Ratings based on 1,939 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnpeg, Mb

Liked the location of hotel.

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: hotel was clean and staff were very friendly. nice that we were able to park the car for free and walk up and down the downtown part of Deadwood.
Cons: single faucet for bathroom sink
Location: excellent location, close to everything we wanted to see and do.
We had a great time in Deadwood. It was fun to watch the re-inactment of Wild Bill being shot. We enjoyed the Main Street shootouts and especially enjoyed the Trial of Jack McCall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Great location for local attractions. Upscale furnishings.Comfortable. Did not replace used items glasses,towels etc. in 4 days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017
The rooms were clean and the staff was nice. .......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, New Mexico

Nice hotel, great location.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Hotel staff were friendly, helpful, and courteous. Location is great. Rooms really clean and comfortable. Restaurant, bar, and indoor pool with water slide plus pool tables and air hockey was icing on the cake. Thank you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

all things considered it was nice

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Cons: a bathroom door please
Location: very nice location with mt. rushmore, the badlands, and the peter norbeck drive....all worth the trip!
hotel was nice EXCEPT there was no door on the bathroom.....this is why I would not recommend the hotel......no privacy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Comfortable, friendly hotel with very good service

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: It was close to all the tourist sites in Rapid City and even close to the Seventh Day Adventist Church that we belong to.
Cons: Maybe add a continental breakfast.
It was a positive experience at the Grand Gateway Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice Quiet Hotel nicely located

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Nice room but certainly dated. does not detract from your stay ad bed and room are very comfortable. Exit doors close to car park are excellent.My only real negative is that they don't offer free breakfast and the next door franchise gets very busy. So busy we coukd not use it. This needs to be sorted as it is most inconvenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Nice place for a few day's stay

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Room comfortability, nice bed, great location for why we travelled there, got a better rate at check-in than originally offered by Expedia.
Location: Family oriented attractions, mall close by, short drive to Mt Rushmore, lots of local restaurants.
Very comfortable room and bed. Nice hotel amenities. Close to family attractions and shopping. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington state

Quite and comfortable

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Very comfortable room/bed. The hotel is located with easy access to roads going to different sites. It is quiet and has a great pool and game area. Parking is an issue though as it is limited.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Convenience

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Close to many attractions and eateries.
Cons: Offer complimentary breakfast.
Location: See review.
Hotel is close to a lot of eateries, shopping, and attractions. Unlike most places of its genre, it doesn't offer free breakfasts. Room decor is outdated but comfortable. Staff is friendly and accommodating. 24 hour Walmart across the street. About 30 minutes from Mt Rushmore and Deadwood. Sturgis is close by as well. Not a bad place to stay for the price.