Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Kai Uwe

Perfect place for a getaway in the woods

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Approaching the property, the last mile will lead you to a windy unpaved driveway, just follow the 'Blue Coyote' signs and you'll get to the B&B safely. The owners, a Swiss couple, was very welcoming and friendly. My room was rather small, but I took advantage of plenty of cosy common space and felt instantly at home. There was no cellular coverage, but satellite based WiFi available to stay connected. The breakfast was probably the best I ever had at a hotel stay in the U.S. The owners lived in the area for years and provided valuable tips for hiking, cycling, dining and shopping. I had a great time and will definatly return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
The owners were great and very hospitable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Bed and breakfast in the Black Hills

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Good location in the Black Hills, very near Hill City and Custer State Park.
Everyone, both hosts and guests, was very friendly. Nice, casual atmosphere. However, if weather had been warmer, the room would have been less comfortable, as there was no air conditioning provided. Breakfast was adequate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
The owners were extremely solicitous and tried to make everything as comfortable as possible. Unfortunately, the pullout sofa bed for our third guest was pretty uncomfortable, but they did the best they could. If you have only two people, you would really enjoy this property, even t bough it is way out in the boonies, it is close to Rushmore and Crazy Horse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Beautiful setting. Our hosts/owners we're gracious

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Enjoyed our experience. The breakfasts were delicious with a great variety. Kristine & Hans were most helpful & knowledgable about the Black Hills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near Twin Cities MN

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: I loved the blend of Black Hills beauty and European grace. The house design is unusual and really charming, the food great~!
Location: Spearfish canyon - amazing (similar to parts of Colorado). Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park and bison...badlands park.
We were floored by the beauty of the accommodations. There are suites inside this artistic lodge that are decorated with choice antiques from around the world, some with private patio gardens and hot tubs. We were delighted by the attention to detail, whether in decor or breakfast. The European style breakfast is a fun and gracious way to make acquaintance with host and other guests (our experience was outstanding). A sample breakfast: fresh raspberries and other fruits, topped with yoghurt and crunchy cereal; great breads with excellent blackberry or apricot jellies; thinly sliced choice deli meats and well chosen cheeses; a crustless quiche; freshly baked pear and custard crumb tart; very good coffee and juice. We were stuffed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WOW I can't say enough great things about this B&B

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
we checked in and the owner gave us a tour of her B&B. There was everything you could possibly imagine or want and she was the nicest lady ever! My favorite stay of our entire vacation and if I get the opportunity to go back you can be assured we will stay here again. Our room was so cooly decorated on a jungle motif. I can't say enough great things about this B&B. It's the definition of the word!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
B&B in lovely location if you don't mind being off the beaten track a bit. Very nice folks running it. Some rooms deluxe others basic.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place. Room smsll

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Liked the inn. Great scenery food was great. Our complaint would be the room was way too small. Had a double and single bed and they should have left out the single bed. There was only two of us and it wss totally cramped. No chair to even sit down on in the room to have a conversation. Also shower was tiny. Hard to bend over to wash feet without wacking your head on the wall. We were in room 2. I don't think the other rooms were this small. I would recommend the inn but not room 2.