Ratings based on 1,064 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakewood,Ca

Golf getaway

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Great facility and challenging course. I played with a club member who was extremely friendly and a real pleasure to play with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rutheron, NM

Not the fanciest, but a great place.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: The rooms are decent, the hotel is peaceful, and the restaurant is excellent.
Cons: The Wi-Fi isn't great.
Morgan Run is a very good, down to earth place to stay. It happens to be very convenient to the Del Mar Horse Park, so unless Morgan Run is booked up, I always stay there. It's not pretentious at all - so you can't expect that it's the Four Seasons, but you're also not paying through the nose, unlike a hotel near the racetrack, which costs about twice as much for rooms that aren't any fancier - and on top of that, charge you a daily parking rate,which I find very offensive, since you have nowhere to park except the hotel parking lot. Morgan Run does charge a resort fee, but that is understandable, since they have all of the resort amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

wifi.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Very handy to where i need to be when I'm visiting Del Mar. Restaurant, easy, accessible and food is very decent.
Cons: Wifi in the 100 block.
Location: It's just a few minutes from central Del Mar and I5 - easy access to lots of places.
What is disappointing is that the hotel rooms in the 100 block still (after several years) have close to non-operational wifi. Its necessary to go into the main hotel to get wifi. The 200 and 300 blocks have had their wifi improved, and it is satisfactory. I've raised this issue (again) with front desk staff. A business person shouldn't stay in the 100 block as there will be no wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

peaceful and lovely but no relaxing by the pool

Posted Aug 18, 2015
the pool was all about kids and so was not restful at all. the staff was nice but sometimes loud and or unavailable. dinner was excellent, and the golf course and valley provide lovely views but again the pool was a huge disappointment.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Location was great for where we wanted to be.But our room was very disappointing. Closer to a Motel 6 than a "resort" Very outdated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victorville, Ca

Very Underwhelming.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Nothing stood out.
We expected more. The rooms were just ok, the location (other than for golfing) was just ok, and there really wasn't anything worth raving about. Also, if you plan to stay here there is a dress code, which we knew nothing about upon arrival. This is a golfer's location for sure, but that's about all it has going for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tustin Ranch California

Beautiful location. Relaxing and quiet.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
It was my first time staying at Morgan Run. Service was quick, friendly and accommodating. Excellent food and drinks. Lovely golf course. Clean and a great bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't wait to come back!

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Beautiful hotel, and our room was amazing! Considering some of the bad reviews I guess we lucked out with our room. It was clean, quiet, and the best was SO comfortable. Great little patio and kitchenette. Overall so happy with our stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort hotel on a beautiful golf course

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: A beautiful view of the golf course directly outside my slider door.
Location: About 10 minutes from the beach.
Satisfied, the help I received at the front desk gave me excellent customer service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Good hotel...quiet. There is a dreas code to eat in their resturaunt, but otherwise...No complaints