Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Excellent hotel in Ravello

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: The overall hotel experience was excellent but the outstanding staff were the highlight of experience.
Cons: The coordination and predictability of excellent service associated with the public transportation between Ravello and Amalfi.
This hotel is centrally located in Ravello. The facility and rooms are very beautiful and charming. The staff are committed to providing exceptional service and spoke fluent English. We totally enjoyed staying at this elegant hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dunstable, bedfordshire

Stunning hotel, amazing views.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
We had our wedding in this hotel and the level of services was above a 5* hotel. With amazing views from every point of the hotel, it's somewhere I would recommend to people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Beautiful views. Great location. Fabulous decor. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Loved this place. No complaints other than no room service after like 9.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by hp, Hotel Management
Thank you madame, we hope to welcome you again and avoid this problem. kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

History and beauty

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The sense of elegance and history is unbeatable. And the views are amazing (though this is true elsewhere in Ravello too).
Cons: It wasn't always easy to persuade the shower to deliver hot water. And although the restaurant is good, I felt it was trying too hard to be creative.
Location: Ravello is the jewel of the Amalfi coast - high on the cliffs with shady gardens and amazing views. The Villa Cimbrone is the best spot to visit.
Having not stayed here for 25 years, I was nervous to see other reviewers describing it as a bit tatty and run down. But they miss the point. True, there are some damaged floor tiles, some cracks in the walls, and the painted ceiling in the back of the first dining room is beyond rescue. But these are original features dating back several centuries, and the hotel could easily be ruined by updating them. The lobby features a high ceiling with ecclesiastical-style arches - I believe parts of this date back to the 11th century. Walking upstairs takes you to the elegant top floor public rooms. At the top of the stairs are two large windows with spectacular views eastward down the coast (this is one of the highest points in Ravello, though the Caruso must be even higher). The tiled floor here consists of a charming map of the region. You walk through two beautiful sitting rooms, with a roof terrace outside, and into the main dining rooms. The first has a large oil painting of St. John the Baptist at the back, and an impressive painted ceiling at the front. The second is an elegant space with a domed ceiling, and beautiful mouldings around the doors highlighted in saffron. This leads through to an outside terrace where you can eat with the same extraordinary views down the coast, though at some risk of being pestered by wasps. There is a shady garden below with the same views, and the service is generally impeccable. I certainly hope to return faster next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for being with us at Hotel Palumbo after a long time and for your positive review. Hope to se you again, soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Nice place. A little dated, but clean

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The view
Cons: The rooms need updating.
Location: This hotel is cliff side, which is nice, but most of the more interesting things to do nearby require a cab or bus ride.
The hotel is a little out of the way so it can be a challenge to get to. But nice place, clean, and friendly staff. To get down from the mountain there are only two ways, a bus ride that you won't forget easily or a very expensive cab ride.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your positive review. Hoping to welcome you again in Ravello!
4 out of 5
by Edward

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017
thank you very much
5 out of 5
by Anna

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing views and service
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017
thank you so much
3 out of 5
by jolanda

beautiful old glory hotel good for weddings

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
old glory hotel in great location but mainly for weddings and with little comfort
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and for your suggestions. We do not realize how sometimes marriages can disturb the guests. We are sorry.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: The hotel is beautiful.
Cons: Management needs to be honest with their guests. Weddings are booked a year in advance and we should have been informed at the time of the booking.
Location: The
It's a beautiful hotel with a lovely garden area overlooking the sea. Our room overlooked the garden and the sea. Sadly, we couldn't use the garden area because weddings and parties were held in the garden. The first wedding did not end until midnight. The hotel has a responsibility to inform their guests that the property is being rented out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and for your suggestions. We do not realize how sometimes marriages can disturb the guests. We are sorry.