Ratings based on 636 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, quiet
Cons: The one thing that I did not like was the lack of room darkening window options. Each of the three windows had blinds that kept some of the light out,
Location: Rushmore Plaza is within walking distance as are many restaurants.
Our stay ot Hotel Alex Johnson was nothing but pleasurable. The young lady checking us in was very friendly, a young valet met us at the corner, and check out was easy ad pleasant. There is complimentary access to Vertex, the restaurant/bar on the rooftop. The view up there is amazing and the food is very good (though expensive) We stayed in room 703, a junior suite and it did not disappoint. It was spacious and clean. There was a pull down bed in the side wall that we did not know about. The bed was firm, but also soft and the linens were very nice. There were 5 or 6 pillows on the bed with some fuller than others. The bathroom is pretty small compared to today's bathrooms. It felt cramped, but since I don't spend much time in the bathroom, it wouldn't keep me from staying here. The jetted tub looked nice, but unfortunately I did not have time to use it. One huge safety issue when we went to use the stairs instead of the elevator. Walked from the 7th floor to the 4th floor where the stairs just end. Each of the floors in between (4th-6th) are under renovation and were locked. There was no sign on the stairs that they went no where. Had their been a fire, all the guests from our side of the building would have walked down three flights of stairs and the
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very old hotel with lots of charm .

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Very friendly staff nice places to get a beer or coffee very reasonable and convenient. Lots of old charm!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wyoming

Great cultural experience, not so great "hotel"

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Always wanted to experience the HAJ... Stayed one night and went from thrilled at the beginning to claustrophobic by the next morning. Perfect for couples, not so great for families in the two-bed rooms. Stay for the experience, not comfort, and you'll love it! Glad we stayed, but one night was enough. May spring for the suite another time, though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, downtown, historic hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Great room. Wonderful rooftop bar! Staff was nice. Great location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by lisa from Los Angeles

Fallen beauty, but you can't beat the location

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice bellmen. This hotel is in dire need of upgrades, or at least deep cleaning--there are unappealing stains on the chairs, the rugs, trash in the hallways, etc....and it also very much needs training for the very nice but not very great housekeeping staff--who barely cleaned the room. I also am uncomfortable in a hotel where when someone coughs in the next room, I can hear it. (And this was a hacking smoker's cough, very distressing.) While it's clear there's restoration going on, it would have been nice to have been warned in advance of the construction that began at 7am. The desk clerk was surprised when I told her I could hear it. Of course there's immense charm in the history and the location, and it's the best game in town, so there's not much incentive to improve. However, I hope they will.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Shopping in South Dakota

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Gave me a chance to walk around your town, with no need for my car. Lots to do near the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lori

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
The room we had was great. We were tucked back in a corner. The view was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janis from Silver Spring

Quality old time hotel fully updated

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Quality rehab of old hotel. Excellent service and creature comforts. Highly recommend the experience to see how the upper crust used to live...