Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Samuel

Great service

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Great service all around but cant get wifi in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Comfortable room, good service, great setting

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Very personal treatment from staff, killer lagoon views and thoughtful design of deck areas for ambiance even if it was more built-up than "natural".
Cons: Add open recreational space (i.e., buy more land and spread out)
Location: Diving tours, lagoon tours, snorkeling, pearl farm tour, dolphin watching tour.
Rangiroa has a dozen or so small pensions that are not found on internet sites, and only two international class hotels. We chose Le Maitai based on price and were not disappointed. We got a clean, comfortable and spacious bungalow with air conditioning and pleasant ambiance where we slept well at night. We enjoyed interacting with warm and friendly hotel staff who took good care of arranging our special tours. The restaurant staff always knew our room number without asking. Food was good, authentic, and expensive as everywhere in Tahiti. We spent casual hours every day at the beautiful lagoon-facing indoor/outdoor dining area, bar, and lounge area that's often visited by locals and makes fabulous photos. The dock over the water gives good fish-viewing from above as well as access to snorkeling among said fish right in front of the dock. They provided good snorkel gear. All that being said, the entire complex is squeezed into a rather small parcel of land, so the atmosphere was more that of a built environment than a shack on the beach. No lawn area. The space between bungalows is pretty narrow so you get to know your neighbors. The "beach" is rocks not sand, but if you're swimming off the dock that doesn't matter. The deck is meant for lounging not sunbathing. It's near the airport, but the off-site shopping and restaurant options are mostly 2-3 miles away. They have bicycles to use and there are taxi options. Rangi is flat and bicycles are popular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southern CA

Beautiful hotel, excellent service!

Posted May 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Grounds, location, services, and staff could not be beat! Very good value too!
Cons: Not really...
Location: We snorkled from hotel, went diving, kayaking, swimming, biking, and sight seeing...oh and we just relaxed too!
My husband and I spent a wonderful week of R&R and diving. Hotel MaiTai was lovely, the staff was very helpful, and it was just so amazingly beautiful! Our room was awesome, and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by luke

Nice stay on remote island

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
Spent a night here before joining a yacht charter . The resort is simple, but nice. Room overlooked the lagoon and the resort was intimate and well maintained. We hadn't dinner at the restaurant, which was ok - but many of the menu items were not available, perhaps because we arrived just after the busy new year period. Overall a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice option in Rangiroa

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Nice bungalows, with spacious bathroom and living space. The best place if you want the convenience and service of a hotel (restaurant on site, daily cleaning of room, etc) without the exorbitant prices of the Kia Ora. There isn't really a beach for sitting on. The snorkelling is decent off the pier or the beach. They are good to arrange excursions if you like.
3 out of 5
by lisa from california

Ok hotel

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
We loved the island. The service at the hotel was mixed. There were staff that were lovely and helpful, and there was staff that seemed annoyed that we were asking to order dinner at the restaurant or rent bikes. The room service did little more than make the bed, never changed the sheets or the towels. Overall, not a bad place to stay.
5 out of 5
by Donna from Santa Monica

Just what we wanted

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Quiet, clean bungalows,on site restaurant excellent food the three times we ate there (prices standard for a Tahiti hotel-a bit pricey) Pool area with beautiful view of lagoon and their pier. Pool not big enough for laps, but there is a beautiful lagoon out front with warm clear water and that's what we came for. Just outside and 50 yards from the hotel, a store (with no sign) had basic supplies, but most importantly fresh baked baguettes delivered there at 5:30am every morning. There were also several snack cafe's walking distance for lunch and dinner. Restaurant Vaimao across the street serves good pizza for dinner, besides other dishes. Good service. Internet card must be purchased, $5 for 1 hour etc. (sign off to save minutes) was sufficient for me to check my emails. Airport just down the street about 15-20 minute walk and expect a charge to get a ride to and from there- about $38 for two people. For snorkeling, out front of the hotel under their pier there is plenty of reef fish to see, scattered coral heads otherwise coral trying to make a comeback, black tip reef sharks like to swim around here also along with other reef fish. The "aquarium" for snorkeling by the mouth of Tiputa pass is excellent for variety of fish and some black tip reef sharks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Fantastic!!! this is how much. Ant to write about the hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very good option

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent Hotel, good food and service. The AC in the room could work a bit better (bungalow 03). Bikes could be better maintained. Other than that a very nice stay.
4 out of 5
by Nike from Marietta, GA

Dive Trip at Rangiroa

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels
The MaiTai turned out to be an excellent choice for accommodations. The service was terrific with very helpful and friendly employees always willing to help. The resort is small but very clean and well appointed for a three star rating. . It only rates that low because the place had no entertainment events or luxury activities such as on-site massages but no one staying there really cared much for that anyway. The food was good and there was a small market store just outside the gate for convenience items and food if you chose to save on costs. The front desk arrange pick ups to all locations if you chose not to walk or bike. THe bungalows all had both fans and air conditioning were cleaned daily. Grounds were well kept. I couldn't be better pleased with the staff there. Definitely would stay there again.Best bang for buck on the atoll,