Ratings based on 752 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williston, ND

It's a very nice hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: I like the fact that even though it's one of the older hotels, it';s still kept up to date.
Cons: If I could change anything, I would change the pillows. They're a bit small and not so comfortable. Other than that, I would not change a thing.
Location: I like that it's only a few minutes away from any store and only about 25-30 minutes away from Mount Rushmore.
Was very easy to find. The gentlemen at the door were very nice. The lady at the desk wasn't very helpful and didn't care too much for her attitude. Was simply told that the parking lot was on the top floor. After circling the block and not being able to the entrance. Finally the door men pointed out that the parking lot was on another block. But overall, I had a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hot Springs, SD

Posted Feb 4, 2017
The Hotel Alex Johnson is a nice hotel with a lot of history. The room we stayed in was remodeled in a modern style, very nice and clean. However, my husband and I ate at a restaurant in Rapid City that evening and both got food poisoning. After a terrible night, I went downstairs to the front desk and asked if they had a little store or vending machine where we could buy medicine to calm the stomach. The gal at the desk said that they had medicines at the little store (The Mercantile) right off of the lobby, but it was closed on Sundays. It happened to be Sunday so we were out of luck. I was surprised that it was closed on Sundays since weekends are a busy time for hotels. Other than that we would recommend a stay at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

A gem in the Upper Midwest

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Location is great - clean - very comfortable. Starbucks attached, couple restaurant choices in the hotel - several nearby.Will definitely stay again!
Cons: If on business, check if your room has a desk (mine didn't). Parking is a couple (shorter) blocks away if you don't valet.
Location: Nice if you want to be right downtown, but may be a drive to some of the more notable RC sites.
On a recent road trip from Denver CO, to Fargo ND, I determined that I'd have one overnight in Rapid City. I booked the hotel because of price and what I determined could be value for a price I was willing to pay. I knew it was a historic hotel, recently renovated. I also know some of the realities I've run into when those two descriptions are combined. This is a great place - all around. You have the feel of a majestic hotel on the exterior and in the lobby, but nicely updated and contemporary rooms with a great bed. (I was in a King). I ate at the roof-top restaurant (Vertex Skybar) and my meal was simple, but great - Grilled chicken/mango chutney/rice and asparagus. There are 2 levels to the panoramic "inside" restaurant, and also 2 roof-top outside areas with fire pits and heaters - pretty spectacular. Great little gym too. Was very quiet too - although January may not be the height of tourist season in SD.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful old hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
nice room, trouble getting movie to work in room and decorator pillow on bed looked like some one had spit on the back side of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Was close to where I needed to be. Several great restaurants within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy, charming and convenience in downtown Rapid

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Despite a room not yet renovated (all rooms are being completely remodeled, including plumbing, bath fixtures) our stay was ideal. The rooms were cozy and clean with great bedding; the lobby, with its grand fireplace, vaulted ceiling and comfy leather chairs, feels like a snug great room in an historic lodge. Vertex, the rooftop bar, offers elegance and spectacular views of Rapid and beyond; and the downstairs pub, Paddy O'Neill's, is a fun gathering spot.
5 out of 5
by Andrea

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jesse

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
The check in staff were friendly and hospitable. The room was small since it was historic hotel. But, overall it was clean and comfortable to stay in. The heater in my room seem to make a tinking noise every once in a while. Also, the hotel had great views of the city both on the Terrace and in the room. The hotel is conveniently located in the downtown scene. There are renovations going on, but they start after 8 AM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but room was tiny esp the bathroom.

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Construction work was annoying. Hope in few months it gets better.
5 out of 5
by debby

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels