Ratings based on 886 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sioux falls, sd

Nice hotel close to downtown.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Cons: Breakfast, lobby
Location: Great location. Close to wonderful restaurants
Mixed decor--hotel has redone the breakfast area, and rooms. Both have a contemporary vibe. Lobby, elevators and main bar area are all original and need an update. Biggest disappoint is the complimentary breakfast--dismal. But the coffee is great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis IN

Very NICE hotel....but....

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: The BEST part about this hotel was the coffee, initially I thought I was going to have to go to Starbucks but as it turned out, the coffee was great!
Cons: Figure out a better way for morning brunch to work? I don't know if a numbering system would work, but lines were ridiculously long? More elevators
I really liked this hotel, however there were a few issues that I had with the hotel: 1) The parking lot was adjacent to the hotel, but there wasn't anyway to unload one's luggage? There was a driveway access area in front of the entrance but it wasn't possible to temporarily park one's car, unload and then move the car to an appropriate parking location, so as a result, I had to park quite a distance from the entrance and make 3 separate trips to unload my car? Yes they have those luggage trolleys but given the distance that I had to park from the front door, I chose to make three trips from my car to my hotel room. 2) In this rather large hotel, there was only 2 elevators? I was on the 6th floor. It was rather cumbersome trying to get from the 6th floor to the lobby, and a few times I just took the stairs, which were kind of hidden in the back of the hotel thru the kitchen area? 3) The rooms were very nice, however I was surprised to see that they had no type of small refrigerator or microwave? I routinely travel for work and I've stayed in wonderful 5 star hotels in Chicago, Washington DC, Los Angeles and even New York, and they have all had at least a small refrigerator and microwave? I enjoy orange juice at all hours of the night/day, I checked out early and went to stay at Cambria Suites, which were equally impressive and they had microwave and refrigerator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice downtown location

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: The room decor was very unusual and also, nicely functional. Impressive
Cons: No comments
Location: Night clubs and hip shops everywhere.
The night scene inndownt0wn Rapid City is pretty fun and this hotel is walking distance from all of it. The ultra hip interior design of the place is fun t0 stay in and yet the -at tons in the B.B. AR were young people having fun. A nice spot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic comfort

Posted Oct 25, 2017
A great old-school downtown hotel with modern amenties. Clean, comfortable and close to everything. I plan to stay here on all future trips to Rapid City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sarasota

Convenient and comfort

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Great location and services. And ohhhhh. The room service food. Outstanding!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Skokie, IL

Location, Location!!

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: Trained staff and a refrigerator in the room
Location: The presidents Statues that dotted the Main Street, Art Alley, Berlin Wall, and ate at the Firehouse.
The hotel offered a shuttle bus from the airport and back, and a good breakfast bar. The staff could not answer some of our basic questions and were clueless about a well known tour that we wanted to take, but instead they offered another tour. We ended up getting a cab to take us to the pick up point for our hotel. The tour company said that there was no need for us to take a cab, becasue they had a shuttle bus that could have picked us up from the hotel. The rooms were noisy at night because of a passing train. The rooms were clean, but lacked a refrigerator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Hotel is of a good standard, clean and modern in a good location, breakfast staff were very friendly but The hotel reception staff I encountered were not very welcoming or friendly, did put me of the hotel a bit, however the hotel in General was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location, close to restaurants

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Wonderful location and front office staff super helpful.
Excellent hotel, but recommend you order off the menu for breakfast, hot selection at buffet was not even warm, otherwise could not be faulted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Convenient

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Cons: Hotel was like stepping back into the 70's.
Hotel was very convenient for our quick visit to Mt. Rushmore. ....even with the false fire alarm early (requiring evacuation) early in the morning. The morning breakfast buffet was wonderful!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK if you are on a bus tour and staying overnight

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Orbitz
OK if you are on a bus tour and just staying overnight, but if you are a regular paying guest, this place is boring and has minimal comfort features in the rooms. No Safe, no draws, limited closet space. It looked like they were able to get busloads of people off the bus and into their rooms very efficiently, and quickly. Just don't arrive or try to get breakfast when they are.