Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Good quality accommodation, very close to beach

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Wotif
Very good, no problems, would stay again in the future. Great staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach , sand at your door

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Although there was some hotel maintance happening in reception customer service was Zero and the attaching resturatant needs a rocket was customer service skills . However the 3rd floor rooms are fantastic and house keeping great so well done to those staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, Aotearoa New Zealand

Great little hotel on the beach at Titikaveka

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: Small hotel - 17 rooms on 3 levels, all looking over the lagoon - quickly befriended with most of the other guests. Spacious room with tiled floors.
Cons: Restaurant menu a bit limited - fish curry superb though. Needed more fish and seafood dishes. Foyer and bar a bit tired.
Location: Titikaveka on south coast is quiet with lovely beach and good snorkelling. We used hotel pushbikes ($5 a day) to get to nearby centres like Muri.
My wife and I spent 8 days at Moana Sands in mid November. It was our first time in the Cook Islands so we were not sure what to expect for our money in a hotel, but we were happy with our choice.
4 out of 5
by Dale from Auckland

Great spot!

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic staff, studio units very spacious and tidy. Right on the lagoon beach and only a few Minutes to the restaurants etc at Muri. Nothing to complain about at Moana Sands, great spot!
4 out of 5
by Richard from Gold Coast Australia

Home of the ancestors...........why did they leave

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed for 10 days. Position right on the beach front was just great. Not noisy position, but handy to the beachfront and the road to town. Kitchen staff worked very hard to provided good meals and great conversation. Front desk staff were always helpful, happy and accommodating. Hire a scooter is the way to go. We would be happy to stay here again, which we intend to do on our next venture to paradise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent for a peaceful holiday

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Probably the best beach on the island and as it is small you got to meet the other guests
Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, the staff were very pleasant and friendly and we would definitely return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Moana Sands Rarotonga

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel in a fantastic location. Simple but adequate breakfast as part of deal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Good location for snorkeling and less traffic noise than town.
Cons: Hotel building needs renovation ,reno was starting in the next two months.still tidy .
Location: The location of the hotel is half way around the island ,so hiring a scooter is a good idea to explore the island,no need for a safari tour.
Good experience, nice staff and willing to help.not too much to do here ,did the safari tour,wouldn't recomend this.best places to eat, tamerin house,the moring,trader jacks.hire a scooter to really see the island this was the best thing we did.the snorkeling at the hotel was just as good as the recomended spots.
4 out of 5
by Lorral from Christchurch

Access to the beach is so close

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: It's right on the beach
Location: We had lunch and dinner at the Little Polynesian - great both times, we also lunched at the organic garden cafe
It was wonderful to relax on the beach, just outside our room. Request a ground floor unit, it really made the holiday. access to the beaches and the lagoon was good, you can snorkel at any time and tides do not limit the swimming or viewing of all the sea life. Not sure if we struck it lucky but no children, was so peaceful and relaxing
3 out of 5
by marta from Melbourne, Australia

Beautiful location. Great beach.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The location is fantastic and the fact that you can snorkel right outside your hotel room, unreal!
Cons: New decor and linen is a must to make it more attractive.
Location: Moana Sands is a bit far from downtown but you can easily catch a bus from the hotel. Not too expensive either, 4 dollars each way. Or rent a car.
I still have Rarotonga's sea color and beautiful white sands beaches imprinted in my mind. We stayed at Moana Sands for a week. The hotel is not too bad but the location is fantastic. We loved it and will definitely come back. The decor and quality of linen wasn't the best but the service was pretty good. If you want to relax and do nothing, this is the place to be. If you like the nightlife, then forget it, there is nothing to do! The food is not very gourmet. A few good restaurants and coffee shops like Lbv. Breakfast at the hotel is very basic but their dinners were pretty good, right on the beach.