Ratings based on 406 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Great value, very clean!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Free breakfast, very clean rooms and facilities. Very kid friendly. Sofa pullout bed was very comfortable for them. Bathroom was very roomy.
Cons: The exercise room could be cleaner. There was dried sweat all over the equipment.
Location: Great location, near restaurants, gas stations, and the shopping mall. Took day trips out to surrounding areas and highway access was very close.
Would have given 5 stars if housekeeping didn't skip cleaning our room for 2 days in a row. Otherwise, everything was excellent. Noise level was very low during week of July 4th when they were fully booked. We stayed on the 2nd floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Grandstay is easy to get to, centrally located for the black hills.
4 out of 5
by Robert

Convenient & Clean Hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Have stayed at this hotel before. It is great having a separate bedroom and a kitchen, it makes it very convenient. The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. The breakfast is rather average for a hotel that size. There are a few restaurants in walking distance. The hotel falls a little short on quality and service that some of the bigger hotels offer as standard. An eye for the smaller details we help this hotel come up to par with others.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Gavin, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review of our property. We take great pride in making sure each and every guest has a grand experience with us. We are pleased that you returned to stay with us while back in the Rapid City area. Once again thank you for the review and for choosing GrandStay. We look forward to your next arrival. Thank You Sincerely, Gavin Fawbush General Manager
5 out of 5
by Connie from Tucson

time off for me and my love

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
wonderful
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Gavin, Hotel Management
Thank you for the outstanding review on our property. We hope you and your love enjoyed your vacation together, and thank you for choosing GrandStay! Thank You Sincerely, Gavin Fawbush General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield MO

Unexpected (free) upgrade made this a great stay.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Friendlystaff who seem to enjoy working here. An excellent place to stay. I regret not taking a photo of the charming fireplace in the lobby.
Cons: I would have to be picky to make any complaints about this place.
Location: It's close to the highway, as well as many shopping areas and restaurants. About 30 minutes from Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse monuments.
A business trip turned luxurious after an afternoon of running around. A great place to stay. I had to laugh when I pulled a scratchy facial tissue from the box, because it was the only thing that wasn't top notch. A great family/living room area (with TV) sofa bed and kitchen area. Another TV in a sitting area, next to the Jacuzzi, and yet another TV in the private bedroom. I don't recall seeing, or hearing a heating/air unit but the temperature was perfect at all times.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by GrandStay General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for the outstanding review on our property. I am very pleased to hear that you had an outstanding experience with us. Also I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your free upgrade. Thank you again for choosing GrandStay and for your review on our property.
1 out of 5
by Eric

Requesting full refund. Gross.

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
We would like our money refunded. The room was nothing like the pictures. It was gross. There was hair in the bathtub when we arrived. Food crumbs on the furniture. The room itself was falling apart. It was very small and the bed was smaller than our queen bed at home. They would also blow this air freshener in through the venting system which was tough on our allergies we couldn't even stay the whole night and needed to leave. I would never go back to this hotel. We should receive a full refund.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant room.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Pleasant room.
Cons: Staffing -- the poor girl at admitting had been working since early morning, and was very tired.
Location: Beautiful scenery, amongst the best people anywhere!
Very pleasant room. Much has been updated, and the mattress and pillow made for a great night's sleep.
5 out of 5
by Tina M

Spacious suite and large whirlpool tub in room

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Very clean spacious suite with large bathroom and super nice whirlpool tub. The only thing was the bed was uncomfortable/hard. Everything else gets an A plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

LNI

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: The separation of spaces.
Cons: wished the beds were King beds
Location: many shopping and eating places close by
I have never stayed here so I didn't know what to expect. But I did like the Hotel and will be returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Gavin Fawbush, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review on our property. We appreciate you taking the time. We look forward to your next arrival.