Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

great staff, 10 mins to town, 30 sec walk to beach

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: service, food, staff, cleanliness of rooms, awesome place to stay
Location: great location to town and beach, laundry, dairy, rental of cars and bikes.
adults only hotel, great food, staff, and service. Seconds to the beach, dairy is close with reasonable prices. 10 min drive to town. Highly Recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SHANGHAI

沙滩不错,狗狗也不错

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: 沙滩,小黑狗
Cons: 早餐种类
酒店得知是我们的honeymoon,很贴心的送了150M流量和$50的餐饮券。他们有个很棒的沙滩,还有一只可爱的小黑狗。如果天气好的话晚上可以看到很漂亮的银河带,还有一种很萌的白色小螃蟹和你一起玩耍。除了早餐不太适应中国人的肠胃,但是有一位胖胖的男厨师很棒。老公因为是过敏性鼻炎闻到某种花香不停打喷嚏,大厨以为他感冒了给了我们蜂蜜和当地的柠檬泡水喝,说一试便灵。我们试了一下真的很好喝,非常感谢,如果去拉罗汤加请一定不要错过这家酒店。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Friendly staff, comfortable room, good location.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: I can't put what I want in here because despite the box allowing 1500 characters and me entering 1000, I keep getting a message to shorten it!!
Cons: We have no complaints about the resort at all. We have no complaints about the resort at all.
Location: I think the resort listing covers it well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Temuka NZ

Excellent room right on the beach and great view

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: See comments above.
Cons: Standard of the Continental breakfast was well below par compared with other resorts we have stayed at in Rarotonga.
Location: Close to other resorts if we wished to visit them. A rental car would have been an asset as there are long time gaps between buses.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Castaway Resort. Management and staff were friendly and most obliging. Excellent varied menu. Our room was right on the beach and we had a grandstand view from our verandah right next to Wilsons Bar! We went to have a really laid back sort of holiday and that is exactly what we did.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A relatively small resort on the beach

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: No children under 16, small resort but on the beach and with a pool. Self catering. Happy hour at the beachside bar from 3 - 6 pm with live music.
Lived up to expectations. Only negative was gluten free was offered but none was available.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A fantastic boutique hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Location: Next to the beach and convenience store
It has been such a great pleasure to spend a day in this boutique hotel. The room is clean and tidy. You could feel that the hotel has a variety of delicate details including the unique cups. The hotel is next to the beach, which means that you could always get tanned with the ocean view. Michel is really nice and gave us a range of useful advices. It is worth mentioning that I accidentally left my glasses in the room. Michel kindly posted it back for free to my address in Australia. The glasses were well wrapped and protected with a few boxes to make sure it arrives safely. I appreciate this from the bottom of my heart. During my stay in the hotel, I do enjoy the meal onsite. The resort has very nice barbecue kebabs including seafood, meat and vegetables. It is great to enjoy crafted beer and tasty meal next to the ocean with the view of sunset. Overall, it has been a very pleasant experience to stay in this place, and I would like to highly recommend this hotel to any friends and relatives.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

The highlight was the lovely staff

Posted Feb 10, 2016
So glad we chose Castaway Resort for our stay, the room was massive for us three girls amd it was complete with air conditioning which is crucial for Rarotonga weather! However the highlight of our stay in Castaway were the amazing owners who endlessly helped us everything from recommending dinner places to booking water activities to arranging transport to and from the resort! Without Michelle (the lovely lady owner who works at thw receptionist) we honestly wouldn't know where to go and what to do! Luckily Castaway is owned by her and her husband who's shown us (and every single person who's walked onto the Castaway property) endless hospitality! I would 100% recommend Castaway resort to anybody who desires a peaceful and relaxing stay who's first timers in Rarotonga as Michelle and her husband will definitely take care of you and ensure that your stay in Rarotonga is the best one there is :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Wonderful stay!

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: I loved the friendly, adults-only atmosphere and relaxed style. The self-catering kitchen was a bonus when there was nowhere to eat.
Cons: The room description needs to be updated to say that there are Sea View and Beach Side rooms. Also that the restaurant is not open all day.
Location: Snorkeling, swimming, any other activities can be arranged by Michelle. There is a car and scooter rental place nearby, the bus is right outside.
A wonderful two weeks. Michelle and Paul can't do enough for you. The place is not luxury but it more than makes up for it with it's wonderful location right on the beach, snorkeling outside your front door, free snorkeling equipment, great food and the beach bar, bus stop right outside and mini market across the road. I had booked a Beach Side unit but when I got there I was in a Sea View unit, further from the beach than what the Expedia description said. Michelle arranged for me to transfer to the beach side unit during the second week. In addition, I gave Paul some feedback that the room needed some light maintenance and they attended to it. The first room I stayed in, Room 7, could do with a bit of refurbishment. WiFi is expensive and it tends to drop out a bit but this is the case throughout the island. The beach side lounges could also do with replacement as some were broken and the mattresses well worn. The light tropical breakfast was abundant and more than enough if you didn't want a (paid) cooked breakfast. The food in the restaurant was very good as were the yakitory kebabs at the beach side bar. The only thing that is not made clear in the booking is that the restaurant is not open for lunch. In addition, staying over Xmas/NY meant that the restaurant and bar were closed for two days at a time and finding somewhere to eat when you don;t have transport was a bit inconvenient. I also expected there to be some entertainment or a special meal on for Xmas/NY.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Our own private resort...

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Pros: Self-catering, air-conditioning, relaxed, clean, great bar, ridiculously good food.
Cons: The owners could do with a well deserved break :)
Location: Dairy & Chinese Takeaway across road. Bus stop in front of resort. Best sunset beach. Bar on beach. Pier closeby. Snorkelling gear & kayak on-site.
We have just got back from Castaway and it was perfect. We went at the least busy time of the year and felt like we had the place to ourselves. There were only a few other people staying. We had a poolside room and it was perfect! Clean, fresh, air conditioning and self-catering. The owners are really good people who work hard to look after you. The chef is probably one of the best on the island. He's worked at the Intercontinental in Wellington and in Fiji and has awards plastered all across the wall. The crayfish! The steak. The pizza! Incredible food. This place is not expensive. It has a bus stop right out front and a dairy straight across the road. No ATM close by (but I wouldn't use them again as their fees are through the roof! Go to Western Union or if you're a Kiwi, just take it all with you and don't loose your wallet!) The bar is ON THE BEACH. You can dine on the beach. And as it is on the western side of the island, you get the sunsets which you don't get at Muri. We stayed at three places around the island and they were all perfect for what we were looking for. We needed a cheapish place that was self-catering but had a pool, beach front, restaurant and bar so we could be sociable. Hard ask on a budget... but this place wins. And the beach is beautiful at this spot. Thanks Michelle and Paul. We'll be back...with the clan!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AK

Quiet and convinient

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Nice quiet stay in a location that is close to the township. Nice rooms but shower temperature fluctuated randomly.