Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good in a Pinch

Posted Aug 24, 2016
This is a no-frills, basic motel. Although newly renovated it has clearly seen a few decades. My only real complaint was that my non-smoking room smelled of stale smoke. For that reason, I wouldn't stay more than one night. The staff is friendly and efficient. 'A' for customer service!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice hotel within 32 minutes of Mount Rushmore

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Mount Rushmore and grocery stores.
Cons: Beds could be queen size.
Location: Great location. 32 minutes from Mount Rushmore. 2 miles from Walmart. 5 fast food/sit down restaurants and 2 gas stations within 3 blocks
Beds are small (doubles) but great quality mattresses.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by magnuson.rapid@gmail.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Too expensive for the quality

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: I kept expecting to see a mouse per previous reviews I read after I booked the room, but did not thank goodness.
Cons: Everything needs remodeled and updated.
Location: We enjoyed the Colonial House resturant next door alot.
We liked the location of our motel but it was very run down and needs serious updating. The internet wouldn't work, which we looked forward to that service. The sink wouldn't drain and the hot & cold faucets were backward. The cost of the room was too much for the quality of the room. I would be hard pressed to ever stay at this place again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
There was no sleep in this hotel. While it was very nice, clean and the staff was wonderful, there is so much Truck traffic, we got absolutely no sleep. Entirely too noisy!!! Sorry,
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by magnuson.rapid@gmail.com, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Traffic is very loud during the Sturgis Rally and I its unfortunate that you were unable to rest. We hope you will stay with us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
The hotel is older and in need of updating but all in all ok to stay at. We stayed two nights. For the second day cups weren't replaced and the coffee maker wasn't cleaned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by magnuson.rapid@gmail.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feed back. We are currently changing the coffee pots in the rooms to a more user friendly and cleaner one cup system. I do apologize for Housekeeping to replacing your cups. This issue has been addressed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel near to foods

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Clean, friendly staff, near foods
Cons: Put a sign in room to show guest how to use shower
*Bring your own hair dryer* Arrived past 12am. Hotel was easy to find and staff was very helpful and friendly. There were about 4 restaurants/fast food places in sight. No reason to dislike this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by magnuson.rapid@gmail.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind review
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel clean facility super staff

Posted Aug 9, 2016
hotel is easy to find lots of parking great staff clean room
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by magnuson.rapid@gmail.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sk

Hôtel vétuste et tres cher pour ce que cest

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Moquette sale, sanitaires écaillés pour 120 dollars la nuit cest excessif Par contre personnel très sympa
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Todd, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I apologize for the inconvenience you endured during your stay. We have addressed these issues and now have staff 24/7 as well as New Management. We are also in the process of renovating the hotel. We hope you will stay with us again if ever in the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Never Coming Back

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Room was very rundown and stinky. Area felt unsafe. Definitely will not come back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by General manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry about your experience with us. We are always striving to get better and all the feedback is needed. We will work on resolving these issues. Thanks again and have a wonderful day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Black Hills

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Clean, comfortable and courteous staff Easy access to all the attractions in the Black Hills
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by General manager, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We do hope to see you again in the future. Have a wonderful day from all of here at the MStar Hotel!