Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

OK for the price

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: It is on a main road from Black Hills, close to eating choices. There is a great restaurant right next door.
We booked late, so not many motels under $100 were available. Comfortable and clean, but bathtub had cigarette stains (from when smoking used to be allowed ?) Separate sink outside of bathroom made it easier for two of us to get ready in the morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fair hotel in convenient location

Posted Jul 21, 2017
No breakfast as advertised the first day. Staff helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Convenience to restaurants, family
Cons: Update furnishings, air and heat
Location: Restaurants, tourist attractions, shopping
The hotel is aging, could have been cleaner, but most importantly the air conditioner was not working and it was very hot
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Towels?

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: It was centrally located and had several restaurants within walking distance. Also the pleasant staff.
Cons: A facelift for the hotel and better management.
Location: We stayed there because it was on the way to Mt. Rushmore. It was an easy drive to that and Deadwood.
When we checked in, we were in back of several people who were asking about when they would receive clean towels. We asked about this to find out that the management of the motel had just quit and half the maids had walked off the job! Left at the desk was an overworked very pleasant young man who was trying to juggle the crisis while checking in new guests. While we did have towels, the room was somewhat worn and the bed was just all right. Overall, the facility was in tired looking.The next day at the breakfast area, a different young man was checking out guests while trying to keep the breakfast area stocked with granola bars, cereal, coffee, etc. He was doing the very best he could. It looked like the remaining maid staff had enlisted their family members to clean and stock the rooms (including towels!).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Not worth the stay.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Cons: Staff, breakfast, air conditioning, most everything.
Air conditioning froze up. Out of date. Breakfast minimal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha

2 nite stay

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Inexpensive
Needed a place for the kids and this fit the bill.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They did not have any clean towels or wash cloths!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Basic motel by the highway. The room wasn't ready at 6 pm, 3 hours after check in. Also, they didn't have any towels or washcloths available, so we couldn't shower. The bed was comfy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia.

Two day stay - all good.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The motel provided me with all I needed. A quiet room (mine was upstairs well away from the road), a sound sleep on a comfy bed, a hot shower, a simple breakfast that set me up for the day & ample off street parking. Location was great - right on Mt Rushmore Rd! In less than 30 min you were at the mountain . I would stay again. The area has so many attractions too. A great place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Jun 27, 2017
We had a really bad experience with one clerk. When we came, we ask when we can have coffee in the morning. We were told that at 6:00. Next morning my husband came at 6:10. Continental breakfast was there. He had a cup of coffee . The clerk ordered my husband out in abrupt manner. He said that breakfast should be at 6:30.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Kansas

Anniversary vacation

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: This hotel is very close to really nice restaurants, gas stations a church that we are members of. It also has a customer laundry facility :)
Cons: The curtain over the window by the front door was just a tad too narrow, a biiger curtain would be helpful but it was not a huge issue.
Location: It is within walking distance of very nice but affordable restaurants. Also, close to an awesome overlook to see beautiful sunsets!!
My husband lives and works in North Dakota and I live in Kansas, where our home is. We have been married for 32 years and decided to meet in the middle and spend a week in the Black Hills of South Dakota. We stayed in a few different places during our trip and spent the last 2 days at this motel. We had only booked for 1 night but we decided to stay another night right away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by MStar Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, Kate! We will look into the curtain issue right away. I'm glad you enjoyed your time in the hills. Happy Anniversary!