Ratings based on 908 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minneapolis

Rundown, rooms not cleaned

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Upon check in, the desk clerk was very unfriendly. Did not greet us and barely spoke. Rooms were old and beds were low to the floor. Pieces of ripped plastic ware sticking out as if the plastic wrapping was never take off. Breakfast was minimal. Came down half hour before breakfast was to be done & barely any food left - no mild for cereal, no waffle mix. Asked clerk if there was more & he said what's out there is what's left. Our rooms were barely cleaned. Beds made & fresh towels however, dirty towels were left in the room, the floors were not vacuumed, and garbage was not taken out. Upon check out we were not asked how our stay was. Does this hotel really want people to stay there??
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty, unfriendly staff

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Room smelled like mildew, dust everywhere, hair left in the drain and on the bed and room not vacuumed. Only one nice staff person, the rest could have cared less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Great staff and they had an elevator.
Cons: Mattresses
Location: Mount Rushmore
Clean and comfortable. The mattresses are due to be replaced in some rooms. (We had two rooms with our group.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2017
It was great to have a suite with separate sitting area and table. The hotel could use some updating/maintenance. Bathtub drain did not seal properly and drained extremely slow. Window casings filled with dirt and dead flies. Breakfast was OK but getting food was slow. Could use another waffle maker and toaster. Convenient location to get to all Black Hills attractions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Good enough for the price.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Only complaints are that the phone jack in the room wouldn't hold the plug and the was some gross-looking vomit-like stuff stuck to the underside of the phone. Also a piece of kitchen cabinet was missing so you. Oils see clear through to the never-been clean disgusting floor underneath.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rapid City SD

dissapointing

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: nothing
small room, no counter space in bathroom, no fridge
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Airport Shuttle Arrangements

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The hotel announced that they provide airport shuttles. In fact the hotel does not have any shuttle on their own. They made an arrangements for shuttle with a shuttle company only for taking the customers from the airport to the hotel and not from hotel to the airport. It is a surprise and disappointing. We hade to pay a taxi fare of $28 to come to the airport. This is a Wyndham chain hotel and very misleading. I never stayed in Microtel hotel before. I booked it because it is a chain of Wyndham hotels and will provide airport shuttle. The hotel should clearly mention online what services they provide.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Would not stay here again

Posted Jul 14, 2017
After we checked in, we noticed food crumbs on the carpet. It was already evening, so the next morning on our way out, I asked the gentleman at the front desk if housekeeping could vacuum the room since it hadn't been properly cleaned. We returned around 7pm to find that the room had not been serviced at all. Another gentleman at the front desk informed me that half of the housekeeping staff had called out sick. I didn't bother mentioning the stained pillowcase, dusty wardrobe & filthy drawers in which I'd found a dead spider. The hotel's location is convenient. That is the only positive thing about it. The breakfast is unremarkable. (I haven't seen that much styrofoam in years.) We heard every noise from outside, the floor above us, the rooms beside us and the hallway. This was a disappointing hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Loud with thin walls, lumpy pillows, shower curtains thatt are too small are just a few of the features to look forward to at this place Blah, blah, blah.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Nice for big families

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: I liked the large rooms to accommodate our large family.
Cons: Need to provide bedding in the room for the pull out sofa sleeper. The carpet seemed dirty, and could be cleaned.
Location: The location was convenient to the freeway and restaurants, but the neighborhood seemed poor.
This is a basic hotel with a small pool. They have large rooms with kitchen facilities, but no cookware or utensils. The breakfast was ok, but very basic with all breads and cereals. We needed extra blankets and pillows for the pull out sofa sleeper, and when we asked for them at 10pm, they were out. They had no extra anything! Thank goodness we had an extra blanket in the car. Overall, the hotel was ok.