Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Swiss B&B near Rushmore

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Has all the B&B amenities
Cons: Could use a little maintenance. Room was very small.
Location: Near Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, and other Black Hills attractions - wonderful area.
This is a wonderful Swiss mountain retreat hosted by a charming Swiss couple. This is European style lodging and not American style and is rustic, with a family feel. Our room was quite small without room AC. Understand that going in, and you'll find Coyote wonderfully charming and in a beautiful setting. It is off the highway and perfectly quiet. We were there on unseasonably hot 100+ deg days, but in the somewhat cooler nights, with the window open and the ceiling fan going, we had two very comfortable nights of good sleep, with nothing but the sounds of nature. Beautiful on the deck in the evening. The breakfasts were outstanding, on the rear deck with a tremendous mountain meadow view. International array of guests, all who were extolling the virtues of this great little B&B. Highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

The Ideal Location

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: The host and hostess were warm and friendly, as well as helpful. The arrangement of rooms was convenient.
Cons: Not sure they could do better than they are, which is superb.
Location: Convenient to Mt. Rushmore, Keystone, Hill City, state parks, Badlands, Deadwood, and everything in the Black Hills.
Coyote Blues is a lovely BNB located off Hwy 385 in the Black Hills. Its central location makes it an ideal base of travel to the many attractions in the area. It is also quiet and pleasant, off the highway far enough to be peaceful but not so far to be remote. We saw deer in the area each day. Parking was easy.
5 out of 5
by John from Denver Co

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful location in the black hills. The owners were friendly and engaging.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Our navigator sent us the wrong way some distance from the B&B which caused us to arrive much later than expected. The host was very accommodating in letting us check in late. The setting was lovely. I wish we had arrived sooner to have more time to spend there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem in the hills

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Location and views
Location: Located right in the middle of the hills. A perfect place to stay if you're spending a few days exploring the many area attractions.
We absolutely loved our stay at Coyote Blues Village. The scenery is beautiful, the home cozy and breakfast was amazing!
5 out of 5
by Minchao

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Super clean. Friendly. Very homey. Comfortable. Relaxed atmosphere. Amazing views.
4 out of 5
by MARYKAY from Columbus

Nature lover

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Hosts were very friendly (from Switzerland) Breakfast was outstanding - European style; lots of food choices. Location is quiet surrounded by nature. Our room was small but there are different choices.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I think I will still to main-stream hotels

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Its a dirt uphill road to get to the B&B; there was a time restrictions unless we had made prior arrangements; even though we had advised the owner we would be late, we got lost in the remote and dark area where the B&B i located and the GPS took us to the neighbor's home which the owner of the B&B was not very happy and her annoyance was clear in her initial interaction with us. I picked a B&B because of the charm and the whimsical atmosphere but it was really a place to sleep. The breakfast was very nice and at the end of the day, I appreciated the owner's efforts to make our stay enjoyable but I think it is important to know that the area is remote, it is dark at night, there is a dirt road.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

A Wonderful Place

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Location: Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial, Badlands, many parks, spectacular scenery.
Secluded in the woods of the Black Hills, this B & B was outstanding. Clean, quiet, and friendly. It runs like a swiss watch, which is appropriate, since the proprietor, Christine, is originally from Switzerland. She lays out the best breakfast you will ever eat. I think it was 5 star quality.