Ratings based on 378 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely beautiful property !

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Love having the deck outside and it being so peaceful !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Beautiful location. Love the set up how each room was like it's own condo. Only downfall is the Pool area is small
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Relaxing hotel with casita type rooms.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Rustic charm but modernized. Great for couples get away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Cute and quaint neighborhood

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We stayed at this hotel for only one night for 4th of July. We were excited as the neighborhood is very cute and old fashioned. The hotel grounds is very pretty but the rooms need an upgrade. Our room smelled really bad, one of the chairs had a broken arm and to put the cherry on top we were victims of theft that night. We were assigned a parking space right in front of our room but at around 3 am robbers stole 2 ipads, credit cards, id and car registration from our car. Very disappointed experience. By the way the workers are not familiar with the expedia VIP perks. Not coming back to that hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by JeromeS, Hotel Management
Dear Mi, Thank you for your recent visit. I am very sorry to read you found your accommodation not up to par and this has been addressed with our housekeeping department. It is unfortunate that someone would take advantage of a guest relaxing on vacation which is a very unusual event in the town of Rancho Santa Fe. We ask that all guest make sure their cars are locked at night. Again, our apologies. Jerome Strack | General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

beautiful setting

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Beautiful grounds. Rooms are rustic but clean and modern. Very quiet and private Friendly attentive staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Need a soft lounge chair and more parking for easy access to the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The old inn feel. Very comfortable beds, rooms, beautiful grounds.
Cons: The new chef at the restaurant charges $32 for a 3 scallop "entree"! You would starve if that's all you had to eat. I could see as an appetizer only.
Location: Close to Solana Beach, Del Mar racetrack, lots of lovely coastline with beautiful views, good restaurants.
I love the Inn at Rancho Santa Fe. Very old school, horsey-set themed inn from the late '20s. Unfortunately, Starwood bought them recently and they are already planning a lot of changes, so I don't think it will stay as nice and warm as it was for so many years.
4 out of 5
by lisa

Enjoyable stay in a unique area.

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at the Inn at Rancho Santa Fe while exploring the area for a possible relocation. The Inn is charming, but is an older boutique property. Could definitely use a facelift. I would also recommend a comfort suggestion with a couple of comfortable chairs at the end of the bed. The only place to relax in the room is in bed!
4 out of 5
by Robert

Front desk folks very pleasant.

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Good value for rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Doesn't look like pictures.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Main part of hotel is beautiful when first arrive but then they gave us a crappy room in the side where the grass was all dead and there were window screens laying around outside like a cheap motel 6 vibe. The room smelt like chlorine chemicals and took us hours to air it out. They were also testing their alarm system for the two days we were there so constant siren sounds, unable to nap, engineers came in our room while we were napping to test alarm. No bathtub. At almost $300 a night it was not what we were expecting. Did not look like the pictures.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by JeromeS, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for leaving us some feedback about your recent visit. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed our beautiful hotel entrance and lobby, but I apologize for our appearance otherwise, we were in the process of washing all the windows in the building you stayed in and the screens had been temporary removed. I will be sharing your review with our Housekeeping department, so they make the proper adjustments to not disturb our guests in the future. We appreciate you pointing out the areas with dead grass. This areas are in a lot of shade and have not grown back since the end of winter, but be assured we have been reseeding and maintaining these areas in need of it. We are very sorry for the inconvenience with our fire alarm tests. The hotel has been making upgrades to our Fire Life Safety system to better protect our guests and unfortunately the Fire Marshall required an audible test of every device on the property. We appreciate you staying with us and know that if you were to return, we will show you a beautiful, care-free stay here at the Inn at Rancho Santa Fe. Jerome