Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Wonderful vacation. The service sometimes overbearing but otherwise paradise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Always a special "treat" to stay here as one can truly relax. Excellent service and amenities, plus privacy and beautiful scenery make it our favorite hotel in the San Diego area. Not cheap, but well worth the money if you want to get away and relax.
5 out of 5
by Debra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Cynthia and Christian

Exceptional Property

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
This is a spectacular property from the grounds to the service. We were met with champagne, and given an overview of the property. Efraim showed us to our room and was extremely helpful and professional. The grounds are beautiful and we were fortunate enough to stay in the Olive Garden Suite which was very private with a waterfall not too far away. The next morning started with fresh squeezed orange juice! If you have an opportunity to stay here, take advantage of it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Like Shangri-la!

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Room was spacious and well stocked and maintained and very pretty.
Cons: Just with communication about when to clean our room.
Location: Location is near Del Mar and close to restaurants, shopping and race track.
This will be one of our new favorite places to go! The staff were friendly and greeted us by name consistently; and they were always helpful with whatever we needed. The spa is amazing and so relaxing. And the entire atmosphere and area was not only beautiful but tranquil and idyllic!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This stay excited my marriage!

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
From start to finish this place had me hooked! I should probably preface this review with the fact that I work in hospitality and am especially critical of the entire foreplay of the guest experience. It began with a call from the resort the day of our arrival about 11am. The associate went over my reservation details and made sure I knew all of the amenities they offered as well as asking which if any I would be interested in. When we arrived, although we requested early check in and they weren't able to accommodate that, we were extended the utmost hospitality with offerings of champagne or tea during our check in. I will note that the website does state check in is at 3pm and our room wasn't ready until after 4. We went to the Pony Room for a bite to eat, a bit to drink and some good conversation. The only remark I would have for this restaurant is that our waiter, though not the slightest would the place be considered "busy", was nearly like a ghost. I ended up asking other staff for things like when we wanted to order and when we were ready to leave we needed the tab. And then again when I needed him to collect the tab Chad again was no where to be found. I called the front desk to ask if our room was ready though they told us they would call, but even these minute issues didn't at all affect our experience or my vibe about the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Best Resort & Spa in Southern California

Posted Feb 16, 2017
We have a 5 Star experience every time we visit Rancho Valencia; hands down, the best resort and spa in Southern California. The visit can be expensive, but worth every penny of it if you want to vacation in style or like a "celebrity".
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Studio Suite was wonderful. Large with seating area and open fire. Bathroom was enormous with jacuzzi bath and large shower cubicle. Resort lovely and quiet, lots of trees and plants, outdoor pool very well heated. Food in the casual restaurant was very good, didn't use the other one. All staff friendly, turndown service and room cleaning was always when we were out so not intrusive Nice touch is fresh orange juice left by your front door early morning. Mini bar and snacks included Will definitely return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beware the thermostat

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: nicely appointed and maintained
Cons: throw away the unneccessarily user unfriendly thermostats and tell the housekeeping staff to leave them alone
Location: not much nearby, but suppose thats part of the plan
excellent facility and staff in general, except housekeeper who adjusts the thermostat to the tundra range and forgets to put it back to a more comfortable range. In the middle of the night the thermostat is impossible to figure out or turn off
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockland Ma

Best resort!

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Loved everything about our stay at Rancho Valencia and would highly recommend this resort to anyone.