Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Almost Perfection

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Lovely and quaint hotel. Everything was ok except the restaurant. Suggest going off property or you will have a very long wait for the simplest of dishes. Please note: they were operating with only a partial kitchen but it was slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
AMAZING! Beautiful getaway. Everything about this place is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Quiet, secluded, old school inn

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Some rooms need renovation, hotel needs to change restaurant menu!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice, old school hotel but needs upgrading

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Tucked away, quiet, peaceful. beautiful views, comfortable beds, old school charm, lovely grounds, private, nice lounge area, library, sitting areas.
Cons: Quicker response from housekeeping, replace broken clocks & refrigerators. Add some new menu items. More pool staff for drinks/food. None there!
Location: Nice area to drive around winding roads, pretty scenery. 5 miles from the ocean, where there are tons of restaurants, shops, sightseeing.
I've stayed here several times. It's a very old school hotel. It's now owned by Starwood, and they've made a few upgrades. The restaurant is good "bar food", not haute cuisine. I would never pay $38 for 3 scallops for an entree again! The burgers are very good, as is the charcuterie platter. Corkage fee is $25 if you choose to bring your own wine. There are very few restaurants closeby, so if you want to just relax and not have to drive, you only have the hotel, a couple of other places in the town. Things shut down early in Rancho Santa Fe. The air conditioners are noisy. The first room they put me in had a non-working refrigerator, smelled of bleach, and the other room they put me in smelled of fireplace smoke, so you had to run the air and keep the windows open at the same time! The clock didn't work, same as my last visit. I called ahead to ask for extra towels, soaps, to be put in room, so as not to have housekeeping during my stay. They didn't. I had to call 2 times. They only had one robe and no slippers in the room. There are always 2 robes, 2 slippers. I was concerned I'd be charged for a missing bathrobe. The patio had tons of spider webs, the decks are very old wood, need refinishing. Should clean patios better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin tx

very well done older property

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: room service menu
Location: it is ideally located near downtown Rancho Santa Fe
The setting for this hotel is ideal and for its age it is very well cared for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jacksonville

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We loved it! Great hotel, amazing people. We'll be back for sure!
5 out of 5
by Jean

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chatsworth, CA

Indulge me ourself.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Beautiful grounds, a feeling of luxury. Basically everything
Cons: nothing.
Location: Close to several wineries, it is also a lovely place for a wedding.
We made a quick trip to Rancho Santa Fe to enjoy a lovely evening of gourmet food, wine and theater at the lovely Chateau Morilak presented by Theater-Taste I was just looking for a place nearby and I found a gem. We had a lovely quiet cottage with fiest class appointments right down to a fireplace and a clawfoot tub. The young man who helped us check in when we first arrived was really outstanding. Such a pleasant personality and so helpful we felt right at home immediately. We really can't wait to make another visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Beautiful historic hotel in the heart of RSF.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
The common areas are very cool and the history of the property gives it a lot of character. It's within walking distance to few coffee shops and restaurants. Definitely not a cookie cutter experience. Staff were great.