Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Great Hotel with Historical Sanctuary on Grounds

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
This Hotel is on the grounds of Santuario di Montallegro, this is an active monastery that has been recognized as a miracle with the presence of Mother Mary. I did not book the hotel for that reason but I did for the outstanding views at the top of the mountain, This place was exceptional in all phases, clean, friendly, historic, with views all around. The breakfast was exceptional and my Host Davide was very friendly and accommodating. I loved the drive up the mountain as there were plenty of switchback turns but it all was very safe. You do not need to drive up as there is access via a rail car that goes down to the local town. I walked around the area after breakfast and would have taken the rail car down had I not needed to go to Pisa that day. The only problem was I stayed in the single and should have gotten the double room but it was clean and comfortable but I am a large person and so I slept well but could not roll around much. 5 STARS all around. There are also 2 other shops at the top, another restaurant and a small shop with drinks and such. I was viewing the inside of the Sanctuary when the Priest began a mass which I attended and enjoyed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel was very nice and friendly staff. Dinner from the terrace was excellent and at a sensible price. Getting to Hotel was not easy but well worth it when you get there. Would return and recommend.
5 out of 5
by Marina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jeff from Seattle

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
This is an amazing place . So very happy we went there. Service superb. Ambiance over the top . Quiet relaxed and immaculate . Loved it . Hope others will try as these owners are really doing a good job .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from willenhall west mids

Fantastic lid den gem

Posted Jul 24, 2016
This is a must for anyone visiting Portofino Location is stunning, staff friendly, spotlessly clean. Bed was a little bit hard but then others may like that!!
5 out of 5
by Leslie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Randal from Rockland

Mountaintop Delight

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
We were two couples on a road trip from Florence to Milan with stops along the way. I booked Montallegro off the web, five months in advance. We were not disappointed. The hotel is a hidden gem high above Rapallo. We could see Portofino and Santa Margharita as well from the patio and our bedroom window. It was a chilly day, but the rooms were comfortably warm. The hotel is a family business and these folks bent over backwards to help us out. Food was fantastic. One of our party had dietary restrictions and they did their very best to provide. I would stay at the hotel again, without question. Right next door is a church with an interior that you would expect to see in Siena or Florence. Spectacular. The hotel is pretty much at the end of a mountain road, but for a first timer, finding the place would be made easier with some signage along the way, and a more prominent sign at the front of the property. When you arrive, leave your luggage in the car. They will come and collect it for you. Other than that perfect. Remarkable scenery amongst the clouds. If you're looking for discos and bar action, this is not your style. But if you want a great and quiet stay in welcoming casual hotel - this is the place.
4 out of 5
by Gabor from Sydney

Great view, quiet location

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
If you want a quiet spot, high above the town it is the place for you. The room was clean and spotless. The service average, inpersonal. Slitly disapponting when unable to pay with Visa card. Cash only.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zorro from West Yorkshire

Nice hotel with beautiful views

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: views, cleanliness, friendliness, food.
Cons: Just small details such as candles on the tables at dinner, flowers, music, seat cushions on the terrace chairs.
Location: There is another restaurant within walking distance, The Albergo, which does lovely homemade food and again has superb views.
The hotel is very high up but the road from the bottom is very accessible unlike some reviews we read before going ourselves. There is a good bus service and also the cable car which has to be experienced to appreciate the views but we had a hire car and had no problems driving up and down. The hotel staff do not really speak any english but we still managed to communicate and they couldn't do enough for us. We would recommend this hotel as a lovely experience in a lovely place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful, beautiful location

Posted Oct 12, 2012
Superb location. Once the clouds had lifted the views stunning Lack of sign posts so difficult to find. Great for walking. Regular funicular to Rapallo and ferries to Portafino.