Ratings based on 757 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Nice downtown hotel.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Overall a nice place to stay. The rooms are nice. Hotel is located downtown with a lot of stuff to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williston, ND

It's a very nice hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: I like the fact that even though it's one of the older hotels, it';s still kept up to date.
Cons: If I could change anything, I would change the pillows. They're a bit small and not so comfortable. Other than that, I would not change a thing.
Location: I like that it's only a few minutes away from any store and only about 25-30 minutes away from Mount Rushmore.
Was very easy to find. The gentlemen at the door were very nice. The lady at the desk wasn't very helpful and didn't care too much for her attitude. Was simply told that the parking lot was on the top floor. After circling the block and not being able to the entrance. Finally the door men pointed out that the parking lot was on another block. But overall, I had a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hot Springs, SD

Posted Feb 4, 2017
The Hotel Alex Johnson is a nice hotel with a lot of history. The room we stayed in was remodeled in a modern style, very nice and clean. However, my husband and I ate at a restaurant in Rapid City that evening and both got food poisoning. After a terrible night, I went downstairs to the front desk and asked if they had a little store or vending machine where we could buy medicine to calm the stomach. The gal at the desk said that they had medicines at the little store (The Mercantile) right off of the lobby, but it was closed on Sundays. It happened to be Sunday so we were out of luck. I was surprised that it was closed on Sundays since weekends are a busy time for hotels. Other than that we would recommend a stay at the hotel.
1 out of 5
by Jason

Stay Somewhere Else!

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Wanted a quiet night with my wife to celebrate my birthday. Reserved a room with a whirlpool tub that we were very much looking forward to. Was informed upon arrival that this hotel had zero rooms with whirlpool tubs. Hotel would not refund or make things right. We were stuck with a dreary, tubless room that we paid way too much for. If we would have known we could not get the tub, we would have stayed somewhere else. The room wasn't anything spectacular. Especially not for the price we paid. The lobby was elegant and beautiful, but the atmosphere was rude and snobby. My wife got punched in the face by one of their usual bar patrons while she was simply waiting for me to pick her up with the car. Security came out and was very rude to her. Will not stay here again and do not recommend.
4 out of 5
by ryan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

A gem in the Upper Midwest

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Location is great - clean - very comfortable. Starbucks attached, couple restaurant choices in the hotel - several nearby.Will definitely stay again!
Cons: If on business, check if your room has a desk (mine didn't). Parking is a couple (shorter) blocks away if you don't valet.
Location: Nice if you want to be right downtown, but may be a drive to some of the more notable RC sites.
On a recent road trip from Denver CO, to Fargo ND, I determined that I'd have one overnight in Rapid City. I booked the hotel because of price and what I determined could be value for a price I was willing to pay. I knew it was a historic hotel, recently renovated. I also know some of the realities I've run into when those two descriptions are combined. This is a great place - all around. You have the feel of a majestic hotel on the exterior and in the lobby, but nicely updated and contemporary rooms with a great bed. (I was in a King). I ate at the roof-top restaurant (Vertex Skybar) and my meal was simple, but great - Grilled chicken/mango chutney/rice and asparagus. There are 2 levels to the panoramic "inside" restaurant, and also 2 roof-top outside areas with fire pits and heaters - pretty spectacular. Great little gym too. Was very quiet too - although January may not be the height of tourist season in SD.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful old hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
nice room, trouble getting movie to work in room and decorator pillow on bed looked like some one had spit on the back side of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Was close to where I needed to be. Several great restaurants within walking distance.
4 out of 5
by Alan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so clean.

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
The size of the room was good. The separate living area was advertised by Hotels.com as having a sofa bed, but the hotel informed me that they have none (sofa beds) in the entire hotel. Seems like an occurring problem that Hotels.com should look into fixing as when I called the front desk regarding the issue they said, "Oh, you booked through Hotels.com right?" This was the only issue that I had regarding my booking through Hotels.com. In fairness they did compensate me for the inconvenience, thanks Hotels.com. Regarding the room and the hotel, it was subpar at best. To list the positives: check in was quick, Wifi was great and speedy, bed was comfy, bathroom was spacious. The negatives: thin walls between rooms, thin walls between room and hallways (we heard every person coming off the elevator), very dirty (I mean very dirty) carpet, living space was tight as the couch was positioned 3 feet from the TV that was sitting 5 feet high (ouch my neck), furniture is definitely too large for the space as a dresser/night stand was overlapping the bed headboard. So at best I got somewhat of a good night's sleep. My two boys didn't enjoy it as much as they had to sleep on the floor. Paid $140 for dirty carpet and noisy halls. It's a good thing they at least had extra comforters and blankets to at least cover those 'well traveled' carpets.