff...great dining options...only thing missing was a coffee maker in the room
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your review. We are delighted to read that you had a great experience at Terranea and we look forward to welcoming you back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Just fine

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: The views surrounding it.
Cons: For the amount one pays to stay at this hotel, everything needs to be beyond OK...
Although the setting of the hotel is very nice along the ocean cliffs. There is nothing about this hotel that warrants the costs associated with staying here. Food was pretty good and not even that badly priced, but drinks with any meal were out outrageously priced. The rooms were fine, but the pillows were terrible and the overall comfort was just fine. Nothing great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please know that we are committed to delivering exceptional experiences to every guest and have shared your feedback with our management team to further investigate. We hope you will consider staying with us again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great - except when it's busy.

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Location.
Not my first time here - I've been on several occasions - and, of course, the location etc. is just as fabulous. However, when it's busy - weddings, events etc. - it lacks the charm of its quieter days. Valet parking is akin to rush hour in Delhi, the epic waits at reception result in visible stubble growth and getting served in one of the restaurants, even as a paying guest, is a bit of a lottery. It's becoming a victim of its own success and I'd certainly avoid on weekends.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Glenn. Please know that we are committed to delivering exceptional service to every guest and your service mistakes are not typical. We have shared your feedback with our management team to further investigate. We hope you will consider being our guest again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

A TRUE 5 Star with amazing staff!

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The food (seriously, the FOOD!!) - was so fresh and the variety available was impressive. Facilities - they have everything you need! The STAFF!!!
Cons: Don't change a thing - honestly, don't. Although, I did hear a rumour that the Reef Margarita was being taken off the menu at Nelson's. RE-THINK THAT!
Location: LA is a 40 minute drive and all of the beach cities are super close (Redondo, Hermosa, Venice etc..)
My wife and I chose the Terranea (after plenty of research) as the destination where we would celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We wanted a place that had that 'resort' feel, however was close enough to the city (LA) and other areas for spontaneous exploring. Saying that the Terranea far exceeded our expectations would be an understatement. The hotel is gorgeous, and the view even better. They've managed to create a sprawling resort that is surprisingly easy to navigate and incredibly well designed. Now, all that being said I must emphasize that is was the staff at Terranea who truly made our stay memorable. They were beyond helpful and were always seeking ways to make our stay even better (including reservations in LA, arranging transportation, even giving complimentary desserts for our celebration). Reflecting on our trip, my wife and I both agreed that it was our best ever and we owe a lot of that to the well-run Terranea and their spectacular staff (especially Kevin the concierge - the guy is customer service rock star!). I can't say enough about the place and we will undoubtedly be returning with our children in the very near future.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Zach, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your review and for choosing Terranea to celebrate your anniversary. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and meeting some of our wonderful associates. Please come back and visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful scenery!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Everything - from location to facilities.
Cons: Inform guests of prices, especially restaurants - not everyone has an unlimited budget!
Location: Gorgeous scenery - the cliffs and ocean are incredible. A wonderful trail along the coast is clean and beautiful. The par 3 gold course is also a gem.
Terranea is absolutely gorgeous! Very pricy - be prepared to pay, but a wonderful splurge!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your review, Lynn and Daid. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed Terranea's scenery, trails and The Links 9-hole par-3 golf course. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Southern California hidden gem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Took my GF for her B Day and had a very amazing time. Great place to get away and still be in LA. Ocean is amazing and the views are absolutely awesome. Staff is on top of everything they take you off site within a 10 mile radius in a Lexus. You can borrow the vehicle if you want. The spa is absolutely relaxing and great customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Zach, Hotel Management
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Terranea and chose us for your girlfriend's birthday celebration. We are glad you enjoyed your spa experience, interacting with our talented associates and our partnership with Lexus. We hope you come back to stay with us at Terranea again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Relaxing and nice walking trails around the beaches
Cons: Don't go on landscaping day
Location: It was VERY hard to get Uber to pick up at this hotel. The ones that finally did accept were over 20 minutes away.
Nice hotel, several restaurants and bars on the property, nice grounds and plenty of walking trails.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Zach, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our dining outlets and walking trails. We hope you will be our guest again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a setting!

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Cons: The alarm clock / phone apparatus was way too complicated and impossible to use.
This is a well-run hotel with an excellent staff. The lobby, public areas and the room were lovely. Bar was hopping (in a good way) Big TV in the room with excellent picture. The location / setting is spectacular. If you go, make time to wander the grounds, sit and stare at the glorious Pacific and enjoy the breezes. Pools are great, too. Room service food is OK. I never tried the restaurants but they looked good. Sink and shower drains in bathroom didn't drain very well. I would assume that, if I had told them during my stay, they would have taken care of it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by Lee, Hotel Management
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Terranea. We are glad you enjoyed our location and pools and appreciate the feedback regarding the in-room phone. We hope you come back to stay with us again soon.