Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Yvonne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Bridget

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful beach

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Palm Grove surprised us and was better than we expected. Our bungalow was right on the beautiful beach and the snorkelling was amazing right off the shore. Very quiet and laid back resort and our room was lovely, very clean, new bathroom and the bed was to die for. Basic breakfast at the Yellow Hibiscus was ample and we enjoyed two dinners there which were very nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Beach Front Unit - Amazing!

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: The bed! It is so incredibly comfortable we are buying one now we are back home. One night on my bed & woke up with back ache - again.
Cons: My only suggestion is a set or chest of draws. The bedside table only had a shelf & draw. We like to unpack, so made use of the full-sized wardrobe.
Location: Close to everything, bus stops outside. Swimming, snorkelling from unit. Cafés, gas station, main store, waterfall & abandoned Hotel ruins to explore.
We had a unit that opened out onto the beach that was just amazing. We were celebrating my 50th birthday with 20 others, I believe we had the best accommodation by far. Snorkelling right outside our unit with stale bread felt like we were swimming in an aquarium, there were hundreds of colourful fish, clams & giant blue starfish. We had resident lizards (very cute), that frequented our place at nights but (mostly) stayed outside. The insects were not bad at all, but I had taken a plug-in insect repellent for our room & personal tropical spray-on. Our unit was serviced daily and was very clean & comfortable with a ceiling fan & air-con. We highly recommend Palm Grove beach front units. This was one of our best holiday experiences ever! Rarotonga is a beautiful place with friendly locals, relaxing atmosphere & awesome things to explore!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Want to stay forever

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Staff and beach
Cons: more loungers outside the rooms not just pool area, and maybe cushions on the loungers by pool.
Location: Great spot close to great beach
Staff and location excellent, breakfast was great and if you wanted cooked breakfast very good value.Rooms were very well set out and good sized fridge. If I was to go back I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Great easy access to amazing beach

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Amazing. Staff were friendly and helpful. Pool situated in a great open area. Garden cottage we stayed in had all amenities necessary for convenience and comfort.
4 out of 5
by Derek from Lightwater

A little gem

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly hotel with great staff. We had a late flight and were allowed to keep the room until 9.30pm as a late check out. Food is very good value and the restaurant serves great fish dishes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paradise

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Individual bungalows
Great Place to stay even though it rained everyday. Free Breakfast & On site restaurant was great Friendly helpful staff & use of snorkeling equipment & kayaks was great fun even in the rain Friday night welcome for new arrivals half price or free drinks n great music played by Tani supermarket was close had everything needed sadly most of the staff were not very nice one other restaurant was close by which served good food & pizza's you can eat on the beach weather permitting We rented Bikes (from two companies) & a car. 2 bike just outside the town is the best place for bike rentals fantastic staff who were excellent getting a bike that was comfortable for my back issues would not recommend polynesian rentals for either, staff were good shame about the lack of skilled staff to adjust the bikes and the car was unsafe to drive at night due to very misted headlamps and the car stank of damp Both were refunded! If you want a lovely quiet location with good snorkelling this is a lovely spot on the Island to stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington

cruisy-just what the doctor ordered

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: everything!
Location: certainly you can walk to the waterfall (we did) and also to some restaurants close by. But to really get a feel for the island I think that you shoul
I usually get pretty bored at the beach and when we booked 8 days in Rarotonga, I wondered if I would be able to stand it. I was more than pleasantly surprised. The Palm Grove is a GREAT place. The rooms are big, the air con is great. the beds are great. The staff are lovely. I cannot find anything to complain about. We stayed in the beach front unit and awoke to the most amazing view. Then after the tropical brekky (fruit, yoghurt, toast, eggs) we were off to the sand and surf with our snorkeling gear or a freely available kayak. The reef here is amazing and I never tired of watching all of the colourful and entertaining sea life below the surface. You can walk for miles along the beach in both directions. The little grocery store within walking distance is good but we liked having a scooter for the week so that we could easily explore the island and also go to the bigger grocery store near the airport and also the fresh fish shop. We cooked all of our meals in the room and enjoyed fresh fish, tropical fruit and local veg. The swimming pool on the property was small and we didn't use it becasue there was this huge swimming pool (the lagoon) right outside our door.
3 out of 5
by Malin from Ängelholm

Stunning location, unhelpful staff!

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
Stunning location, best area on the island if you're looking for a fantastic beach and awesome views from the bungalow. A shop and ATM nearby, otherwise not much else around. Service was horrible! Had booked and paid for return transfer to the airport, but when leaving for Aitutaki the staff wouldn't bring us to the airport since they said domestic flights wasn't their job. Instead of just taking us to the airport they just walked off and refused to help. We ended up getting a ride with another tourist staying at the hotel and got to the airport at 5:50pm for our 6pm flight. We made it to wonderful Aitutaki without any help from the hotel staff. Horrible experience.