Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rotorua NZ

Very comfortable beach front accommodation

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: The people/staff +++++ the location Ship wreck Hut the bbq Coconut soap in the bathroom
Cons: The room was comfortable but could do with a little rejuvenation.
We had a fantastic experience at Aroa Beachside Inn. We celebrated my husbands' birthday at the Ship wreck Hut there with 22 family & friends. It was an awesome night. The bbq was delicious especially the smoked fish entree, and the banana salad. The music were great - everyone singing & up dancing on the beach - even my 85yr old mother. The site on the beach front was awesome - quiet private beach with great snorkelling and fantastic sunsets. But the whole experience was made so top notch by the staff. Everyone from owners, reception, bar staff, gardeners - they were all amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was fun. They joined in and felt like family. I feel like we made some very good friends. We loved them all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great place for couples

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Staff, beach, snorkeling, quiet, not too busy or crowded.
Cons: a happy hour for drinks :)
Location: Great location because it is sheltered from the wind. Amazing sunsets. Close to good restaurants and town.
Had a great time, all the staff and owners were very helpful and accommodating. We would definitely go back. If the island is windy, it is still pretty sheltered here. The tropical breakfast is great. Lots of snorkeling, paddle boards and kayaking equipment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NewZealand

Great location right on the beach.

Posted May 21, 2016
Pros: Location beach and bar
Cons: maybe more of a food selection, but lots of good places to eat nearby
Great location on the beach our hosts Steve and Geraldine were awsome and have friendly and helpfull staff to. We really enjoyed our stay here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow Scotland

Superb beachside location. Quaint.

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Needs to cater for lunch and dinners - simple and local.
Location: Good tours available. Good bus service outside. No nearby walkable restaurants but free transport can be arranged with staff.
Relaxing beachside location with exceptional views. Nice bar area. Staff excellent, helpful and attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by Steve @ the Aro'a, Hotel Management
Kia Orana, Thank you for your superb review. We do cater for evening meals, at the World Famous Shipwreck Hut, but not lunch. We don't do lunches because we feel that it is better for our guests to have the resort to themselves during the day. Thank you for your comments about our location , best on the island (we think...). Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.
5 out of 5
by Margaret N P from Vancouver

Perfect little hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
love this small hotel, welcoming staff and proprietors.Room comfortable and airy, a bar on the grounds prepared perfect cocktails and bar type food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016
Kia Orana, Thank you for your perfect review. Very pleased that you enjoyed our resort. We hope to see you back here soon. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice unit right on the beach.

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: This place is not first class resort,but for money you pay it is seven star resort nice and clean and on the perfect spot.
Cons: I don't see anything it is just perfect.
Location: This is a small island and everything is close little supermarket just 100 meters on the road very handy.
Our unit right on the beach,and the beach one of the best on the island.Little bar very famous on the island with live music and BBQ nights.Good spot for sun sets, no children under 12 and very quiet perfect for couples.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by Steve, Hotel Management
Kia Orana, Thank you for your fantastic and informative review, so happy that you enjoyed your holiday. Hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
by Saul

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016
Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. Meitaki ma'ata.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Air polution

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
The bungalow was fine but smoke from neighbors burn piles Spoiled the good clean pacific air. Burning damp leaves and rubbish in smoldering piles seems to be common on all the islands we visited from French Polynesia to the Cooks. Travel brochures never Show this.anyone with respiratory ailments should be made aware of this. I will not be able to go back there due to my asthma.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

beachside unit five steps to the beach

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The best part of our stay are the extremely friendly staff especially "Stephanie and Alone" they were just so wonderful. They treated us like family.
Cons: Just need a bit of a revamp in the bathroom area by the toilet and shower to freshen up. There needs some privacy curtains in the shower as well.
Location: Our unit was one of two that are only five steps to the beach and ten steps to the shipwreck bar. Glass bottom boats, culture shows, heaps of relaxing
Three nights per week there is live entertainment at the bar. The beachside inn is on the sunset side of the island and is picture perfect on a nice sunset evening. The owners have been there just under a year and are very friendly. Each guests is given an induction of the best things to do on the island and they can book everything for you. Breakfast is included and everyday you are given a freshly baked muffin, fresh fruit, glass of fruit juice, tea or coffee. If you are still hungry you can help yourself to toast. There is free snorkelling equipment, kayaks, and the paddle boards to use. The bar is great and you can also get generous pub meals for $15. No kids under age of 12 years so great if you are wanting a couples retreat without little people noise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Altos, CA

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Great staff, best location, love the beach. The BBQ nights are great, the sunsets amazing. Smaller, quiet hotel, without that big-resort feel. Kayaks and paddle boards included.