Ratings based on 1,090 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rapid City, S.D.

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: The rate for our suite was good.
Cons: Nothing really stands out about what could be improved.
Location: We like this location because of convenience to the civic center.
The hotel was quiet and breakfast was acceptable. We didn't use the pool or fitness room so do not have a comment on those. We like to be able to walk to the civic center or downtown weather permitting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Clean and considerate

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness and size of room.
Cons: Everything okay.
Location: Easy to get to restaurants, etc.
Staff check with us to be sure we were satisfied after check in. Very comfortable, clean and parking easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yankton, South Dakota

Nice hotel near the Civic Center

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: We had a beautiful large room facing the front of the hotel, so we could see when our family came to pick us up.
We got there on Christmas Day in the middle of a beautiful snowfall. The hotel was nice and cozy and welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second stay in a month

Posted Dec 6, 2015
This was our second stay at the Rapid City's Howard Johnson Hotel in the past two weeks. The room is quiet and comfortable and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We think that the social every night with complimentary wine, beer, soda and popcorn is an added bonus. Also very much appreciated the gluten free options at breakfast. We have stayed here many times and always enjoy the facilities and the staff!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown and the Civic Center.

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Clean and quiet.
Cons: Didn't like the breakfast menu. Biscuits and gravy every morning.
Location: Loved shopping and eating downtown.
Enjoyed our five night stay. Checked in a day early without a problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler, AZ

One night stay

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Check in was organized and quick. Room was huge, clean and comfortable. Free breakfast was okay. But I don't rely on free breakfast. We will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ronald from Centennial, CO

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
The room was clean and the hotel service staff was attentive. All in all a very pleasant experience. The interstate is nearby, but noise was not an issue. There is road construction in the area and for me the location was on the edge of walking distance to the downtown area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Value

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly staff, quiet and clean rooms. Great winter rate value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CO

Good, solid hotel.

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Clean, quiet. Good breakfast. Stayed in suite and enjoyed whirlpool bath. The mattress was hard, so two days was enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Evansville Indiana

Vacation visit

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Visiting the Falls so that was the reason for our visit. Not too far from downtown but not walking distance. Accommodations were good and front desk polite and helpful. Great rate on room.