Ratings based on 678 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montana

Nice room, great location

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Loved the reataurant the first night, but the last night staff was inattentive &food was cold.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boise

I travel >100,000 year for business so I'm picky

Posted Jul 2, 2016
-tired hotel -nice but relatively unhelpful staff -food was not great but edible -has a Starbucks in the lobby thank God -great location -large rooms with appropriate furniture -internet is fast and easy
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice Hotel, Can't Judge by Look from Outside.

Posted Jun 26, 2016
The hotel looked old and maybe run down when just entering the hotel, lobby and lifts. But inside the rooms, it looked like it had done some upgrade. Room interior is nicely spruced up. Bed was comfortable, tv had good variety of programs, bath room plumbing and furnishings were good. Hotel staff was helpful and understanding. Only down is the air con system, although working ok but i believe it's the old system and a bit noisy. Overall excellent experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alright

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: Add parking closer to the hotel so customers don't have to park in the street.
Location: Located downtown, close to night clubs.
Room was clean, but did not have a closet. An extra sink had been installed where the coset had been located and a hanger rack was placed in the walk space between the bath room and the first bed. Beds were comfortable. We were encouraged to park along the street it was closer to the lobby than the hotel parking area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from from Georgia

Classic

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Very classic for the area. The AC in the units weren't the best but the classic feel made up for it. Room had a weird configuration but it did give you two private bedrooms for each queen bed with a pass through bathroom. Very cool and I would stay there again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stanford, CA

downtown

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: central
Cons: bathroom light was connected to the exhaust fan. Meaning that when one turned off the light , the fan continued to function - as in ALL NIGHT. loud!
Location: Great location
I have no time to do this - repeat - I am very busy and this is not at the top of my food chain
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lekkerkerk

Super hotel met mooie ligging

Posted May 10, 2016
In hartje Rapid City staat het indrukwekkende en historische gebouw van Hotel Alex Johnson. Service is top, kamer was net gerenoveerd en uitzicht vanaf het dakterras is geweldig. Ik zeg: doen!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Calif.

Old Historic Hotel Right Downtown

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Roof top Restaurant and bar, overlooking the whole town..
Cons: A little more quite
Location: Right down town close to everything
Close to everything, Starbucks on one end Pub on the other. Walking distance to Great Resturants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: the downtown location, the attached Starbucks and Paddy's Pub.
Cons: The bathrooms just need an overhaul plain and simple.
Location: The location is awesome! All the fun downtown places such as downtown bars and grills, movie theatre and boutiques. are within walking distance.
I understand that an historic hotel is something to taking into consideration but .... Dust bunnies hanging from the popcorn ceiling, the blinds broken so you can't lift them or even turn them, hearing the wind howling thru the heater (maybe because the bottom was broken off) shower walls either gray with grime or mold, shower head so low that anyone over 5"5 has to bend over to wash the upper 30% of their body, no hot water from the sink, had one heck of a time trying to change the channel/ volune on the tv in the room because the remotes or whatever it was didn't work. I do commend the staff for their kindness, the bar at the top is awesome along with the STarbucks and Paddy's Pub but at the end of the day that is not where I sleep or shower. This is my 3rd time there and I am done with the whole nostalgia thing.
4 out of 5
by Tibor from CA

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
It was very cold outside but we loved being able to stay inside to eat a great meal and Starbucks in the morning. Would have liked to have a queen bed but was not available through Hotels.com.