Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The old inn feel. Very comfortable beds, rooms, beautiful grounds.
Cons: The new chef at the restaurant charges $32 for a 3 scallop "entree"! You would starve if that's all you had to eat. I could see as an appetizer only.
Location: Close to Solana Beach, Del Mar racetrack, lots of lovely coastline with beautiful views, good restaurants.
I love the Inn at Rancho Santa Fe. Very old school, horsey-set themed inn from the late '20s. Unfortunately, Starwood bought them recently and they are already planning a lot of changes, so I don't think it will stay as nice and warm as it was for so many years.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Doesn't look like pictures.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Main part of hotel is beautiful when first arrive but then they gave us a crappy room in the side where the grass was all dead and there were window screens laying around outside like a cheap motel 6 vibe. The room smelt like chlorine chemicals and took us hours to air it out. They were also testing their alarm system for the two days we were there so constant siren sounds, unable to nap, engineers came in our room while we were napping to test alarm. No bathtub. At almost $300 a night it was not what we were expecting. Did not look like the pictures.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by JeromeS, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for leaving us some feedback about your recent visit. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed our beautiful hotel entrance and lobby, but I apologize for our appearance otherwise, we were in the process of washing all the windows in the building you stayed in and the screens had been temporary removed. I will be sharing your review with our Housekeeping department, so they make the proper adjustments to not disturb our guests in the future. We appreciate you pointing out the areas with dead grass. This areas are in a lot of shade and have not grown back since the end of winter, but be assured we have been reseeding and maintaining these areas in need of it. We are very sorry for the inconvenience with our fire alarm tests. The hotel has been making upgrades to our Fire Life Safety system to better protect our guests and unfortunately the Fire Marshall required an audible test of every device on the property. We appreciate you staying with us and know that if you were to return, we will show you a beautiful, care-free stay here at the Inn at Rancho Santa Fe. Jerome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic ranch vibe.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pretty grounds and historic buildings. The restaurant, Lobby and bar are all well done. Remodeled rooms are nice but can vary greatly. Recommend the higher class rooms. The staff is all very nice and the manager is very good at addressing any issues. This is not a W so go to appreciate the uniqueness and support the local vibe. Restaurant is good as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Beautiful place...my complaint was with the front desk staff. She was supposed to make us a dinner reservation in restaurant but there wasn't one. Fortunately we got in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Great experience. Would be nice if the comforter wasn't so compressed. Other than that it was perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Mix barged me, didn't correct room service chug, way too boring
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by JeromeS, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking a moment to review. I regret that our service fell below our high standards and assure you that this is not the norm for our hotel. Upon your return, we would be happy to share all of the events on property and locally, as well places to visit to ensure you have a fun filled vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for an improved experience. Kind regards Jerome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Nice escape

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Quiet area
Location: Small village nearby, but not much to do there. The beach, restaurants and shopping is about 6 miles down the road.
We arrived late, after the kitchen was closed, but staff went out of their way to get us some food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business mtg in town

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Luxurious, clean, spacious room, delicious food - will definitely return
5 out of 5
by Taylor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels