Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tamworth

Excellent Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Our room was spacious and light with a comfortable bed and large bathroom .The swimming pool was fantastic and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: We would have liked two chairs in our room,there were none.The 8 seat hotel bus had no queuing system, people often pushed in, which was annoying.
Location: Rapallo has a good mix of shops and restaurants and an attractive harbour.It is easy to explore the cinque terre by boat trip or by train from here.
We really enjoyed our holiday in Rapallo, beautiful scenery,lovely weather and we managed to go to all of the Cinque terre in a day by train.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by reservation, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay in our Hotel. We remain with best regards Raffaella Roverati Reservation Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Ok nothing special

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Cons: Refurbishment
Needs total revamp building work in front of the pool cranes etc and rooms and hotel in general looks tired and needs a refurb
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Reservation Dept., Hotel Management
Kind Guest thank you very much for your review. We take note of your tips, sure that this will help us to improve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with good facilities

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Great pool & views
Cons: wifi system
Good facilities, clean rooms and helpful staff but poolside is a but noisy given the loud mopeds speeding passed and the nearby trainline. The pool bar is pleasant but like the rest of Rapallo, the prices are v high - Euro22 for a club sandwich and Euro 6 for a beer. It's a 10 minute walk to town - a pleasant and safe cut through takes you passed the private beaches and beach huts. The wifi system is really annoying - it drops quite a lot and you need a new code every 24 hours which is a bit overkill. The breakfast was fine- great cheese. The top floor restaurant has amazing views but isn't great for vegetarians - mainly seafood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Raffaella Roverati, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your positive feed back. We remain with best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leicestershire englad

lovely hotel in a super spot

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: lovely large bedroom , great bar area and super pool
Cons: no parking fee
Location: so many things to do , boat trip to portofio a must , also another to the cinq terre region . cable car ride also recommended
just enjoyed 4 nights at the grand hotel bristol , all staff were fabulous and nothing too much trouble . although it isnt actually in rapello , the 10 minute walk into the centre was lovely. the only drawbacks we encountered were no bath only shower in the bathroom and the bedroom definately needs a mirror above the dressing table !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire

Fab Hotel with lovely views.

Posted May 15, 2017
Location: If you have a car its good to go inland up into the surrounding hills. Camogli is well worth a visit, as is the cable car ride in Rapallo,very scenic!
We stayed for 10 days at Hotel Bristol, it was part of a special 60th birthday present. We had a 4th floor sea view room with fantastic views across the bay to Rapallo and Portofino. The Hotel was very comfortable, the staff were attentive without being over fussy and were always available to answer any question. Breakfast was excellent with a good varied assortment of meats, cereals, fruit etc., to choose from. The walk into Rapallo took about 15minutes along the coast and was easy and pleasant. What made this stay at Hotel Bristol especially special for us was that we got engaged there, a very special moment for us both.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel but a little too far from the Town.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Generally the standard was high and no real complaints. However its just as well we did not want to swim as the Pool was going through a rebuild.
Cons: Yes they have another area they use for breakfast and I think its strange that this is not used for more normal budget meals in the evening.
The situation of the Hotel meant that unless you had a car and wanted to fight for a parking space in town in became necessary to take a 15 euro Taxi into town. Whilst this was not the end of the world it became necessary because the only restaurant was a little too up market and expensive for every night eating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to spend a weekend

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
We had a lovely weekend with the very excellent and kind staff, and a great dinner at the top floor restaurant where quality and price goes very well hand in hand.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgraceful Attitude/Zero Bedding Comfort!!!

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
"Worst Bed" in all of 4 week Italy Trip! Springs in mattress left painful checkered imprint on my body. Complained to duty-manager at 5:00am! Showed him (Peter) body marks. Adjoining room bed "No Better!" No Sincere Apology at checkout. Disgraceful for 4 Star Hotel!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel with great sea views in a lovely town

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: The location was good - about a 20-min walk to the centre of Rapallo with its restaurants and shopping. Rapallo was a great base for a holiday here.
The hotel had a real old-fashioned European grandeur about it from the outside but was modern inside. Our room was large, clean and comfortable with a nice view. It was quiet at night, though it was the first room after the lift lobby so there was some faint noise from the lifts going up and down in their shafts from fairly early most mornings. It didn't disturb us unduly as we were becoming wakeful by then anyway. There were robes and slippers, nice products in the bathroom, a safe and a TV but oddly no tea or coffee-making - maybe that's not that unusual in Italy, not sure. The staff at breakfast were very nice, friendly and efficient and always pleasant despite being busy, the staff on reception were helpful but not especially friendly or genuinely welcoming. The breakfast buffet was generous and had great variety of beautiful fresh food from bread and cheese to fruit to eggs to pastries. There was a lovely pool on the terrace where towels and sun loungers were provided, and a spa, as well as parking on site. There was limited food in an expensive bar, or the expensive restaurant on the roof.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but some improvements needed

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
2nd visit to this hotel, found this visit a little disappointing in terms of staff friendliness, breakfast was a little below the standard than last time, staff were not particularly welcoming and you waited a long time before you received a hot drink, pool staff were however very good and more friendly and efficient. Bedrooms were clean and worth the upgrade, albeit the toilet leaked when you flushed...this was reported. I feel the hotel could benefit from either introducing a shuttle bus to and from the hotel Into the town...as many guest were mature and think the climb up from Rappello and then up the steep drive was at times a little hard. Either that or at least have a lift installed at bottom of drive say near the conference that allows you access to the hotel and avoid that last hill climb