Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet comfortable room
Nice hotel very clean. Close to downtown. Friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hayward wi

Good overnight stay

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Required down time to meet DOT requirements. This hotel was great. Staff very helpful. Room very clean and comfortable. Would recommend to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Location and quality

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and staff
Cons: I made a minor suggestion regarding a second waste basket near the desk. The only one is at the bathroom sink.
Location: A multitude of things -- the historic downtown area, with statues of presidents on the main corners, Mount Rushmore, the Crazy Horse Memorial, etc.
Aside from the construction currently going on that affects access to the site, once you get there, you'll be very comfortable. My bed was excellent, and the room was very clean. You have phone- and tablet-charging plugs on the desk lamp, so it can hardly be more convenient. The staff at check-in and checkout was friendly and efficient, and the best thing in the morning was the breakfast. Not only were there all kinds of serve-yourself hot food (biscuits and gravy as well as scrambled eggs with bacon bits), but the attendants, Angel and Jenn, keep everything spotless and appear to enjoy greeting the guests, as well. All in all, I wholeheartedly recommend this Howard Johnson's.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from n boise

Good hotel for the money

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Ok location quiet
Very nice no problems with the amenities room clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Location: It's not within walking distance of anything but it's easy to get to from the interstate.
The room was great. The only down fall was the pillows. They were tiny!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brandon,sd

Please see below.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The staff at this hotel was very courteous and professional. I have stayed at this location several times and have always has good experiences here. Please see below regarding why I gave a low score.
Cons: Unfortunately, we found a live bedbug inside the bedspread when we unfolded it. We always search under the sheets and check the mattress corners when we check into a motel before we get into bed and found no bedbug signs. When we informed the desk staff about our find (we brought the bug to the front desk), they were quick to react and offered to move us to a different hotel in town immediately at their expense, which we accepted. If we had not found a bedbug, we would have rated this hotel as a 5.0.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016
It was a short stay for my kids and I, in town for sports. But no complaints, one thing didn't work in the room, which was the heater, but it could have been that I was tired and just couldn't get it turned on. It was no big deal. Kids enjoyed the indoor pool. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Nice quiet place and great hospitality. The breakfast was great. the rooms were clean , beds were comfortable and the halls were clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Easy, short drive to downtown. Clean motel with friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Good place to stay

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Great place to stay for the rate! It's cheap but doesn't feel like cheap hotel. It was clean and the room was large, easy to get to places in town. Only thing was room was right by entrance, so we couldn't open window to let some air in due to smokers/noise. Everything else was good though!