Ratings based on 893 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Freedom, IN

Decent place not fancy

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cramped room, no mini fridge
Location: Rapid city has tons of things could spend a month and not see everything.
We had a king room that was a bit small for the king size bed felt a little closed in. I forgot they don't have the small fridges in the rooms which are fairly standard in most.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs proper renovation

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Room was marketed with picture of nice new feature wall and bed area which made us choose the hotel. Room was in functioning order but all repairs were shotty and degraded the room and new furniture to a very low opinion. Seamed clean tho, I imagine hard to clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sakatchewan

Don't Do It

Posted Sep 6, 2017
You can find a cleaner and much better hotel than this. This hotel is overpriced considering how dated, run down and how dirty it is. I don't consider myself a picky person but this hotel is repulsive. It smells of mold, mildew and cigarettes. It looks and smells like it hasn't been cleaned in years. We found items under our bed that definitely should have been removed if the room was actually cleaned. I needed to use Febreeze and lysol wipes to feel somewhat comfortable in the room. At check in I felt like I was at a self serve counter, no interaction and no information about wifi, breakfast times, nothing. Breakfast was ok. It consisted of toast, cereal, muffins and donuts. Considering how "clean" the rooms were, I'm skeptical about the food. It seems like a place where there is absolutely no concern for cleanliness and comfort. I will never stay here again or any other Super 8. Only good thing was there was good wifi and AC was working well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montana

VERY poor condition - not worth the money!!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Only good thing was location.
Cons: EVERYTHING at this property NEEDS to be improved. The property owner needs to take come PRIDE in what they own. Fix the phones, that's public safety!
If I had not already pre-paid I would have never stayed there. The owner's of this facility should be assumed of themselves. This entire property is run down, smells terrible, is filthy and needs to be renovated from the stud walls out. The halls smell nasty, either mold or urine. The rooms smell like stale cigarette smoke and are very dirty. You can slap paint on the walls, put in a few new pieces of furniture and call it "new" but you've got to back it up with the rest of the product....clean the carpet, dust, wash off counter tops - take some pride in what you own. It is apparent by offering low rates this place is just making money for the franchiser and they are NOT putting any of it back into their building. The phone system in each room did not even work - I wanted to call the front desk and the phone would not work, so I walked up to the front desk and the young man said the phone system in the entire hotel had been down for over a WEEK- is this NOT a public safety issue?! I travel a lot because I show dogs and I have to say, I was terrified to let my show dog walk around in my room. I have stayed at numerous Super 8's because of my dog show schedule but this is by far the worst in all of my travels. I am calling Wyndham today and reporting this property - its franchise should be revoked because this property does not even begin to represent the above-average economic standard of the Super 8 brand. Next time, I will try Quality Inns - they accept pets!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and outdated

Posted Sep 3, 2017
It was a room and that was all you can say. Dirty, wireing sticking out of the wall, shower broke, holes in the wall, carpet in rages. This hotel needs a major face lift.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Overall good experience. Entry card would not work, had to get new ones daily. Small bath tubs with a very poor shower head, not a comfortable shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, Ontario Canada

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: It was close to some restaurants that we could walk. It was also close enough to the main road when we went to see Mt. Rushmore.
Cons: It is a large hotel and I thought the breakfast room could have been a little bigger We went both days for breakfast and could not get a place to sit
Location: Mt. Rushmore was about an hour away as well as Crazy Horse. Both great places to see.
The hotel was okay. It was close to some restaurants. We had a pleasant stay when we were there. The staff answered any questions that we had to our satisfaction. The room was pleasant and big enough.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Start over...

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Two years ago in 2015 I booked a room here and in 2017, nothing has changed. A side door to enter the place was still broken two years later, some cosmetics from vehicles hitting the building were still there, (never fixed). The room in 2017 smelled of mold, the hallways are dimly lit and the carpet, in the room & hallway just need to be gutted, the entire place for that matter. My trip was during Sturgis 77th rally, so paying what I did...too much. When I booked this 2017 trip, I honestly had no idea I was getting room at the same place. The actual nicest place of the place is the breakfast area/lobby. The front desk staff then & now were not friendly and inviting, the picture on the wall in my room reminded me of a marijuana left, the furnishing in the rooms were dated, the towels were dingy. Sad example of a hotel owner looking for profit and not representing the brand flag with pride.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mooresville,NC

Condition of the hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The hotel was clean but old, dark and very outdated. The room was quite cramped. The closet was a rack above one of the beds. The toilet had to be flushed multiple times to get it to work.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: On the outskirts of the city and easy to get in and out. Reasonable price!
Cons: Laundry supplies available for purchase, smell of the room could have been more "fresh", smelled somewhat musty.
Location: Ft. Hayes, highway access both not too far, allows you to see Ellsworth AFB, Sturgis, Deadwood, Lead, Founding Fathers Museum
Ok place to stay for a short time, luckily not too far from the things we went to see. Laundry service could have been better(leaking washer, no supplies to purchase, cramped space) rooms were not fresh smell but livable.