Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Beautiful setting. Our hosts/owners we're gracious

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Enjoyed our experience. The breakfasts were delicious with a great variety. Kristine & Hans were most helpful & knowledgable about the Black Hills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near Twin Cities MN

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: I loved the blend of Black Hills beauty and European grace. The house design is unusual and really charming, the food great~!
Location: Spearfish canyon - amazing (similar to parts of Colorado). Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park and bison...badlands park.
We were floored by the beauty of the accommodations. There are suites inside this artistic lodge that are decorated with choice antiques from around the world, some with private patio gardens and hot tubs. We were delighted by the attention to detail, whether in decor or breakfast. The European style breakfast is a fun and gracious way to make acquaintance with host and other guests (our experience was outstanding). A sample breakfast: fresh raspberries and other fruits, topped with yoghurt and crunchy cereal; great breads with excellent blackberry or apricot jellies; thinly sliced choice deli meats and well chosen cheeses; a crustless quiche; freshly baked pear and custard crumb tart; very good coffee and juice. We were stuffed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
B&B in lovely location if you don't mind being off the beaten track a bit. Very nice folks running it. Some rooms deluxe others basic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place. Room smsll

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Liked the inn. Great scenery food was great. Our complaint would be the room was way too small. Had a double and single bed and they should have left out the single bed. There was only two of us and it wss totally cramped. No chair to even sit down on in the room to have a conversation. Also shower was tiny. Hard to bend over to wash feet without wacking your head on the wall. We were in room 2. I don't think the other rooms were this small. I would recommend the inn but not room 2.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

just like home

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: maybe a window AC unit :)
Location: great location for getting to Mt Rushmore.. great camaraderie with other local businesses..
super inviting, literally the only thing that I would change is adding some AC.. it was not sweltering heat but it was hard to get comfortable, even with my fan on, and window open. I woke up at 1:45 AM, worked an 8 hour day, drove 5 1/2 hours to stay at the Coyote Blues, my room was cute, just what I needed. I was exhausted, she recommended a nearby restaurant for dinner and it was awesome. I head back to the Coyote Blues for the night, and I have to open my window, its so hot.. and then the kids were playing right out side my window, being kids at 8-9PM. Now if I could have had my window closed it would have been less of an issue.. or if I hadnt been up since 1:45 AM, less of an issue.. all in all, super comfortable, excellent breakfast, highly recommended, in fact I did recommend to a friend for her trip, but there was no rooms available...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Swiss B&B near Rushmore

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Has all the B&B amenities
Cons: Could use a little maintenance. Room was very small.
Location: Near Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, and other Black Hills attractions - wonderful area.
This is a wonderful Swiss mountain retreat hosted by a charming Swiss couple. This is European style lodging and not American style and is rustic, with a family feel. Our room was quite small without room AC. Understand that going in, and you'll find Coyote wonderfully charming and in a beautiful setting. It is off the highway and perfectly quiet. We were there on unseasonably hot 100+ deg days, but in the somewhat cooler nights, with the window open and the ceiling fan going, we had two very comfortable nights of good sleep, with nothing but the sounds of nature. Beautiful on the deck in the evening. The breakfasts were outstanding, on the rear deck with a tremendous mountain meadow view. International array of guests, all who were extolling the virtues of this great little B&B. Highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

The Ideal Location

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: The host and hostess were warm and friendly, as well as helpful. The arrangement of rooms was convenient.
Cons: Not sure they could do better than they are, which is superb.
Location: Convenient to Mt. Rushmore, Keystone, Hill City, state parks, Badlands, Deadwood, and everything in the Black Hills.
Coyote Blues is a lovely BNB located off Hwy 385 in the Black Hills. Its central location makes it an ideal base of travel to the many attractions in the area. It is also quiet and pleasant, off the highway far enough to be peaceful but not so far to be remote. We saw deer in the area each day. Parking was easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Our navigator sent us the wrong way some distance from the B&B which caused us to arrive much later than expected. The host was very accommodating in letting us check in late. The setting was lovely. I wish we had arrived sooner to have more time to spend there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem in the hills

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Location and views
Location: Located right in the middle of the hills. A perfect place to stay if you're spending a few days exploring the many area attractions.
We absolutely loved our stay at Coyote Blues Village. The scenery is beautiful, the home cozy and breakfast was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Super clean. Friendly. Very homey. Comfortable. Relaxed atmosphere. Amazing views.