Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy, charming and convenience in downtown Rapid

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Despite a room not yet renovated (all rooms are being completely remodeled, including plumbing, bath fixtures) our stay was ideal. The rooms were cozy and clean with great bedding; the lobby, with its grand fireplace, vaulted ceiling and comfy leather chairs, feels like a snug great room in an historic lodge. Vertex, the rooftop bar, offers elegance and spectacular views of Rapid and beyond; and the downstairs pub, Paddy O'Neill's, is a fun gathering spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Awesome hotel. They are renovating the hotel and our room was once that was updated and it was great!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great stay in Historic District Hotel!

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Location was phenomenal! Historic interior makes for authentic, rare stay as many hotels in this area are "cookie cutter" in fashion. Awesome staff!
Cons: Perhaps no "ding" noise on the elevator? Or reduce it significantly. That will be an issue for people staying near the elevator for sure.
Location: Wine Cellar was an excellent place for dinner as well as Tally's Silver Spoon for breakfast! Great great food!
Very cute and historic hotel. We wanted to stay in a hotel that felt more authentic to South Dakota and this hotel was exactly that. The hotel is also in the historic district of Rapid City- by far the most beautiful area. You can walk around and check out 40+ statues of various presidents around the city. There was also a skating rink very close to us in Main Street Square. Apparently the hotel is under construction- I could not tell at all (we were on the 9th floor). Although we were under the sky bar, we had minimal noise from there (perhaps because it was December and less tourists are around). Our largest noise was the elevator (we stayed right across from it) but thankfully the hotel is not in it's busiest season- it would have been an issue if more people were using it. There is free parking included at the top level of a parking garage which was fine for me, but may be difficult for older or injured/disabled individuals as you have to walk up several flights of stairs to and from your car so you'd have to opt for a valet. Which by the way, the valet staff was very courteous- always opening the doors for us and wishing us a great day. Everyone at the front desk was very helpful (helped us replace a lost key, gave us recommendations for breakfast, etc.) and check-in and check-out was very quick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wanblee SD

Renovation rocks

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: The bedding!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walk all day in downtown
Alex Johnson has kept the charm of a historic institution and the new renovations remind me of the delightful boutique hotels in New York. My stay was fantastic. Great staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel under construction

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Dinning was nice with a balcony
Cons: get the construction completed
Location: it is a central location for Rapid City, but then again there are others to stay in while this one is getting rebuilt.
it was sad to wake up to chipping hammers removing tile in the room directly below us while they where remodeling the 8th floor and we were in the 9th floor, I would wait a few years before I would consider staying there again, I guess there is a reason they didn't say anything about the construction going on when I booked the room, My recommendation would be to look around for another hotel to stay in while the renovate this old building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 18, 2016
I love this hotel! Super cool new rooms and lots of amenities on the property.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location, decent hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Our experience: cobwebs in hallways, saw trash left for 3 days next to ice machine. 1st night, no shampoo or soap. Nothing seemed really cleaned, just picked up during daily cleanings. Tv was hard to watch because of pixilation problems and something wrong with remote. It's an average hotel with fantastic history and is in a great location. Staff were very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Room was very nice, modern and clean.
Cons: A chair to sit on to put on shoes etc would have been nice.
Location: Not too bad to find but not informed of anything in the area to do, see or where can eat.
We were given no information on the coupon card in with our room cards so didn't know about the restaurants etc located within the building. Having to walk 2 blocks and up/down from 3rd floor of the parking ramp in the rain both days was absolutely no fun.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mn

Very convenient location

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Great location, beautiful renovated room with a style.
Cons: The friendliness and helpfulness of some front desk staffs can be improved. She coldly offered two beverage coupons as if I caused trouble for her.
Location: Mount Rushmore, crazy horse sculptures are not far while we could get a flavor of down town area.
We arrived at 10 pm and got a room that is close to the elevator, it was a sleepless night. I asked for a different room the next day. The front desk helped us get a different room. It was extra hour packing and unpacking during a family vacation, it cut our trip short. Since I booked it through Expedia, the front desk offered my two beverages
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

A bit of history makes it fun

Posted Aug 18, 2016
It was a one-night stay in Rapid City, and the Alex Johnson made it extra special. Perfect central location, charming architectural details, comfortable spacious room, and a really friendly and helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again.