Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor

fantastic view, spacious house, challenging access

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The view is even better than in photos. House is kept spotless. Pool area and houses seem to be recently upgraded. 5-minute walk down to Atrani/beach.
Cons: Better up-front declaration of management needs regarding deposit and cleaning rules. It wasn't awful for us but others may not take it all as well.
Location: Atrani is 5 minutes away on foot, Amalfi about 15 minutes. Small market in Atrani supplied us just fine. From Amalfi you can catch buses and boats.
Overall we loved our stay here. We would give it 5 stars but downgraded to 4 only because they aren't accommodations for everyone. It is run 'old-school' so there are things the staff finds obvious that the guests may not; luckily we read previous reviews and were prepared for the 200 euro in cash deposit required for the key. There is access to beach on foot which we found lovely but does require on the way back a walk up the hilly steps (8-15 minutes depending on your level of fitness.) If arriving by car, just know that the road access is a narrow one-way-at-a-time road where if you miss the gates you won't be able to back up easily in traffic; driveway itself is downward, a series of narrow hairpin turns. Don Nicola is friendly but speaks very little English, so be prepared to deal in Italian. Read the house notes they leave on the table; you are responsible for the recycling and trash before leaving (not difficult) as well as washing of kitchen items (we found this not too unreasonable.) Laundry facilities great but from our house #4 was about 3-4 flights of steps up the hill.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice surroundings.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Our villa was very nice and being able to walk down 300 steps to get to the coast and access restaurants, bars and shops was convenient.
Cons: Linen changes every 3 days instead of 7 days. Being able to hand in the keys and get your cash deposit back before 6.30am without a 50 euro surcharge.
Location: Location was nice and easy to get to local places especially Ravello but, the main road is very narrow with traffic congestion and vehicles hooting!
Although a nice villa complex, it was awkward to drive in and around the complex even though I had good driving skills Steep hills everywhere. Situated in a valley was very nice but, was woken up every morning around 6.30am by machinery and banging by local workman working in their work yards based in the valley. Local dogs barking most of the day and night was annoying.
2 out of 5
by Emily from Villa Rosa

Residence Villa Rosa

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
200 € deposit not listed on confirmation details. Not actually located in the town of Ravello. I would recommend a car service to be arranged to pick up villa visitors to drive them to the residence as a part of standard check in service. The car service utilized once we found the residence was excellent. Difficult check in and check out.
4 out of 5
by Kathy A. from Youngstown Ohio

Getting around at Villa Rosa residence

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
It was a very pretty Little resort however you had to have a car and it was a very steep drive in and out you could walk down to the town of Atrauni but it was a long walk with nothing but steps down and even could hardly walk up we had to take the bus up to Revello and then take a cab back down to our Resort And the cab cost €20 it was very inconvenient if you Did not take your car everywhere The unit itself was very very difficult to find in the first place it only has a black wrought iron gate and unless you have a very good GPS you would have a very hard time finding it But it was a very pretty place and it had a great view
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected, read closer

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
It's a beautiful site, but with the heat wave and all the steps reuired to get down into Atrani, it was not the most convenient. This is a self-catering residence, but some simple food stuffs could have been provided, at least until one gets orientated in the area. You can get some produce from the fruit & vegetable shop in Atrani and he will drive it up to Villa Rossa. Sundays the shops are closed, but there is a store in Amalfi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Frequent climbing of very steep steps!

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The view
The hotel/apartment is not really in Ravello at all. The setting is quite pretty and the terrace was nice and picturesque however it is significantly closer to Atrani than Ravello. It is worth noting that taxi’s will not drive down into the complex due to the severity of the slopes and as a result anyone staying will be doing strenuous and frequent climbing of very steep steps. Overall the area is beautiful but this apartment would be more suited to self catering holiday with occasional visits to other towns surrounding Amalfi than to those wishing to eat out or visit the local beaches
3 out of 5
by Could be better from England

Could be improved. Driveway not for the faint hear

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
We had the 3 bed apartment with large terrace. There was loads of room and internally it was very clean but everything could be so much better if it was maintained more thoroughly.The terrace furniture was very shabby and the showers terrible. One is a tiny corner cubicle with a dribble of water and the other over-bath shower has no curtain and a broken shower head so water went everywhere. A dishwasher would be great here.There are stairs everywhere ( 60 to the pool and another 20+ to the laundry room). The drive has c.5 hair pin bends - very scary! The views are amazing and the gorge it looks over interesting. HOWEVER the Spar (best/largest supermarket around in this area) is at least 25 mins up very steep and at times unpleasant walk including 5-10 mins on the road. Atrani is down/up, c.300 stairs. The terrace and pool only get sun (in August) between 11am and 4.30pm. The manager speaks no English and will hound you for a 200 euro deposit. This could so easily be a 9 out of 10 but sadly at the moment it's a 5-6.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, UK

Nice, calm place to stay

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Silence, the voice of the small river
Location: As mentioned - walks to Atrani, Amalfi, Ravello, Pontone - really nice small towns and nice views during the walks.
We spent there 7 days (6 nights), our apartment (no. 5) had big terrace, where we had sun from about 11 am till 5pm. You could lie on the sunbed all day. The house was small but very cosy, clean. we did walks to Atrani (down) or Ravello (up). Overall - great place, we might go there once again in the future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire,UK

Self catering apartments with stunning views

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The views , the swimming pool and the fact that the staff left you alone to enjoy your stay.
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: Amalfi is about 20 minute walk, very busy town with lots of shops and restaurants.
Villa Rosa is made up of 9 self catering apartments built into the side of the mountain. We were in apartment 5 which had stunning views down to the small town of Atrani and the sea. The apartment was basic but spotlessly clean. We were met on arrival by the villa's agents (Paola) she was very friendly and very helpful as Mr Nicola the head gardener and the on site contact didn't speak a word of English. If you struggle walking this is not the holiday venue for you. There are approximately 300 steps of all shapes and sizes from the apartment to Atrani, walking down takes about 10 minutes, however the walk back is much longer and more difficult. There are buses from Atrani which I'm told will stop outside Villa Rosa. Tickets must be bought from the Tobacconist in Atrani, you cannot pay on the bus. We choose to walk and by the end of the week our legs were accustomed to the walk. If you are a light sleeper then I would advise ear plugs, the church bells ring on the hour and then every 15 minutes throughout the day and night. There are also a few local cockerels that start crowing about 4am and go on for a few hours.
4 out of 5
by matured couple from Hong Kong

not easy to get in and out

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels
You have to be a good driver if you stays in Villa Rosa. The roads leading to the villa is hilly, winding and busy. We stayed in Apartment 5 with a huge terrace. The room is OK and comfortable and the view is spectacular. No washing-up liquid is provided in the kitchen and the set up of the bath room is not user friendly, e.g. no shower curtain, no hooks, no place to put your towels, etc. There is only one location on the terrace where the Wi-Fi reception is OK.