Ratings based on 742 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hot Springs, SD

Posted Feb 4, 2017
The Hotel Alex Johnson is a nice hotel with a lot of history. The room we stayed in was remodeled in a modern style, very nice and clean. However, my husband and I ate at a restaurant in Rapid City that evening and both got food poisoning. After a terrible night, I went downstairs to the front desk and asked if they had a little store or vending machine where we could buy medicine to calm the stomach. The gal at the desk said that they had medicines at the little store (The Mercantile) right off of the lobby, but it was closed on Sundays. It happened to be Sunday so we were out of luck. I was surprised that it was closed on Sundays since weekends are a busy time for hotels. Other than that we would recommend a stay at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

A gem in the Upper Midwest

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Location is great - clean - very comfortable. Starbucks attached, couple restaurant choices in the hotel - several nearby.Will definitely stay again!
Cons: If on business, check if your room has a desk (mine didn't). Parking is a couple (shorter) blocks away if you don't valet.
Location: Nice if you want to be right downtown, but may be a drive to some of the more notable RC sites.
On a recent road trip from Denver CO, to Fargo ND, I determined that I'd have one overnight in Rapid City. I booked the hotel because of price and what I determined could be value for a price I was willing to pay. I knew it was a historic hotel, recently renovated. I also know some of the realities I've run into when those two descriptions are combined. This is a great place - all around. You have the feel of a majestic hotel on the exterior and in the lobby, but nicely updated and contemporary rooms with a great bed. (I was in a King). I ate at the roof-top restaurant (Vertex Skybar) and my meal was simple, but great - Grilled chicken/mango chutney/rice and asparagus. There are 2 levels to the panoramic "inside" restaurant, and also 2 roof-top outside areas with fire pits and heaters - pretty spectacular. Great little gym too. Was very quiet too - although January may not be the height of tourist season in SD.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful old hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
nice room, trouble getting movie to work in room and decorator pillow on bed looked like some one had spit on the back side of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Was close to where I needed to be. Several great restaurants within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy, charming and convenience in downtown Rapid

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Despite a room not yet renovated (all rooms are being completely remodeled, including plumbing, bath fixtures) our stay was ideal. The rooms were cozy and clean with great bedding; the lobby, with its grand fireplace, vaulted ceiling and comfy leather chairs, feels like a snug great room in an historic lodge. Vertex, the rooftop bar, offers elegance and spectacular views of Rapid and beyond; and the downstairs pub, Paddy O'Neill's, is a fun gathering spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Awesome hotel. They are renovating the hotel and our room was once that was updated and it was great!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great stay in Historic District Hotel!

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Location was phenomenal! Historic interior makes for authentic, rare stay as many hotels in this area are "cookie cutter" in fashion. Awesome staff!
Cons: Perhaps no "ding" noise on the elevator? Or reduce it significantly. That will be an issue for people staying near the elevator for sure.
Location: Wine Cellar was an excellent place for dinner as well as Tally's Silver Spoon for breakfast! Great great food!
Very cute and historic hotel. We wanted to stay in a hotel that felt more authentic to South Dakota and this hotel was exactly that. The hotel is also in the historic district of Rapid City- by far the most beautiful area. You can walk around and check out 40+ statues of various presidents around the city. There was also a skating rink very close to us in Main Street Square. Apparently the hotel is under construction- I could not tell at all (we were on the 9th floor). Although we were under the sky bar, we had minimal noise from there (perhaps because it was December and less tourists are around). Our largest noise was the elevator (we stayed right across from it) but thankfully the hotel is not in it's busiest season- it would have been an issue if more people were using it. There is free parking included at the top level of a parking garage which was fine for me, but may be difficult for older or injured/disabled individuals as you have to walk up several flights of stairs to and from your car so you'd have to opt for a valet. Which by the way, the valet staff was very courteous- always opening the doors for us and wishing us a great day. Everyone at the front desk was very helpful (helped us replace a lost key, gave us recommendations for breakfast, etc.) and check-in and check-out was very quick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wanblee SD

Renovation rocks

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: The bedding!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walk all day in downtown
Alex Johnson has kept the charm of a historic institution and the new renovations remind me of the delightful boutique hotels in New York. My stay was fantastic. Great staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel under construction

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Dinning was nice with a balcony
Cons: get the construction completed
Location: it is a central location for Rapid City, but then again there are others to stay in while this one is getting rebuilt.
it was sad to wake up to chipping hammers removing tile in the room directly below us while they where remodeling the 8th floor and we were in the 9th floor, I would wait a few years before I would consider staying there again, I guess there is a reason they didn't say anything about the construction going on when I booked the room, My recommendation would be to look around for another hotel to stay in while the renovate this old building.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels