Ratings based on 710 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location, decent hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Our experience: cobwebs in hallways, saw trash left for 3 days next to ice machine. 1st night, no shampoo or soap. Nothing seemed really cleaned, just picked up during daily cleanings. Tv was hard to watch because of pixilation problems and something wrong with remote. It's an average hotel with fantastic history and is in a great location. Staff were very friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Room was very nice, modern and clean.
Cons: A chair to sit on to put on shoes etc would have been nice.
Location: Not too bad to find but not informed of anything in the area to do, see or where can eat.
We were given no information on the coupon card in with our room cards so didn't know about the restaurants etc located within the building. Having to walk 2 blocks and up/down from 3rd floor of the parking ramp in the rain both days was absolutely no fun.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mn

Very convenient location

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Great location, beautiful renovated room with a style.
Cons: The friendliness and helpfulness of some front desk staffs can be improved. She coldly offered two beverage coupons as if I caused trouble for her.
Location: Mount Rushmore, crazy horse sculptures are not far while we could get a flavor of down town area.
We arrived at 10 pm and got a room that is close to the elevator, it was a sleepless night. I asked for a different room the next day. The front desk helped us get a different room. It was extra hour packing and unpacking during a family vacation, it cut our trip short. Since I booked it through Expedia, the front desk offered my two beverages
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madrid

Hotel bonito y céntrico pero necesita restaurarse

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: La decoración
Cons: Los colchones, el baño, las ventanas y el aire acondicionado
Location: Muy céntrico
El hotel es muy bonito y está muy céntrico, pero necesita algunas reparaciones básicas, el colchón era horrible, el baño necesita reparaciones, las ventanas no podían abrirse, están clavadas y el aire acondicionado hace un ruido terrible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

A bit of history makes it fun

Posted Aug 18, 2016
It was a one-night stay in Rapid City, and the Alex Johnson made it extra special. Perfect central location, charming architectural details, comfortable spacious room, and a really friendly and helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Beautiful historic hotel in downtown Rapid City

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Centrally located, comfortable
Location: A lot of history happened in and around the black hills. Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Deadwood, Badlands, Little Bighorn, Etc.
The room was very nice and the beds were comfortable. We booked the presidential suite which Expedia lists as a three bedroom suite with a sofa bed, but is in fact a two bedroom suite with no pull out bed (two beds total). The room was very nice with a full kitchen, and dining area. The staff was very friendly and responded immediately to any requests. Overall a very nice experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading, PA

nice hotel in a quaint town!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The rooftop bar
We were only staying in the hotel one night, but it is a beautiful hotel with a rooftop bar. The view is beautiful, especially if you can catch a storm off in the distance. The shops and restaurants in walking distance are great. Highly recommend it if you are passing through Rapid City!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to highway.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
We were returning from Sturgis. High winds for about the last hour of the ride and this hotel was an excellent place to end the day's ride and unwind. Disappointed that the spa was not working. We were really hoping for a nice bit of relaxation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Clean rooms, with a wonderful staff. Close to everything. Rooftop bar is quite and a beautiful view of the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from green bay wi

good downtown location

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: needs a quality dining room for this expensive of a hotel, rooms are very small, out dated noisy air conditioning small bathrooms
Location: shopping dining
enjoyed near by dining and shopping and quaint old decor in the lobby