Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
It was ok. It had a bad smell the entire stay which caused us to go out as we could not sit and relax outside/inside as the smell was aweful. All dishes were dirty. Overall t our stay was acerage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Fantastic location. Beautiful beach

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Peace and quiet and proximity to a wonderful beach
Cons: Found the kitchen facilities lacking and in need of renewel.
Location: A pleasant 30 minute walk along the beach took you to Muri for eating and shopping. A short walk in the other direction saw more eateries.
We had a large one bedroom unit that was part of a double duplex. Ideally located, being only a couple of minutes walk from the beach. The lush gardens surrounding the unit and lack of close neighbours gave us peace and privacy. The unit was clean with a large and reasonably new bathroom. Excellent hot water. However, the furnishings and cooking utensils are in need of of an update. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Tropical gardens Direct phone-line Proximity to beach Proximity to bus
Cons: Replace BBQ Repaint, tidy, clean Fix insect mesh Have staff available to help guests Update Information folder
Location: Felt a bit isolated, but not far from a nice café and not too far from supermarket. Close to bus which gives easy access around the whole island.
The apartments are close to the beach, just across the road, but it felt like we were walking through private property to get to the beach. Beautiful tropical gardens. Holes in insect mesh, spider webs in corners. No reception. The room's information folder said to contact the staff anytime on the phone, but it was never answered even when we called during open hours. You have to boil your water, no drinking water or milk provided (lucky we brought a long-life milk in our luggage!). Sadly I accidentally left behind my favourite nightie, and they were unable to find it. The information folder said there was a BBQ available for use on the rooftop, but my husband only found an old broken one that didn't work, and the rooftop was flooded, he thought it may have been a nice area once. Kayaks, but no paddles and no-one to ask for them. A cross dog seems to keep guests away from where the staff live on the second floor. Nice man who did the cleaning. Might have been a nice place once, but now is old and rundown. Did appreciate the garden and the direct phone line.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Not a pleasant stay

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Room is spacious
This is our first time to be in Raro, an awesome island and a must visit. But our stay in the Raina did compromise our overall experience. We've read all reviews on Expedia before our trip and didn't expect any surprise of the apartment. But after entering into the rooms, very musty smell, room furniture is outdated and there was even blood spot on the cover sheet. Damp bedding, not comfortable sleep. Some days no hot shower water. Definitely won't come back again and do not recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto ontario

Great beach.... Nice white sand

Posted May 11, 2016
Beach soft, not rough on the feet, and it was the protected part of the lagoon, so the corral reefs were really pretty. Just gorgeous. The raina was lively, staff were great and the owner was super hospitable and welcoming. Wish i didnt have to leave! Id still be there....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2016 by J, Hotel Management
Thank you Amy and look forward to seeing you again in the near future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas and Minnesota

Great family stay.

Posted May 10, 2016 on CheapTickets
Cons: The Raina just need a little touch up like paint and minor repairs.
Location: The location was perfect for snorkeling, fishing, swimming, walking up the mountain, botanical garden, Te Puna Market, and Charlies.
The Raina Beach Apartment was the right choice for our vacation, I was traveling with my younger sister, 5 year old niece and 7 year old nephew. We like the place a lot due to the following: 1. Price 2. Location to the beach. We walked across the street to get to one of the most sought after beach and snorkeling location on the island. 3. Friendly staff and Mama June. 4. Really quiet. 5. Roof deck with the propane grill. 6. Fruit trees on the property. 7. Plenty of room and beds. 8. Neighbors and other guest were friendly and we shared food. 9. Self sufficient place. 10. Walking distance to get doughnuts, fresh fruit and fish from Te Puna Market. We will be staying at the Raina again we go back to Cook Islands.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2016 by J, Hotel Management
Thank you and hope to see you again. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next trip to the Cook Islands
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Very roomy, a bit run down but great for the price

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The rooms were massive with everything you need.
Cons: At least half of the lights needed fixing, the floor needed a sweep and mop before arriving, and some screen locks would help.
Location: Great snorkelling just over the road, muri a 20min walk away.
The rooms could do with some maintenance but they are huge with everything you need. Great snorkelling just across the road. The floors were pretty dirty but the sheets etc are clean. Great value for money, in a great location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great holiday home/ unit

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Located on a great beach with the best snorkelling on the island. Apartment big and clean. Not very close to any shops to buy food which is a bit isolating on Sundays or public holidays. A 40min walk to the bigger township of Muri woth shops, activities and scooter/ cat hire.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2016 by J, Hotel Management
Thank you and we hope you will visit us again in the Cook Islands
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty house down a driveway full of rusted out car

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Wotif
Very dirty - shower filthy, couldn't use cutlery or plates as dirty, sheets and towels stained. Down a driveway full of rusted out cars definitely not like the picture. Ended up staying only one night and left and went and payed full price elsewhere. Definitely don't recommend this place at all!!!
4 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Hotels